We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff was great, but the hotel was not near Clarion quality.”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Arnoldsburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Staff was great, but the hotel was not near Clarion quality.”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I don't know how Clarion got their hands on this place. Or maybe the question should be, Why did they get their hands on this place.
The staff was great. They were very helpful and friendly. I give them 5 stars. But I can only give the hotel 2 at best.
The staff did their best with what they have. The hotel is very old and in dire need of a refit. The carpet in the rooms and the halls is very worn. The "wallpaper" is very outdated.
I don't know how long that hotel has actually been there, but I know it has been there for a very long time.
Location is fair. It is right off the interstate. But it is on top of a hill with a driveway that you have one hairpin turn that can be very dangerous if you meet someone else coming down as you are going up.
Then when you get to the parking lot. It doesn't have tons of room. Only one entrance and exit. Up and down the same hill with the same bad curves. I know that is not Clarion's fault. That is the fault of the original hotel owners. But there are many other hotels in the area with much easier access for the quality and price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterpan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR B, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We are continuously upgrading our hotel amenities and our product. We have several projects scheduled for this coming year and hope you have an opportunity to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    43
    32
    17
    15
See reviews for
57
34
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is so overpriced it is amazing! If I were paying for a musty, smoke filled, 70s flashback this hotel would be well worth $125 but this hotel is terribly overpriced. Not only is it over priced the Clarion is gouging its customers due to the gas and power companies HAVING to stay here. Avoid this hotel if you can! The restaurant charges 3.53 for a bottled beer!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bodee243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fairmont hotels

Chateaugay Lake NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We picked this hotel because it was on our route, was pet friendly, was easy-on easy-off the interstate, and had a restaurant. It did not disappoint. I had never stayed in a Clarion before, and we really liked it. The lobby, room, and bathroom were very clean. We had room service which was timely, and the food was hot. Staff was friendly and helpful. We had a room by the door so we could walk our dog without disturbing others. Also the handi-capped accessible room was fine. We would stay here again. Oh, and they also had a continental breakfast. I was a little disappointed that the restaurant didn't offer a full breakfast. We did not partake of the continental breakfast, so I can't review it.
Overall, it was a good stay. I'd r

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This place is fine for an over night on a long distance car trip. The rooms are a bit dated but clean and comfortable. Be sure to avoid the rooms at the end of the hallways by the stair wells - noisy. The hotel is located up a large hill from the interstate - decent view and far enough away from the interstate to avoid highway noise. Breakfast was adequate and nothing special. The staff were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the end of the hall near the stair ways - unless of course you want a noisy locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorro98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR B, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We take great pride in the service we deliver to each of our guests. We work diligently in continuously improving our hotel's service and amenities. We will continue to offer complimentary breakfast with added items over the next several months. We hope you get to visit our hotel on your next trip through our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Used to stay here when it was under a different name. It was dated, worn and needed renovation. Now under Clarion Inn, they have renovated it and the rooms are more than average now. Definitely cleaner, crispier and comfortable night sleep. Like other reviewers said, the staffs are great too! Did not eat at the restaurant but I have also heard they serve good food. You won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilot08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverstraw, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We recently stayed at the Clarion Inn in Fairmont W. Va for a motorcycle rally. Three employee's of the Clarion went above and beyond their duties during our stay. The petite little dark haired girl at the front desk ( I didn't get her name), Ronnie, and Amy. The various chef's also catered to one of our party who had dietary issues. The helped to make our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I had the preasure of staying at this hotel again as I was in town for MountainFest this past weekend. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is older, but I think the folks working there are great. Others in our group were impressed with the hotel as well, as this was their first time to the area. The staff working was very pleasant and always smiled when I encountered them. The weather was really bad so we spent a lot of time in the hotel's restaurant and bar. Amy and Carmen were great, and you could tell they took great pride in their jobs. We look forward to a return to the hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairmont hotels
4.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
#3 of 11 in Fairmont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairmont
Hampton Inn Fairmont
#2 of 11 in Fairmont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
4.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Fairmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 11 in Fairmont
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 930 E Grafton Rd, Fairmont, WV 26554-4499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Fairmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn Fairmont is conveniently located in Fairmont, which is just outside Morgantown, West Virginia. Fairmont State University and West Virginia University are minutes away from this West Virginia hotel. The Clarion Inn is the only full service hotel in Fairmont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Fairmont
Holiday Inn Fairmont
Fairmont Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing