We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“On a bus trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Certificate of Excellence
Dansville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“On a bus trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I found this hotel to be excellent in every way. Check in for the 44 people on the bus was quick and efficient. Very clean, comfortable and well supplied room. Staff were all very kind. Brenda who was doing the deluxe continental breakfast for 2 of the 3 mornings was extremely helpful and friendly. One of the mornings there were 3 bus loads of people needing breakfast before leaving on a train ride. There seems to be no difficulty keeping up with it. We took walks around town each morning. The location of the hotel is prime.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are used to dealing with large groups. People literally come by the bus full to this area. I will be sure to tell Brenda about your comments. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    65
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
55
65
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night to ride the train the next day. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and clean. Very close to everything this city has to offer, and by chance we were there for the Forest Festival. Want to send out props to Brenda who works in the kitchen, she was super nice and helpful! The breakfast could have been better though. Everything was microwaved and tasted cheap, but I was not expecting much. We were able to keep the car parked in the hotel's parking lot even after checking out so we could ride the train. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: bring your own pillow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I will be sure to pass your comments along to the staff. Even though you get all the amenities from a brand like Holiday Inn Express, what really makes us proud is to hear that it’s the people that make the difference. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Wonderful hotel. Front staff gentleman was courteous, friendly and very helpful. Room was clean and spacious and quiet. We did not use pool, so cannot comment on that. Did go to the breakfast both mornings. They had a nice selection of pastries, cereal, bagels, fruits and the pancakes were excellent. The older lady on duty (sorry I didn't get her name) was extremely nice. She continued to wait on us, hand and foot, even though it was help yourself. You don't find many like her.

We did walk to dinner around the corner at C.J. Maggies. Good food and and huge menu. Also visited Cass Railroad in Cass, WV.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph26003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks for your comments. As your heading suggests, there is more to do in Elkins, WV than just one day. Our goal is to provide our guests with a great place and great service. Thank you for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Even with all my traveling this was the first time I have stayed in a Holiday Inn Express. It was a great stay. I would choose this hotel again. We were there for the train ride and found ourselves next to everything. We could park our car and simply walk to what we needed to. The folks were friendly. The rooms were clean and new. The breakfast was terrific. We happened to be there during the Mountain State Forest Festival. This was a great location for the festival and the prices reflected it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. Like real estate, location location location. As you said, we are within walking distance to everything that you would need. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed two nights with a tour group. Our room had two very comfortable double beds. The room was very clean with daily room service. It was had a coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave and blow dryer. There was a nice pool (that I did not indulge in) and a fitness center with two treadmills, bike and stair stepper. All the equipment was in working order. The breakfast was great and featured omelets both days, sausage, biscuits, pancakes, assorted muffins, boiled eggs, cereals, hot cinnamon rolls, toast, etc. The breakfast attendant was fabulous. We had 80 people in our group. She was so gracious and waited on us as if she was a waitress. She kept everything stocked, threw away our trash, and made us feel at home. She did not act rushed and took the time to greet us and make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weekendbeacherNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. Just as the previous review, I get many compliments on the breakfast host. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onaway, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We just spent 2 nights & the hotel breakfast attendant was the best & friendliest, she kept everything cleaned & filled! Yet she still took the time to make everyone feel welcome!! Enjoyed our stay very
much!! Also very clean hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I will be sure to pass along your comments about our breakfast host. Frequently I am passing along guest comments to her. She really is that wonderful. Thanks for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cattaraugus, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I just stayed two nights at the hotel as part of the American Mountain Theater package. I could rave on and on about how nice this hotel is. It is absolutely clean and sparkling. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is abundant for anyone. Eggs, sausage gravy on biscuits sausage, cereal and all the coffee and juices you want. You won't be disappointed here. Thank you so much Holiday Inn Express for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMeyer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We all do our best to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible. Our housekeeping staff takes great pride not only providing a clean room but an exceptionally clean room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkins
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#1 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
21.8 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
20.7 mi away
Bicentennial Inn, Home of 88 Restaurant and Lounge
1.1 mi away
Iron Road Inn
Iron Road Inn
#5 of 8 in Elkins
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
Address: 50 Martin St, Elkins, WV 26241-3442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Elkins, West Virginia. This new 69 room property is located minutes off of Rt. 33/250, near the heart of historic downtown Elkins, home of Davis and Elkins College, The American Mountain Theater, and The Durbin and Greenbrier Scenic Railroad. Visiting a customer or other local business? Our hotel offers all the services a business traveler needs for a productive visit including free high speed internet! Visiting for leisure? Nestled in the western foothills of the Allegheny Mountains, Elkins is surrounded by the natural beauty of the Appalachian Plateau. The abundance of mountains, forested terrain, and cold-water streams make fishing and hunting in this area a rewarding experience. Streams and rivers are stocked with both golden and brown trout which are actually hatched at the Bowden Fish Hatchery located 10 miles east of Elkins on US. Route 33. Randolph County - the hub of the mid-Atlantic ski region is just a short drive from any of the area's three major ski resorts. Canaan Valley, Timberline and Snowshoe Mountain Resort offer excellent downhill skiing opportunities. The region also offers an abundance of ungroomed cross-country trails on forest roads, mountain sides and ridges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Elkins
Holiday Inn Express Elkins
Holiday Inn Elkins
Elkins Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing