We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than adequate and affordable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better than adequate and affordable.”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I paid $66.99 per night for a Fri/Sat stay in a non-smoking King - Superior room. I booked online but wasn't charged in advance and in fact, had up until 6pm the night of my reservation to cancel without penalty. Don't find deals like that too often!

Check in was quite efficient; front desk clerk was very friendly. My room was on the first floor and I was relieved that it was an outside entrance since that meant I wouldn't need to walk past a bunch of smoking rooms to get to it. The room was quite adequate. The "superior" consisted of a nice built-in desk which was perfect for setting up my laptop and books. This is an older motel so there were signs of wear in the room (chips on the veneer, worn carpet) but the room itself was very, very clean.

No coffeemaker in the room but I was around the corner from the office where they had coffee available. Unfortunately, it was very weak and tasteless. But several restaurants/convenience stores are within a quarter mile so going out for breakfast wasn't a problem.

A couple of odd things: housekeeping completely skipped my room on Saturday. I was traveling alone so there really wasn't anything to clean but fresh towels would have been nice. I ended up walking down to the office to get them myself. Not really a problem but if the housekeeping staff is wondering why I didn't tip, it's because you did nothing for me. I also didn't notice until I got home that I was charged $1.50 per night for the use of a room safe when I did not use mine. Neither one of those things were a deal breaker for me though.

Unlike other budget motels in this area (which gets a lot of transient workers employed in the natural gas fields), the clientele seemed well behaved. I wasn't awakened before dawn by the sound of idling trucks and boisterous men shouting back and forth across the parking lot. In fact, I was surprised when I opened my door on Saturday morning to pouring rain - I hadn't heard a thing.

Check out was also painless and again, the front desk staff is extremely friendly. I will definitely stay here again. It's clean, safe, convenient, and quite affordable. The front desk clerk said they are scheduled for a renovation so I expect the prices will go up.

Room Tip: I was in 115 - first floor and doesn't face any other rooms so that probably helped reduce any p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont064, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank You. We do our best to make each guest feel welcomed. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    63
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
70
39
31
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in May and August. Excellent spot during our drive home from Florida to Toronto, ON. Great location and comfortable sleep. In August, we left behind a container with dental appliances. We phoned the front desk and let them know they had been left, they looked and phoned to let us they had been found. Joann mailed them to us and we had them within 5 days. We really appreciate the excellent service by Joann and her staff and would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanFlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont064, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank You for your kind words. We are happy to help our guest in any way we possible can. It was our pleasure and I have passed your message along to our entire staff. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I am a Red Roof loayalty member, and hate to give bad reviews of RR's, but, I couldn't give anything positive about this place except for the lady that worked the desk when we checked in/out. She was very nice, and quick about getting us checked in and out.
About the room.. we stayed in a ground floor room, and there was a substantial crack in the foundation that reached from the room door to the back wall of the room, you could easily feel the crack through the carpet... Then the light fixtures next to the bed were hanging loosely on the wall...Then in the bathroom, there apparently had been a huge leak of some sort as the wallpaper was patched together ( and not very well) on the wall, and the walls and ceiling were stained, and the towel bar fell off the wall when my wife tried to use it... The shower had what my wife thought was a "no slip" mat in it, but, after using the shower, we realized that it was only a "band-aid" to mask what appeared to be either a crack or hole underneath the mat, which made you feel uneasy wherever you stepped while in the shower. basically, the entire room needs to be repaired before they rent it to anybody else. The room and bed were clean, just not in good condition at all.
I'm not familiar with the area, but, I-79 is quite close by, and there is a huge plaza across the street with lots of restaurants, shops, and a Fairfield by Marriott, which I would probably check into if I'm ever in the area again. Morgantown, WV, home to West Virginia University is about 20-25 miles north of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont064, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I do apologize you were unhappy with your room conditions. I do hope that you will give us another chance once we have been rennovated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter in August on our way north to visit some family. The room was very clean and very comfortable. The front desk person was very knowledgeable about the area and recommended a great place to have dinner! We will definitely stay here again next year.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont064, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank You for your responce. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlanger, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed at the Fairmont Red Roof this past weekend & it was horrendous. Checked in on Saturday & checked out on Tuesday...the room had not been cleaned one time YET the door was left unlocked on Sunday & someone had apparently been in the room while we were out. The room smelled horrible, the smoke detector was hanging off the wall, mold in the bathroom, the bathtub leaked yet it took forever to drain while showering & the room was musty & damp. There was so much partying going on & people running around outside that we couldn't sleep at night. Not to mention, the steady stream of pimps & hookers going in & out of the rooms all hours of the night. Even had to deal with a big mix up with the room reservation...that was another nightmare. Red Roof corporate offices will be hearing from me. I wouldn't let a dog stay here.

Room Tip: Run don't walk away from this place...nasty, filthy, disgusting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont064, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I apologized we were unable to meet your hospitality needs. While this is not our norm and we recogize and have taken the necessary precautions so this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Motel was OK except for signage problem mentioned by others. They also appear to be running what appears to be a scam involving adding a mandatory room safe charge onto your bill on checkin. Charge cannot be removed until checkout if you happen to remember it then. Motel doesnt say anything about charge on checkout. Buyer beware!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont064, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
I do apologize if you feel we are being dishonest regarding the safe fees. When you check in and sign your registration card there is a disclosure there about the safe and the fee for you to initial. Also, there is a sign on the counter regarding the fee and refund policy. The reason we do not ask if you have used the safe is to protect the privacy of our guest. If you forget to have it taken off your bill, you may contact the Inn and we will be more than happy to credit it back to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My mother and I were in town visiting my sister and decided to stay at the Red Roof Inn. We were greeted by the front desk person as soon as we walked in the lobby and he was very friendly and made us feel right at home. We needed a first floor room because my mother is handicapped and they were very happy to accommodate this request. The room was spacious for the price and very clean, which I certainly appreciate after a long trip. I will definitely stay in this Red Roof Inn the next time I come in to town. I also LOVED that restaurants and a Super Walmart were very close by. How convenient!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 123 which is a Handicapped Double. It was a really nice quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont064, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank You for your responce and your kind words we greatly appreciate them. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next trip to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairmont hotels
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Fairmont
4.8 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#6 of 11 in Fairmont
165 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 11 in Fairmont
107 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairmont
Hampton Inn Fairmont
#1 of 11 in Fairmont
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Fairmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Fairmont

Property: Red Roof Inn Fairmont
Address: 42 Spencer Dr, Fairmont, WV 26554
Location: United States > West Virginia > Fairmont
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Fairmont 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off I-79, the closest Red Roof to Fairmont State University, 6 miles, and West Virginia University, 25 miles, we are also just one and a half miles from Industrial Park, NASA Boulevard, Technology Drive, and the National White Collar Crime Center. Taylor County Fairgrounds, Tygart Lake State Park, and the FBI Facility are both within a 20 minute drive of this hotel. This Red Roof is close to several restaurants and a cinema and we offer free WiFi! When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities in our rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke-Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, and a large, flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Fairmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Fairmont Hotel Fairmont
Fairmont Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing