We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Hotel in Fairmont, But Not Necessarily Great Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Tampa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Fairmont, But Not Necessarily Great Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

My wife stayed at the Fairfield Inn in Fairmont for about three weeks on business. Based on our research, this is probably the nicest hotel in Fairmont, but that's not saying much. The hotel is located right off the interstate and close to restaurants such as Applebee's, Bob Evans, etc. The front desk staff is efficient and nice. No problems at all with housekeeping. The rooms appear to be well maintained and are very clean. The bed was comfortable. High speed internet is also free. Unfortunately, as others have mentioned, the walls are very thin. My wife could hear every conversation and the TV in the room next to her. Footsteps could be heard in the hallway. The heater went out in her room one night and she was moved to another room. The staff was kind enough to move her luggage for her. The rooms are very basic. Not much decor, nothing fancy. The hotel rate was expensive considering the town and the quality of the hotel. Rate fluctuated during her stay between $89/night and $140/night. By contrast, the Hyatt Regency that's attached to the Pittsburgh airport from where my wife was flying was $100/night and substantially nicer. Overall, if you find yourself needing to stay in Fairmont, this is likely the best place to be.

  • Liked — Nice bed
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BC97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    29
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
25
22
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2008

Fairfield Inn & Suites sits on a hill overlooking I-79 in S. Fairmont. It's in a parking lot of a small mall on a road that could stand to be repaved. Next door is an Applebee's Restaurant, and beyond that are an Arby's and Taco Bell, all within 90 seconds by foot.

We noticed a local Italian restaurant in the mall, but did not have occasion to dine there.

The hotel is of recent vintage, clean, and accommodating. Reception was friendly and we found the staff to be attentive.

The room we stayed in had a kingsize bed, desk with internet connection, and a 27" TV with cable, an improvement over the smaller sets we normally encounter.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and there was a wafflemaker with which you could make fresh waffles.

The only disappointing feature was the level of noise. We stayed on the third floor (of 3) and heard hall traffic and water running through the pipes.

There is a "business center" in the lobby which offered free use of a computer.

  • Disliked — ambient noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lenox862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2008

Great hotel in Fairmont. Outstanding value for the price. Clean, comfortable rooms and very good breakfast with a hot waffle maker. Staff is very polite and professional. Well trained employees. One of the top Fairfield Inn's I've stayed in.

  • Liked — Large standard sized rooms with mini refridgerator and microwave.
  • Disliked — No negatives.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 4JohnnyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2008

Paid $60 for one night through a travel agent (business stay). Hotel is new, clean, well appointed. Breakfast is fine and well-stocked. This location lives up to the reputation of this chain. Convenient access to I-79, near a Bob Evans and Taco Bell, and within easy walking distance to a small indoor mall. Nice, clean pool. I recommend asking for a room on the upper floor because the soundproofing is not completely adequate so the sound of people walking around above me was a bit annoying; that is my only complaint.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boohootravelertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2007

This is probably the newest lodging choice on the I-79 corridor in North Central WV. It is VERY convenient to the interstate but set far enough back on a hill that it is also very quiet. The staff are very helpful, the complimentary breakfast is really quite good. The gym while relatively small is somewhat unique in WV. The rooms are clean, large, and new - the in-room high speed internet is very reliable -- again quite different than some other Fairmont choices. The ONLY trepedadtion is the soundproofing between the second and third floors, we either had very heavy walkers above us or there was not adequate soundproofing -- or some combination thereof. Overall though -- an excellent choice for the Clarksburg/Fairmont area.

  • Liked — The feeling that the property is still quite new.
  • Disliked — soundproofing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aspenphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2007

Can't go wrong with this Fairmont. It was moderately priced, clean, and comfortable. The staff was cheerful and efficient and the breakfast was good. This is a well run and well maintained hotel - just what we expect from Marriott.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank BudsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2007

I travel all over the country and need a wheelchair accessible room with a roll in shower. This hotel got it right. The room was spacious, everything within reach, and with a large bathroom. The hotel staff was extremely helpful. The accessible room was on the first floor (this is not always the case at other hotels), has an adjoining room, if needed, and the facility was very clean. I watched staff go to lengths to clean areas and rooms. Other hotels should look and see what this one has done for those who need accessible rooms and model it. I had a great stay! Kudos to the builder, the management, and the staff.

  • Liked — The location and the room.
  • Disliked — I liked everything.
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heritage7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairmont hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairmont
Hampton Inn Fairmont
#2 of 11 in Fairmont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Fairmont
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
#3 of 11 in Fairmont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
4.5 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#6 of 11 in Fairmont
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 11 in Fairmont
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont
Address: 27 Southland Drive, Fairmont, WV 26554
Location: United States > West Virginia > Fairmont
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont Hotel Fairmont
Fairfield Inn And Suites Fairmont
Fairfield Inn Fairmont
Fairfield Fairmont
Fairmont Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing