We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was awesome but hotel not so much!”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Denton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staff was awesome but hotel not so much!”
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here because it was where my husbands company put us up. The staff was awesome. They were exceptionally friendly and very helpful. We had the room for 2 weeks. We left for the weekend but continued to keep the room. When we returned, there where bugs in the tub. I checked the bedding and found no bugs but between the mattress and box spring there was a lot of hair. Pretty gross. It is an older hotel and there was mold around the windows. For the price, there are better places to stay close by.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FCompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    44
    34
    18
    16
See reviews for
59
35
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Who'd have thought something next to a highway would be so peaceful? A long steep driveway leads you up to a well-kept hotel. Our only complaint was a burnt out light bulb, which was replaced soon. (Meanwhile, every staff member we met while unloading the car assured us it was being attended to!) The server at the lounge was friendly and cheerful, and the large salads we ordered were delicious. The free, hot breakfast was good, too. The staff was uniformly polite and friendly.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank kswk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

I asked to see a room before I was going to pay over $100/night in what seemed like a very old, rundown hotel. Upon opening the door and turning on the light, there were bugs scattering in the bathroom. On that note, I didn't go further and left.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrickyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR B, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
I want to take a moment to sincerely apologize for the negative experience you had at our hotel. On behalf of the management and staff, we wish your experience would have been much different so you would have been able to see the dedication our staff has for guest satisfaction and quality of service. We hope you would allow us another opportunity with your next visit to the Fairmont area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fairmont hotels

Wurtland, Ky
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here for an AAU tourney. It is a large hotel and an older one. Check-in was smooth and the staff were friendly. Hot breakfast in the AM was better than average. Rooms were average and where older. For the price we paid I can't really complain. The drive way is a little steep getting up to the hotel. It is right off the interstate which was nice. Some fast food & gas stations resturants close by. I did try to call back to the hotel one morning to call my room and no one answered. I did this repeatedly until on the fourth or fifth try, someone finally picked up the phone at the front desk! Glad it was an emergency or I would have been in trouble!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamieWurtland_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moundsville
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I was very impressed with my room at the Clarion. The room smelled so fresh like a lavender fragrence. The king
was very neat and tucked in tight. The bathroom was very clean. Towels smelled fresh. I had a chnace to meet
the lady over the Housekeeping Staff. She aked how my room was . I told her Very clean room. She said her
staff took pride in the work. You can tell. So I just want you Debbie over Housekeeping and her staff are
doing an awesome Job.
The other stall is also great.

Room Tip: First floor rooms close to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Robin was a pleasure to talk to,was extremely helpful in keeping me infomed that my next appt. was in the lobby and ready whenever I was,directing them to where I was,she even brought me a cup of coffee when I asked for one,Robin went out her way to be helpful and I really appreceated it,and J.R.,you are alwas a pleasure to talk to,thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to b.s. a little with me,Robin and you made my trip a pleasure, thank you for everthing. Sincerely, Dick Benedict

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for over 17 years, both as a Holiday Inn and then, as a Clarion. My frequency of stay is every other week for three (3) nights.

I stay at other hotels when I am in other areas. I know the difference between a well run hotel and a hotel that is not well run.

At the Clarion, Fairmont, WV I have great admiration for the staff that I encounter. I am continually impressed by Amy and Leah (Bar), Amy and Leah (Restaurant) and don't let me forget Amy and Leah (Room Service). Yes, when they are working, they are working all three of these services simultaneously. As a result, service in these areas is generally quite poor. I want to emphasize that the quality of service is not due to the extraordinary efforts I routinely see these ladies put forth. It is a result of inadequate staffing of the hotel.

Management does seem to try to help lighten the load for these ladies. They do so by not stocking the bar on a regular basis. It is common to come into the bar and find the the draft beer empty (sometimes all draft beers), common canned/bottled beers out of stock, wine out of stock and common call drinks out of stock.

The personnel at the front desk are courteous, helpful and genuinely caring. They are also knowledgeable and professional. These folks include, but are not necessarily limited to, Robin, Carmen, Robbie and Cindy.

The kitchen staff I have contact with (Olin, Paul and a wonderful older woman) routinely do great credit to a somewhat boring menu that I don't believe has changed in at least ten years.

Whether the above described are the result of management or ownership is not really important. What is important is service to guests does not seem a high priority.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wbromaghim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairmont hotels
4.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
#3 of 11 in Fairmont
243 reviews
4.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Fairmont
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 11 in Fairmont
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairmont
Hampton Inn Fairmont
#1 of 11 in Fairmont
192 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont
2.0 mi away
The Inn at Pettyjohn
The Inn at Pettyjohn
#9 of 11 in Fairmont
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 930 E Grafton Rd, Fairmont, WV 26554-4499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Fairmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn Fairmont is conveniently located in Fairmont, which is just outside Morgantown, West Virginia. Fairmont State University and West Virginia University are minutes away from this West Virginia hotel. The Clarion Inn is the only full service hotel in Fairmont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Fairmont
Holiday Inn Fairmont
Fairmont Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing