We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, quiet, convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, convenient”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We chose this place because of its proximity to "downtown" Elkins. It was just what we were looking for: walking distance to restaurants, stores, the American Mountain Theater, etc; far away from the icky strip mall; easy to access the highways to the Monongahela National Forest. Booked our stay via Hotwire for $105/night, a slight discount from HI Express listed prices. Parking, wireless and breakfast were all included in the stay (as were a mini-fridge and microwave), making it a great deal. Breakfast was served from 6-10, although the breakfast bar was often depleted during the peak hours of 8:30-10:00, and the "healthy options" consisted of mealy red apples and not-ripe-enough bananas. Nice staff and no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmichaelss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    68
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
59
72
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here during a weeknight in Sept. 2012. Stayed in a room 2 doors away from the front desk. No problem with noise. The room was average and I probably won't remember it 2 weeks after staying there. I do recall the breakfast. Not good. We went to a nearby funky coffee shop. Holiday Inn express has the same breakfast wherever you go. All plastic dishes/utensils and the pancakes are like rubber frisbees coming out of a conveyor belt fed by an intravenous bag full of batter. Wireless internet speed was pretty good.

Room Tip: Bright lights on the bottom floor (cars and flood lights). Go for room above ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budgetfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
I'm sorry to hear that your stay didn't meet your expectations. As you mentioned in your remarks, Holiday Inn Express has the same breakfast where ever you go. They try to provide consistency within the brand. That way you don’t stay at one Holiday Inn Express that is great and then stay at another location that is a dump, they all should be great. I will definitely forward your remarks further up the ladder so the Holiday Inn Express brand can give the best value for their customers. Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this HIE, because we were on a little weekend getaway. We rode the New Tygart Flyer on Friday, stayed Friday night, and went to Morgantown for a football game on Saturday. I was very, very pleased with my stay. Upon check-in, we were greeted as a Priority Club member, the staff was exceptionally nice and courteous. He told his exactly where our room would be and even suggested for us to move our vehicle so we could be closer to the entrance of our room. The room was very, very clean and the bed was nicely made. The bed was comfortable and we slept great!

The next morning, we enjoyed the continental breakfast, which was delicious and by far the best breakfast I've ever had of this kind. Plenty to choose from and we left full and satisfied.

When we checked out, the staff was just as kind and as courteous as they were the day before.

We will definitely use this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are located next to the American Mountain Theater and the Mountain Rail. We take pride in having a top quality brand name like Holiday Inn Express as well as the small town hospitality. Thank you for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here for business for 2 nights. It seems to be a fairly new facility, and is very clean. I stay in hotel rooms about 30 to 40 nights a year, and these beds were close to the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in. The place appeared to be almost full so I was worried about noise levels, but It was quiet and I had 2 great nights' sleep. Very good breakfast, lots of choices with hot foods, too. Staff was helpful and very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgs31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks for your comments. Being a frequent traveler, I’m glad you pointed out our beds. If you are going to stay somewhere, it should at least be clean and comfortable. That is why we have pillow top mattresses. We want to ensure that you are well rested for whatever you next day brings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is the best place to stay in Elkins.
The American Mountain Theater & the depot for the New Tygart Flyer are across the street and restaurants and shopping are all within easy walking distance. Additionally, our room was clean & quiet. Having a fridge, coffeemaker & microwave in the room is so convenient. The bed was as comfortable as any 5 star hotel. Super service and friendly, too. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I appreciate your review. It’s nice to have you point out these things out because those are the things that you remembered about your stay. We love to have people like you that notice and appreciate the little things that add up to make a great stay. Come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were in Elkins for the Mountain Explore Murder Mystery Train ride and picked this hotel b/c of the close proximity to the depot! The hotel was clean and smelled fresh. The rooms were spacious, inviting and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was amazing and included sausage gravy, pancakes, yogurt and much more. The pool and spa were clean and fun! The front desk staff were helpful but not overly friendly but the housekeeping staff were amazing and made up for that. The business center with internet access was very helpful as well. We will definately stay they again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast. It is just more convenient to have breakfast before you leave the hotel. I hope that your experience with the not overly friendly front desk associate was an isolated incident. We try to be helpful and anticipate your needs. We will definitely work on that. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Use your GPS as well as your eyeballs to find this Holiday Inn. Once we found it, we discovered that the hotel was across the street from the American Mountain Theater, a must see if they are open. The hotel was pleasant, nothing particularly special, accept the staff were very nice. We were in Elkins for Bluegrass at D & E.

Room Tip: Be sure to take a drive around this historic little berg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MesquiteMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkinsHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
You bring up a point that is our most common problem, finding us. Because of where we are, we are not allowed to put a taller sign up. To make matters worse, the added a new street next to us and renamed the roads here. To find every time with a GPS, use 50 Railroad Ave. We are on the corner of Railroad and 4th St. To sum up, Railroad Ave and Martin St run along the side of us and 4th St in front of us. If you’re close to those streets, you’ll see us. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkins
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#1 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
21.9 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
24.7 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
20.7 mi away
Bicentennial Inn, Home of 88 Restaurant and Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
Address: 50 Martin St, Elkins, WV 26241-3442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Elkins, West Virginia. This new 69 room property is located minutes off of Rt. 33/250, near the heart of historic downtown Elkins, home of Davis and Elkins College, The American Mountain Theater, and The Durbin and Greenbrier Scenic Railroad. Visiting a customer or other local business? Our hotel offers all the services a business traveler needs for a productive visit including free high speed internet! Visiting for leisure? Nestled in the western foothills of the Allegheny Mountains, Elkins is surrounded by the natural beauty of the Appalachian Plateau. The abundance of mountains, forested terrain, and cold-water streams make fishing and hunting in this area a rewarding experience. Streams and rivers are stocked with both golden and brown trout which are actually hatched at the Bowden Fish Hatchery located 10 miles east of Elkins on US. Route 33. Randolph County - the hub of the mid-Atlantic ski region is just a short drive from any of the area's three major ski resorts. Canaan Valley, Timberline and Snowshoe Mountain Resort offer excellent downhill skiing opportunities. The region also offers an abundance of ungroomed cross-country trails on forest roads, mountain sides and ridges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Elkins
Holiday Inn Express Elkins
Holiday Inn Elkins
Elkins Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing