We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Fairmont
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel now three times for business trips, and each time I have had an unpleasant experience. I suggest definitely getting a higher floor, so that you don't hear the guests in the room above you walking around or open drawers all night as I did. Also, I had one room with a next door guest who sounded like he was on his cell phone in the same room as me. I think it's safe to say at this point there is poor insulation, and not just a coincidence. I generally really like Fairfield Inns, so I am disappointed that this one does not meet my standards. I continue to go here though of course for the Marriott points. Other than the noise though, the location is great, excellent complementary breakfast, and all sorts of food options close by. I wish the staff were more accommodating when it comes to the noise issue; yet, they are nice enough regardless.

Room Tip: Higher floors are the way to go; however, the third floor are suites only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 117 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over the labor day weekend.

The location of this hotel is good, right off the highway. There are many stores and restaurants, and gas stations near the hotel or within a few minutes drive. There is an Applebees and Arbys next door that you could easily walk to from the hotel.

The lobby is nice with lots of seating and a nice business area with two computers. This hotel also has free wifi access. There is also a nice size breakfast area with a good amount of choices for a Fairfield Inn breakfast, including breads, muffins, bagels, cereals, hot eggs and sausages, waffle making station and coffee. Breakfast is free and starts at 7am on weekends and 6am on weekdays.

We requested a room on a high floor, there are 3 floors, and were given a room on the second floor. The walls and ceilings are very thin. It sounded like the people above us were going to fall through the ceiling. We could also hear people snoring next door at night. Our room wasn't anything special and the bathroom could use some updating. The tub/shower still has the old shower curtain rail and not the newer rounded ones that you'll find at updated Marriotts. There is an in room hair dryer that is weak, and the bathroom towels are thin. There is also in room small coffee maker available in the bathroom. There was no microwave nor was there a refrigerator in our room.

Also, at a little after 6:00am on Saturday morning, the fire alarm went off. Everyone evacuated the hotel...most people in pajamas..some people hauled their luggage down the stairs with them. Meanwhile, the alarm continues to go off and people continue to go in and out of the hotel back and forth to their rooms to gather belongings...very unsafe had this been a real emergency. It took approximately 15 minutes for the fire truck to arrive. Approximately 45 minutes after we evacuated, the alarm was shut off and people started going back in. We saw no hotel employees when we left the hotel and no employees while we waited outside for the entire time, nor did anyone tell us it was safe to go back in. When we checked out of the hotel on Monday, we asked about the incident and were told that there was no fire and that they believe that the alarm malfunctioned. This was a miserable experience and no compensation was given.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lithlith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is a jewel in the rough. The property is very clean and new while the staff is way above average. They treat you with respect and professionalism the is lacking in other chains. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghostrider73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This Fairfield is clean and basic. It is a good road trip stop hotel. It is close to the I79 exit. Not much else in the area. We recommend it for a quick overnight stop. The pool is clean, breakfast is OK, and the staff is friendly.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn for 13 days at the end of May and the first week of June and couldn't ask for a more pleasant place to stay. We had a suite,the rooms are nice size and clean and had all the comforts of home. The breakfast bar is a nice spread,everything from cereal to sausage and eggs.. We have stayed there over dozen times over the years and have never had a problem. I would recommend this place to any type of traveler.Nice hotel, indoor pool and spa, exercise room, many restaurants around it.Could'nt ask for much more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Quality room, good price, easy location right off interstate, and good breakfast bar. This is a travel hotel not vaction spot. Close to restaurants and shopping. Stayed while visiting Fairmont State University which was only 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlkwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I called the day before to make sure they had adjoining rooms being out of state and coming there to get married called five minutes before we pulled in also told they had adjoining rooms available upon arrival the desk clerk stated they had the rooms available the price and when we went to pay they made a mistake and had none so at this point I'm a lil angry drove all this way with five kids to spend r honeymoon the manager came out and basically told us it was our fault extremely rude and said they only had the suites that adjoined and were ten dollars more ok that's fine whatever but one room is clean the adjoining isn't we could pay and het keys later that's fine gave us the bill that was now 120 more than they just told us ok disgusted tired and hungry we took it got the keys to the other room to find dirty towels in the bathroom and a dirty bathroom packed the kids and went out to eat got back to take the kids swimming at 2 pm to b locked out of the pool for cleaning the most horrible hotel experience I have ever had especially for such an expensive hotel staff was rude and uncaring and my honeymoon was ruined never recomend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael2217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairmont hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairmont
Hampton Inn Fairmont
#1 of 11 in Fairmont
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Fairmont
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#8 of 11 in Fairmont
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
#3 of 11 in Fairmont
259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 11 in Fairmont
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Fairmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Fairmont

Address: 27 Southland Drive, Fairmont, WV 26554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Fairmont
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range: $98 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Fairmont 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find a comfortable and convenient setting at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Fairmont located at Exit 132 off I-79 South Fairmont. Our hotel in Fairmont, West Virginia offers the best amenities for business and leisure travelers including spacious suites with coffee makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Fairmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Fairmont
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont Hotel Fairmont
Fairfield Inn Fairmont
Fairfield Fairmont
Fairmont Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing