We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, will be even better when construction is complete” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isaac Jackson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent, will be even better when construction is complete”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We chose the Isaac-Jackson as our hotel as part of a 2 night package through the American Mountain Theater in Elkins. The theater and hotel and adjoining restaurant share the same owners, who are also the performers at the theater. Branson, MO, style entertainment on a small town scale. Package included show, 2 evening meals, 4 hr vintage train excursion along the Cheat River. Thoroughly enjoyable in every respect.

Room Tip: All rooms and appointments are new and plush. I am sure the new rooms under construction will be fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hankTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    48
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
69
98
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We arrived without difficulty. Although there is obvious construction we were prepared and GPS aided with any question we had. Our rooms were ready and the associate checking us in was incredibly friendly.
The hotel is located adjacent to the hospital and withing walking distance of downtown. We were able to walk to dinner throughout out stay. Breakfast is included at 1863 and the cinnamon rolls are simply stunning.
Our rooms were quite comfortable and equipped with wonderful amenities. I was incredibly impressed with the iPhone-compatible alarm clock! The bed was completely comfortable and the pillows perfect!
Overall I was incredibly impressed. I will definitely return to the area and will certainly attempt to stay here!

Room Tip: I stayed in an even-numbered room and it faced the roadway. I was able to see amazing views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ppltraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, VA, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We arrived at our designated hotel around 3:30 and could not find any sign for the Lobby. Then we spotted the sign in the middle of a new construction site. When I attempted to follow the sign, I was forced to backup out of the construction area to allow for an exiting back-hoe. When I was able to enter, a sign directed us to park behind the only finished building (located on the back of the property). There was one open space for parking, all other spaces were occupied by the construction crew and a few other guests. On returning from dinner that evening the parking lot was empty of the construction crew vehicles.

I should add that the rooms themselves were very comfortable and clean and the house staff was very accommodating. That being said, however, did not make up for the lack of parking space, and a dangerous construction area.

On the following day, we returned to the hotel around 4pm and again could not find any parking space in the designated area behind the finished building. I was forced to park in front of the building directly in the construction zone. The only space open was adjacent to a scaffold erected for brick work. This was indeed a "hard hat" area with no "danger" signs posted or even any warning signs. As with the back parking lot, this lot was full of construction debris and discarded bottles, building materials and other trash simply thrown about; certainly not an area ready for hotel guests.

On Friday morning, all the electricity went off around 8:30. I quickly dressed and went into the hall to enquire what was going on and was told that signs were posted saying that there would be a power outage for around 4 hours. When we returned to the hotel the preceding evening (and yes we did find a parking space in the designated area) we did not see a sign telling about the power outage. I found the sign on the door above my head and certainly not in plain view. also, I do not know when the note was posted since we returned to the hotel around 7:30 pm. We and our friends were in deep discussion and saw nothing unusual posted on the door. Note, a simple note placed under the door of our room or a phone call to the room would have been appropriate. After all many guest had already check out.

Bottom Line: This hotel SHOULD NOT BE PERMITTED TO OPEN IT DOORS TO GUESTS UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE UNTIL MOST OF THE OUTSIDE HEAVY CONSTRUCTION IS COMPLETED AND A SAFE PARKING LOT IS PROVIDED. I will not return to this hotel under any circumstance!

Room Tip: Wifi is not secure even though it is provided at no cost (although this was a prepaid package and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

I must say that the rooms were perhaps the prettiest I've seen, beautifully appointed and done with exceptional taste. Even the in-room art was lovely and you cant say that too often. The hotel is undergoing massive renovation to add more rooms and so its a bit of a confusion to locate the makeshift lobby. This of course is temporary. While the rooms sell themselves, I have to say that the staff is a little snippy and borderline suspicious. We were part of a tour staying there and sought shelter from the rain under the roofline of the attached restaurant. A restaurant worker all but chased us out of there, even knowing that we were registered guests. A weird vibe for sure from the folks that work there, but I'd stay there again. I do recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank suecq2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I thought it was a very nice stay, and it will be even better once the construction is done. The rooms were very clean an cozy. The 2 night package is really worth the price. Overall a very nice and relaxing get away!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farrah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Staff is very friendly and helpful with anything you need or want. Still under construction but very quiet.. Rooms are very clean and tv has many channels to choose from. Within walking distance of town. Gas prices are equal to other places and a few were lower. Will return..

Room Tip: Only one building open at this time but it is quiet. Have to park in back, but our room was at parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramona V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We chose to stay there near the end of May due to the great deal they were offering during their construction phase. I am always leery of deals that appear too good to be true even when they include pretty pictures but decided to go for it. I am glad we did. The room was immaculate, the decor classy and lovely and the beds were very comfortable. Getting in and out of the parking lot through and around the construction vehicles was challenging but doable. Our stay did not include breakfast as the restaurant was still under construction but it was still a very good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meeeeVABeach_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkins
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#1 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
21.9 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
20.5 mi away
Bicentennial Inn, Home of 88 Restaurant and Lounge
22.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
#2 of 7 in Buckhannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaac Jackson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaac Jackson Hotel

Property: Isaac Jackson Hotel
Address: 830 Harrison Ave, Elkins, WV 26241-3688
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Isaac Jackson Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isaac Jackson is a boutique hotel offering casual elegance and sophistication in small town West Virginia. In addition to our hospitality, when you stay with us you will be treated to beautiful views of downtown Elkins and the surrounding mountains. Conveniently located near Elkins most popular attractions, you won't find a better place to stay while in town. We have Elkins' newest hotel rooms, having completed construction on 61 new rooms in September 2014. Our rooms are designed for relaxation, with all of the top-quality amenities: mini-fridges, coffee makers, free WIFI, and DirectTV in every room. Those finer details? We've taken extra care with those as well. From the high-quality shampoos to the real glassware, we've crafted every detail to give you an elegant stay. Breakfast each morning is included, and we are the only hotel in town with a restaurant on site, the 1863 Grill, so you're just a mere stroll from our chef's succulent steaks, BBQ, seafood, and more for lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Isaac Jackson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing