We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food-Interesting collection of memorabilia”

C J Maggie's American Grill
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Elkins
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Decent food-Interesting collection of memorabilia”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Food was reasonably good- kind of diner cooking- not exotic. Good for a quick meal and decorated with lots of local artifacts.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jall55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    110
    62
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linville, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love the pizza!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The food is always great. Huge portions which is sometimes unfortunate if you have no where to keep the leftovers. This year, the servers weren't the greatest, I understand a number were new but they weren't very well trained and left lots of unbussed tables.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shannon Pence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A good casual spot”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Popped into this place while overnighting in Elkins. Can't think of anything really exceptional or terrible. Food was good, liked the casual atmosphere and decor. I would surely go back if ever in the area again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shoxgdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food but pricey”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant had great food and wonderful, fast service. Portions are very large. Cost was kind of high though. Family of four for just a burger and fries kind of lunch was around $70.00. Highly recommended for business trips where you're not picking up the tab. Will definitely go back for business or pleasure.

Helpful?
Thank ccamerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hearty American Food”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This restaurant is not for the faint of heart. Dishes are large and have bold flavors. Be warned that many entrees have a lot of grease (sometimes enough to make my stomach uneasy). Everything I've tried has been delicious, and they are not afraid to make their dishes a little spicy.

Despite being an American restaurant, the menu is diverse, ranging from Tex-Mex to Pizza and Pasta, burgers, and sandwiches. There is something for everyone to enjoy.

My personal favorite has become the Chipotle Nombre, which is essentially a full-plate taco shell (seriously!) filled with nacho toppings.

This is probably not one of my favorite restaurants in the world, the chefs are jacks of all trades, and masters of a few. I'd feel comfortable taking a diverse crowd there, which is saying a lot. I'd certainly recommend it if you're in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MichaelCWhitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C J Maggie's American Grill also viewed

 

Been to C J Maggie's American Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing