We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect quiet weekend getaway!”
other travelers have booked this property
Directly riverside, fish from your private hot tub !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Directly riverside, fish from your private hot tub !
Main Entrance Fish from your hot tub!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Directly riverside, fish from your private hot tub !
Main Entrance
Fish from your hot tub!
Large Kitchen and Dining area
Enjoy the snowy river from your hot tub!
Large screened porch
Picnic on the porch
View from across the river.
Cathedral celing with Fieldstone hearth w/ gas logs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Elkins, West Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pam k
columbia, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lesson Learned”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I booked a week at Cheat River Lodge in the Rhododendron house.
I send my $787.35 (50%) deposit via check. 10 days before my reservation I called to cancel and was told that if they re-rented it I would get my deposit back. I said that is fine. Well I thought that I would get my deposit back for the 3 days that they did re-rented. I was told "no refund" because they didn't rent it for the full 7 days that I had made the reservation for. Yes their policy states that. I just think their policy stinks. So read the fine print and be careful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2013
What this person failed to add was that the nights that re-rented were at the END of her stay. If we were like most home rental companies/agencies we would have required 100% upfront, and then yes she would be due a refund. The first half of her reservation was not re-rented, and unfortunately the house sat empty. See also does not tell you that we had held this specific property for her exclusive use since May 20, 2013 almost 8 weeks. We do not charge a booking fee for a cancellation, but we require that all nights re-rent. The reservation can be transferred to another person. Certainly it would be better to 'gift' the reservation to someone rather than lose your deposit. When Pam cancelled, the policy was reiterated, and this suggestion was made.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S
Manassas, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect quiet weekend getaway!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin was the most amazing location and was exactly what we were looking for! It was located right on the river, perfect for fishing. The hot tub was so close to the river we could've almost fished right from it. Between the wood burning fireplace, the river right out the door, and the hot tub steps from porch, we couldn't have asked for a more romantic setting.
The staff was extremely helpful and responsive. As soon as we arrived we noticed we would need more wood (we planned on having one going from the moment we arrived until we left!); even in the 4in of snow already on the ground, they came within the hour and dropped off more. They even came back the next day to bring more wood - considering there was now 8in of snow on the ground, couldn't ask for better service!
We will definitely be back to this adorable cabin sometime soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2013
Thank you for such kind words! We are a small non-commercial getaway and we really strive to offer a great service. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisawashi...
Washington dc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love it here!!!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We just returned from a great weekend at the Cheat River Lodge...we stayed in the Rhodedendrum. We have stayed at this quiet retreat on two other occasions and have LOVED it. Coming from the DC suburbs, we look forward to the laid back peace and quiet this place provides. A previous review mentioned a bat problem and I can only say that the cabins are in the woods...deep canopy woods located along a river...so if you're looking for a hotel experience..this isn't going to be for you. We never had any problems with bats so it must have been a rare situation. We look forward to coming back again and again...it rejuvinates the soul!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet and fishing from the deck
Liked least: the kitchen could have had more dining necessities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2017
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara M
Glyndon, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The three day vacation that felt like a week!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We went looking on the Internet for a cabin by a river with 2 bedrooms near Dolly Sods, Canaan Valley etc. We found Rhododendron cottage and are already planning our next trip back. This was the perfect cottage for us... easy to find, easy access, close to town yet far enough away to ensure quiet. Check-in was as easy as un-pinning the envelope with our names on it from the wall of the log cabin camp store. But the big thing was location- location - location. We checked in on a Tuesday afternoon, checked out on Friday morning. In between we went hiking, birding, and sight-seeing. We watched the trout swim right by our deck and woke each day to the song of the redstarts. Oh and then there was the huge hot tub. We could only squeeze in a three-day get-a-way but honestly we were so refreshed by the peace and quiet of our lodging that we felt as if we had been away for a week. Can't wait to get back to this great find. Worth every penny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet, the privacy.....perfection
Liked least: The fact that the owners aren't on site.....though we didn't require them for a thing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2017
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40yrsworl...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rustic inside and out”
Reviewed July 9, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

If you like rustic, this is for you. Beautifully situated cabin steps from a slow flowing river (slow stream in the summer). Entering the screened in porch, the worn outdoor carpet and faded and worn plastic table cloth is a prelude for what you will find inside. If the prices were more reasonable, the worn kitchen utensils, lack of drinking glasses and uncleaned surfaces may not matter so much. At $236 + tax, in my book this isn't a bargain. Kitchen cabinets feel greasy on the surface, an electric stove burner doesn't work, the bathroom floor is stained and we had a burned out ligth bulb in the bathroom. Overall, the cabin shows a lack of deep cleaning and a need for updating. Be aware, this cabin does NOT have air conditioning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful, quiet setting next to the lake.
Liked least: mouse droppings in closet and worn out kitchen utensis
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2012
We always appreciate the opportunity to respond to comments as it allows us to elaborate on the observations offered, and issues presented.

#1) don't be fooled by the river's level. This person has tagged it as 'slow moving'. This may be his experience, but the name itself 'cheat' suggests otherwise. History tells us that this river's level can be deceptive as the sun may be shining on the deck of your cabin, while the river may be rising from rain showers at the head waters. This river is considered a fast moving mountain stream.

#2) the indoor/outdoor type carpet shows 'walked down' areas at the main entrance to the cabin because of it being a high traffic area. It is only noticeable because the porch is very large, and the more private areas are less traveled.

#3) we add the plastic table cloths on the wooden picnic tables as a courtesy. Unfortunately weather exposure, and repeated cleanings quickly fade/tarnish their appearance. We replace them seasonally, however, for the picnic-ers it might be a good idea to pack a new one with the cooler.

#4) Kitchen stock is inventoried several times a season. Unfortunately, items come up missing, broken, or unacceptable in between. We always keep extras on hand, to include toasters microwaves. There is no reason to be without, just notify the office of your needs.

#5" The kitchen cabinets in this cabin are a white, pickled finish. Housekeeping being sensitive to the repeated washings and the effects the cleaners have on the finish, may not being using cleaners that are not entirely removing this residue. The housekeepers are cautious about their constant exposure to these strong household cleaners, but we will see if improvements can be made.

#6) Burners failing. This is due to the housekeeping staff not properly re-placing the burners after cleaning the stove top. It is now required, that they 'test' the burner. It is unfortunate that it was not mentioned to us at the time, as it was a 'quick fix'.

#7) for $236 a night, we have a 3 bedroom 'house', decks, furnished porch, and yards to maintain...not to mention the hot tub maintenance. By no means, is the debri found in the one closet, or the light bulb out acceptable. But put into the context of the size of the property and its location in relation to its cost......an average franchise motel room the size of this living room costs the same. These problems are minor and easily corrected,and I'm sorry we were not notified.

#8) a need for updating. This 200 yr old cabin is modernized with forced air furnace, conventional electrical & plumbing, The main living areas are tiled with high quality porcelain. The furniture is leather by IKEA. The interior walls are log. There's not much changing we can do without impacting its log cabin appeal.

#9) Because of our location (2600 ft elevation nestled in 4000ft mountains on a cool fast moving stream) our evening temps normally drop by 20 degrees. Check weather histories at wunderground.com. We have fans in all the bedrooms, and main living areas.

If you have any further questions about the issues stated, don't hesitate
to call the office at (304) 636-2301.

happy trails, CRL
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2017
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$196
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing