We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to write home about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Majority of my group stayed in the newly renovated section of the hotel on the top of the hill. Myself and a few others got stuck with the older section... and it is old. The thing that really bothered me was there were no Iron or Iron boards in the room. I went to the front desk to get one, and the girl 1 didn't know if I was supposed to have one in our rooms, 2 she didn't know where the spare iron/iron boards were located, when I noticed it right behind her the whole time. I just let her talk. She said she will see if she can find one and get back to me. She then came to me and told me their were none available, and I told her, well its an emergency, I must have an iron, and she finally showed up with an iron and iron board.

The room was old, not many outlets available. There was no wifi, I guess the best thing about it was that they had directv in all of their rooms... I enjoyed that.

If it was up to me, I wont be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 290 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

After having problems with our reservation at another local hotel, we ended up here. It was a great move! The management couldn't be more accommodating! The newly renovated rooms are lovely, the high beds are plush and so comfortable, and all the comforts of home are here- big screen TV, free wifi, and plenty of technology connections.

The 1863 Restaurant is quaint and has good old-fashioned service and a varied menu. The cinnamon buns, baked daily by Chef Joe for 47 years, are awesome! The room rate also includes a free continental breakfast with more cinnamon buns!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here with a group. Arrived from a long day and were tired. Check in was fast and efficient and the rooms well appointed, clean and very comfortable. We were surprised to find out rate had include full breakfast, real eggs and bacon. Very well done, I see great things for this new hotel am we will be back, They have a restaurant on site for dinner too

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetteWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed during forest festival weekend in one of the newly remodeled rooms. Upon arrival, it took a good 20 minutes to check in. We were the only people checking in at the time. My first tip of advice is to find someone more presentable to work the front desk. The lady that was working took forever to do anything. It was as if it hurt her to move a finger, and she was out of breath just sitting there. Once we got to the room, I was very impressed with the way everything looked. Very nice decor, the bed was comfortable, the room was very clean. We had a problem with our TV, but someone came up right away to fix it. The hotel provides real glasses instead of the cheap plastic/paper kind, and the mini fridge is tucked away in the entertainment stand.
I'm not sure if it's because the plumbing is so new, but I woke up several times in the middle of the night to a loud screeching sound coming from the walls. It was quite annoying. It sounded like it could be the plumbing, but I'm not really sure.
We woke up to eat Continental breakfast as the lady working the front desk told us that it would be there, and when we asked her about it she suddenly "didn't know" if there was breakfast or not and said we must have missed it. It was 9 a.m. Instead of waiting an eternity for her to figure it out, we ended up just leaving and going to McDonald's.
Overall, I'm going to give the place another try once it is completed. Hopefully all the staffing will be worked out and the confusion. It is a little pricier than most hotels in the area, but it is in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 516angelal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels at all pricepoints. My stay at the Isaac Jackson surpassed my experience at all hotels in its price range. In fact, it was better than my stay at the Hilton.
The bedding is wonderful as well as the bed itself. The decor is appealing and contributes to the luxurious feel of the room. Also, the free wifi was very fast. Overall, great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llprew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Isaac Jackson while on a group trip. It was the first day of operation for the newly constructed two story brick unit which is part of an overall renovation of the entire facility. Security system for the building is good and your room key card is needed to access the building during hours of darkness. I might add that the key card is a proximity card and not the kind that is inserted in a slot to open the door. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. There is a hidden refrigerator in the end of the chest of drawers that keeps it out sight. The room has a new flat screen TV, cable service, and wi fi are available. The bathroom has brick like tile, fan, and heat lamp. Staff was very welcoming and attentive. Dining room is located a short walk from the building and very good.

The hotel is within walking distance of one of, if not, the main attraction in Elkins, the American Mountain Theater (only about 3 block away). The main hospital in town is located right across the street.

I would suggest staying here if you're going to Elkins.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank けさっく
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkins
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#2 of 8 in Elkins
585 reviews
21.9 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iron Road Inn
Iron Road Inn
#5 of 8 in Elkins
41 reviews
21.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
22.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
#2 of 7 in Buckhannon
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaac Jackson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaac Jackson Hotel

Address: 830 Harrison Ave, Elkins, WV 26241-3688
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range: $110 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Isaac Jackson Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isaac Jackson is a boutique hotel offering casual elegance and sophistication in small town West Virginia. In addition to our hospitality, when you stay with us you will be treated to beautiful views of downtown Elkins and the surrounding mountains. Conveniently located near Elkins most popular attractions, you won't find a better place to stay while in town. We have Elkins' newest hotel rooms, having completed construction on 61 new rooms in September 2014. Our rooms are designed for relaxation, with all of the top-quality amenities: mini-fridges, coffee makers, free WIFI, and DirectTV in every room. Those finer details? We've taken extra care with those as well. From the high-quality shampoos to the real glassware, we've crafted every detail to give you an elegant stay. Breakfast each morning is included, and we are the only hotel in town with a restaurant on site, the 1863 Grill, so you're just a mere stroll from our chef's succulent steaks, BBQ, seafood, and more for lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Isaac Jackson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing