We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodge room October 2012”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins
Ranked #1 of 8 Elkins B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our family of 4 had a room for 2 nights in the lodge. It was clean and quiet. The river made a nice background noise at night. Location for Fall foliage was great. It would be convenient to reserve the place with a credit card, but it takes mailing in a check with a deposit to get a reservation. Then confirmation a few days later. No problems for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquadocdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
search&rescue, Owner at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

In the ocean of franchise hotels/motels, not many small family owned lodges have survived. We are a relic. Travel, like shopping malls can become homogenized whereas little variety exists. Throughout the 30 years of ownership we have morphed to meet the needs of the patrons who frequent our business. The Lodge rooms originally served hunters/fisherman. We added individual cabins for those who desired privacy. Because of the neighboring Monongahela National Forest, we began to attract patrons who prefered a view of the woods rather than rooftops. This brought to us other sports enthusiasts like hikers and bikers. Through the years, we've developed quite a following. Our repeat guests have been accustomed to moderately priced rooms, and we've done our best to meet their expectations having not increased our prices since 2007 ! But now, it's time for another transformation. Our King rooms, will be receiving a make over this winter. The decor will be updated, and upgraded. You'll find pleasant surprises like 32" TVs mounted on the walls, luxurious duvets, to name a few.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 116 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a quiet, restful place for a retreat. The swinging vine is a log cabin, and has 2 bedrooms, kitchen, living room, deck, grill and hot tub, as well as a small beach area ralong the Cheat River. It is very close to Monongahelia National Forest, and also near the town of Elkins, which has a grocery store and gas station. This is a lovely cabin.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sister_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our stay near Elkins, WV in the Cheat River Lodge was a wonderful autumn get-away. The view across the road from the lodge was complete with glorious sights and soothing sounds.
We stayed in a kitchenette room with 2 double beds and small cable TV. Very economical. It was cozy and clean - perfect for a home base breakfast and lunch. Even though it was a disappointment that the restaurant on the property was closed, the recommendations for touring and dinner restaurants were excellent. We loved CJ Maggie's and Calain's and regretted that we had no time for a meal in the old Davis mansion at the college.
There's a great bike shop and tourist train in Elkins. We also loved the drive through Canaan Valley.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cen811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

It was an enjoyable overnight stay. We arrived after the office had closed but my key was located just specified in my confirmation. The lodge is located just a short way from the main road so it is quite peaceful and rustic. The room was spacious. We had a room with a kitchenette. Overall, the room was quite clean. We only used the refrigerator and coffee pot in the kitchenette. There were a few spots in the kitchen that needed a better cleaning (such as the area behind the stove and the side of the refrigerator by the counter) but nothing a magic eraser couldn’t have taken care of.

A picnic table was immediately outside a large, screened-in porch where we enjoyed our breakfast while listening to the babbling river which is located immediately on the other side of the road.

The only drawback I experienced was that the water pipes in the wall were quite noisy so when the people in the unit above us arose in the morning, we were awakened as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank OffAgain22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is not a Marriott Residence Inn, it is rustic and aged. But it is reasonably comfortable, reasonably priced, and the folks are accomodating. It's in the woods, so expect bugs and critters, but we found none in our room.

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty much the same, I can't speak for the cabins!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandRoamer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Worked out well for us! Understand this is very rustic and it's been around awhile, it's not a Hilton Garden Inn if that's your level of comparison. It's in the woods, and across from a beautiful stream, so there's bugs and critters around, we had none in our room, but I wouldn't totally freak if I did. I had a bat in my house once! We enjoyed our stay, booked it last minute, and everything worked out well. Very convenient to Elkins. We wouild stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We discovered Cheat River when our son was about 4...he's now 23!!! We loved this place from the get-go because it is so peaceful and relaxing.We just recently stayed here again in August (17,18) and were with another couple who had never been. The weather was picture perfect and we enjoyed fishing, playing cards and relaxing. We stayed at the Rhodie again which is the first place we ever stayed in here...it was pretty much as we remembered it. The people who have negatively commented about this place probably shouldn't have stayed here to begin with...the place is in the middle of the woods...next to a river...in the middle of nowhere so unless you are specifically looking to get away from the rat-race...this isn't your kind of place. I'm not fond of bats either but they kind of go along with the area. We will definitely be going back...this place is great to de-stress!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisawashington50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunadawg2004, Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

We couldn't have said it better ourselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkins
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
4.7 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
283 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#1 of 8 in Elkins
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
4.0 mi away
Iron Road Inn
Iron Road Inn
#5 of 8 in Elkins
40 reviews
21.9 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins

Address: Route 1, Elkins, WV 26241-0115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Elkins
Price Range: $63 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheat River Lodge Properties are a privately owned and operated, non-commercial vacation destination on the banks of the Cheat River. Large riverside homes and cabins are available with a private hot tub. Lodge suites are also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cheat River Lodge And Riverside Cabins Hotel Elkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing