We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Elkins
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Audra State Park(Buckhannon)
View Hotel
Yokum's Vacationland(Seneca Rocks)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
44
35
15
9
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
35
15
9
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubscreened porchsit outsidelog cabinwest virginiarocking chairsgreat fishingcoffee tablethe wood burning stovequiet spotsmall kitchenbeautiful cabintroutr rcable tvenjoyed our stayalmost heaven
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 117 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This charming, rustic lodge is situated across the street from the Cheat River just a few miles from Elkins, WV and 30 to 45 minutes to Dolly Sods, Canaan Valley, and many other fabulous outdoor activities. I called short notice (3 days) wanting a room for a Saturday. The lady was so helpful, calling me back when she was able to confirm a vacancy. Since we were hiking all day, we requested late check in. They left the key (an actual key!) and directions in an envelope with my name on it pinned to the board outside the Company Store where all check-ins take place. For the same price as a hotel in town, and much cheaper than renting a cabin, we got a very spacious room with a king sized bed, bath, microwave and coffee maker, and a small refrigerator with a freezer! The bed was made up with a lovely country quilt and had a nice homey feel to it. The room opened onto a shared, screened-in veranda with large rocking chairs at each room and a nice view of the river across the way. Although it was chilly, we sat at on the veranda in the morning, drinking our tea, eating muffins, and enjoying the sound of birds chirping and the river washing over the rocks. There were also several fisherman out in the river. We walked up the road a bit and found a small park on the river and more fishermen. There is a deck with a hot tub between the lodge and the store and another deck across the street overlooking the river. If you don't want a room with a kitchen, there is a small grill just outside the hot tub deck. There is no phone in the room, and only a small 19" TV. If you are looking for a modern hotel with all the amenities, this place IS NOT for you. But if you want a quiet place with a quaint charm and atmosphere, I highly recommend this lodge on the Cheat.

Room Tip: The room with the kitchenette is connected to the store, not the lodge, and opens onto the hot tub deck.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainmama79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed there one night because we had business the next day in Elkins. It was like a mini vacation. We woke up the next day and it was snowing. There was a guy fly fishing in the river, in the snow. It was a freak storm in April and it was very beautiful. The room was very nice, with a king sized bed, a microwave, coffee maker, TV and fridge. You might want to take some bottled water for coffee or tea as the tap water seemed a little funky. We would certainly stay there, again.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and had a better view of the river.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

we have been staying at the Cheat River Lodge for more than 20 years, using it as a winter base to xc ski, staying in both the lodge and houses. It has always served us well, and did again last weekend, providing 2 days of fine xc in an otherwise snowless winter. could serve equally well in other seasons as a base for the many other outdoor opportunities available in the immediate area. Lodge rooms are clean and spacious, staff always friendly and helpful. fine if you are looking for an unpretentious mountain getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunadawg2004, Public Relations Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay(s) with us! We agree that the Monongahela National Forest and the Cheat River offer plenty of opportunities for outdoor recreation year round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We came from Akron, Oh and my cousins family came from Manassas,Va. It was a perfect middle point to meet. We stayed in the Rhododendron house. With 4 kids under 7 it was perfect. We are already planning our return!! Thanks for a great weekend getaway!!

Room Tip: Talk to Roxye and she will take care of the rest!!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunadawg2004, Public Relations Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Each of our accommodations are very unique and we are always glad to talk to you to help you with your choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I had an absolutely lovely experience interacting with the staff and management of Cheat River Lodge. With only a few days notice before new years eve, I inquired about rooms for the holiday. Anticipating tight booking and a delayed response, I was pleasantly surprised that both my email and phone call were returned within 24hours. Everyone was courteous and thoughtful of my needs throughout my stay, i.e. offering me dining options, following-up with me when I delayed en-route, responsive when requesting additional supplies, available to suggest daytime activities.

The room was clean and spacious. The kitchen was well-equipped and sufficiently supplied (Fyi: Kroger in town is open late.) The location was right next to a national recreation area that is certainly worth exploring. The lodge offers a peaceful and scenic getaway option (and the shared hot tub was a major added bonus.) The town itself didn't offer many entertainment options so don't count on anything other than quality time with your fellow travelers. The Lodge was a really cozy getaway with fabulous customer service that I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a quiet and peaceful excursion!

Room Tip: There are many rooms and option for different occasions. I prioritized a room with a view of the river, access to hot tub and a full kitchen, so the main lodge (2nd floor) was perfect but explore other facilities when you call. Management will answer all your questions and all the rooms/cabins are stellar options!!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMFAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews