We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Inn
Nearby Hotels
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Fairmont)
$65
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$93
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
61
43
40
22
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
43
40
22
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan older propertyreal platesroom was cleannormal hotelreal eggshot breakfastlong trippassed awaycheck in was easyawesome joboutdoor poolcalled the front deskneeded anythingwaffle makersausageonly stayed one nightwaffles
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 184 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Clarion at Fairmont is clean and comfortable. The room is very nice and the beds are fine (although I much prefer a queen to a double.) The breakfast was very good (hot things, not just waffles, also eggs and bacon, etc.) seating is limited, tho, as in most hotel breakfast rooms, and the poor lady bussing the tables seemed to be cooking the food as well. The pool is lovely, nestled next to a wooded area, and was very clean. A few complaints- when you walk into the room, there's a slight chemical smell - doesn't smell like cleaner - not sure what it is. Could be the old air conditioner, which is still the kind with big buttons that go CHUNK when you push them - that is one thing in the room that I'd say could use an upgrade. Also, there's lights in the Parking lot, but both nights we came in they were not on, which made it kind of creepy coming in. It was DARK. Oh- also, this is not a complaint, but the GPS didn't know exactly where the Inn was, and sent us the wrong way. If you follow the sign from the highway you'll be fine. I would stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the mountain are quieter.
Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Check in went flawless, plenty of parking, staff was "cool", room was good, nothing to complain about, yaeh, sure, it is an older hotel, but it still "has it", the only thing I saw is that the hallways were a little dirty, but there were many construction workers there and they can drag a little dirt in there with them, no problems, breakfast was really good, enjoyed the atmosphere there. All in all it was a darn good experience and I WILL go back, so should you................

Room Tip: get a room on the backside
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beechhouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a very old hotel in dire need of a total renovation. Smelly, dirty, dark interior. The rooms have a very foul odor and the bathrooms are small and oddly shaped, making it difficult to close the door. No elevator. Most of the hotels in this area are catering to out of town construction workers and they congregate outside the front door to smoke and drink beer; not very appealing. Breakfast is below standard. However, the front desk staff & housekeeping are exceptional...very friendly & helpful. I would not stay here again nor recommend this place............................................................

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank LRyan1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed at the Clarion in Fairmont, WV during Mountainfest. The room was just okay for me. Our particular room smelled very musty and the bathroom smelled of mold/mildew. There was some mold on the bathroom tile, bath mat and shower curtain. Our bathroom door only opened 1/2 way as there was a wall right behind it so that was a hazard. Housekeeping was around, but even after telling them we wanted service (since they asked), we didn't get it. I do have to say that, as far as hotels go, it was very quiet at night which was a surprise. As for the rest of the hotel, it was great from the bar/bartender and the breakfast area. Everyone was friendly. All in all, not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Clarion Inn in Fairmont WV for Mountain Fest, July 25th-28th, with a group of motorcycle friends. The trip to Morgantown was quick and easy and/or you could take route #19 for a throwback, curvy casual ride and avoid the interstate.

The hotel was fine. The bathrooms were a little on the small side but who lives in the bathrooms? The bed and bedding were fine. The water was hot when you wanted it to be hot. You have a mini fridge, TV and coffee maker. We opted to walk to the breakfast room for coffee in the morning, rather than using the room coffee maker. The continental breakfast was fine and more than what you would get at other establishments. We had dinner here a couple of times and it was fine for what we were doing...casual food and drinking in the bar.

The staff was excellent!!! They were very friendly and accommodating. Service was pretty good and well above what you would expect. I'd stay here again if I were ever in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid being near the mid-way (center) location for lodging....there is a lot of traffic at the side door.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikerguy080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews