We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spirits!”
Review of Heston Farm

Heston Farm
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Fairmont
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our 220-acre farm, along the banks of the Tygart River, is filled with the ageless quality of farm life and will take you back to a simpler time. Enjoy wine and whiskey tastings, tours, farm-to-table food, live music, unique gifts, and special events. Our pavilions are open May through October for weddings, reunions, graduation, picnics, festivals and more. Our meeting and event rooms are open year-round. Call or email for more information.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spirits!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My girlfriend and I drove down from Morgantown last month because we heard good things about this place. The scenery was very relaxing and we loved the antique farm equipment. The wine was better than expected, our favorite was the Riesling. They had unique pig bottles for some of the moonshine flavors and we ended up taking home some Apple Pie Shine. We didn't stay to eat but the chef came out to introduce himself and appeared to be intoxicated, which might be the nature of the business.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    31
    12
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pa
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Moonshine”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

On our West Virginia road trip our goal was to get some moonshine and visit a holler. We did both. The moonshine was legal and made in a moonshine brewery. I guess that is what it's called. Pinchgut has tastings and tee shirts. Very commercial, but good and spent about 100.00 on moonshine and souvenirs,
They did pay homage by the rusted car in the front,

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Newtown_PaShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Return to Heston Farm”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

As someone once noted elsewhere on TripAdvisor, we locals often neglect to report on the attractions closest to us; and we are the ones who probably know them best. I had previously reviewed this under “Heston Farms Winery”, but it is time for an update.

Heston Farm Winery and Pinchgut Hollow Distillery are two sides of the same coin; housed in the same facility. Both are local, family owned and operated businesses. The common facility is located conveniently only one (1) mile off of I-79, Exit 135 (Pleasant Valley exit at Fairmont, WV) at 1602 Tulip Lane; follow the signs. They are open seven (7) days a week (no whiskey sales on Sunday): Mon – Sat, 9 am - 8 pm; and Sunday, 1 pm – 6 pm. The phone number is (304) 534 – 2516. Website is WWW.HestonFarm.com.

Since opening in the spring of 2011, Mick and Michael Heston and crew have added new releases at an amazing rate. The winery currently offers four (4) reds, four (4) whites, and a rose’. I trend toward the drier wines, and unlike many WV wineries, Heston’s tend to be on the drier side. Even their “sweets” are not all that sweet to my taste. Their most recent release is a (semi-sweet) Riesling which is great iced down in the recent 90+ degree heat wave we have been having. All of the cheerful wine labels celebrate the animals of Heston Farm and each has its’ own colorful story behind it. A tasting of all of the wines and spirits can be had for a few bucks and you can keep the souvenir glass.

Chef Sean Coombs has joined the crew since my last review and has expanded the menu with most items in the $8 - $10 range and ever changing and exciting weekly special offerings (such as Gulf Shrimp Étouffée over dirty red rice, for example). Chef Coombs believes and takes pride in using locally produced, fresh ingredients in his creations. As always, the staff is friendly, helpful, and informative. They also currently offer Bud Lite, Yuengling, a microbrew, and an import for those who enjoy beer with a meal; of course wine is available also.

The Heston family and staff have created a great destination place for wine and spirit tastings, great food, concerts, and special events. The gift shop is stocked with locally produced products. Weekend concerts from a wide variety of artists and musical styles are offered most weekends all year around. Check their Facebook page under “Heston Farm” for the current concert schedule. Cover charge is generally $10 at the door or $8 in advance. Weather permitting, the concerts are held outside in the courtyard which features a stage and many mementos from past farm life and local history as well as rustic metal sculptures of farm animals. The tasting room, meeting rooms, and lounge are themed with bygone era farm memories and mementos such as uniquely designed stools of metal tractor seats with pitchfork supported backrests atop of ax-handle legs.

The distillery currently offers at least eight (8) spirits, to include straight moonshine and specialty shines such as buckwheat, hot pepper, ramp, and rhubarb.

As with most of my favorite places, this is a leisurely place. Don’t be in a hurry. Take your time and enjoy the creative farm-themed ambiance that has been so thoughtfully fashioned here. The atmosphere is leisurely and relaxed. The combination of great spirits, great food, and great music is a recipe for a great time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LBWiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Pinchgut revisited”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Time for an update of my earlier review. As someone noted elsewhere on TripAdvisor, we locals often neglect to report on the attractions closest to us; and we are the ones who probably know them best.

Pinchgut Hollow Distillery and Heston Farm Winery are two sides of the same coin; housed in the same facility. Both are local, family owned and operated businesses. The common facility is located conveniently only one (1) mile off of I-79, Exit 135 (Pleasant Valley exit at Fairmont, WV) at 1602 Tulip Lane; follow the signs. They are open seven (7) days a week (no whiskey sales on Sunday): Mon – Sat, 9 am - 8 pm; and Sunday, 1 pm – 6 pm. The phone number is (304) 534 – 2516. Website is WWW.HestonFarm.com.

Since opening in the spring of 2011, Mick and Michael Heston and crew have added new releases at a blinding rate. The distillery currently offers at least eight (8) spirits: straight Moonshine, Honey Peach Moonshine, Apple Pie Moonshine, and Buckwheat Moonshine (a personal favorite); all in uniquely designed bottles shaped like a pig standing on its head. Other offerings include a spiced shine, a hot pepper shine (a personal favorite), a ramp shine, and the newest release a, rhubarb shine. The Buckwheat shine is a truly unique product made from locally grown buckwheat, a crop once of great importance to this region but is not a wheat or grain at all, but rather a gluten free fruit seed that is related to rhubarb and sorrel. It is an ancient food crop that is used very much like wheat. Try the Buckwheat Moon! A tasting session for +/- nine (9) wines and the shines can be had for a few bucks with a souvenir glass.

Chef, Sean Coombs has joined the crew since my last review and has expanded the menu with most items in the $8 - $10 range and ever changing and exciting weekly special offerings (such as Gulf Shrimp Étouffée over dirty red rice, for example). Chef Coombs believes and takes pride in using locally produced, fresh ingredients in his creations. As always, the staff is friendly, helpful, and informative. They also currently offer Bud Lite, Yuengling, a microbrew, and an import for those who enjoy beer with a meal; of course wine is also available.

The Heston family and staff have created a great destination place for spirit tastings, great food, concerts, and special events. The gift shop is stocked with locally produced products. Weekend concerts from a wide variety of artists and musical styles are offered most weekends all year around. Check their Facebook page under “Heston Farm” for the current concert schedule. Cover charge is generally $10 at the door or $8 in advance. Weather permitting, the concerts are held outside in the courtyard which features a stage and many mementos from past farm life and local history as well as rustic metal sculptures of farm animals. The tasting room, meeting rooms, and lounge are themed with bygone era farm memories and mementos such as uniquely designed stools of metal tractor seats with pitchfork supported backrests atop of ax-handle legs.

As with most of my favorite places, this is a leisurely place. Don’t be in a hurry. Take your time and enjoy the creative farm-themed ambiance that has been so thoughtfully fashioned here. The atmosphere is leisurely and relaxed. The combination of great spirits, great food, and great music is a recipe for a great time. And besides… you can taste and purchase one of the most unique spirits in the world, West Virginia Buckwheat Moon!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank LBWiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good stopping place”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stopped here on our travels. Didn't do the tastings because it was 6 dollars and you get a souvenir glass. Did have lunch. The chicken salad sandwich was very good, however the kitchen is so small that it is quite slow! If it crowded expect to wait! My husband got served the wrong meal and it took a half hour to get the right one. So just keep that in mind if you are on a schedule. But good place to stretch your legs,

Helpful?
2 Thank The3bubbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heston Farm also viewed

 

Been to Heston Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing