We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as beautiful as it is, is as poor as the service at the front desk.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Graceland Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 8 Elkins B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 4, 2010

rude from the very beginning... they will give the keys of your room to perfect strangers... tell them it is their room.... and u will never know about it.... at least that is what happened to me when my son and i were exhausted and unloaded the car after a long trip... entered our room only to find the possessions of someone else all over the room... i called the front desk, and the lady at the desk never apologized, instead, she acted annoyed by the fact i was calling her about the incident( nevermind the uncomfortable feeling of sitting inside someone else's room) she said i would have to come get the other key, and that it was a simple easy mistake to make, as if it happens all the time, she never apologized, and didn't help us with our luggage... it was terrible service, no matter how beautiful the scenery,,, or delicious the food,... the people at the front desk have never heard of customer first service in their life.... it is quite disappointing...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hellohellohello055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 55 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2010

Despite a reservation secured with a credit card, when we arrived to check in, there was no room for us. And worse, the manager was unappologetic and defensive. Lora informed us that the guests who had stayed in our room the evening before had not checked out or vacated the room. They apparently went somewhere for the day and all of their belongings were still in the room and she was not allowed to move their things into storage. Plus all the other rooms were reserved for that night. There was no room available for us, despite making a reservation.

This was supposed to be a part of a special Father's Day weekend mom and I had planned for my dad. Among other events, we were going to stay in a suite, decorated with antiques/period furniture and then have Sunday brunch the next day. Instead we were put in a small, dark room with block walls in a building adjacent to Graceland.

While trying to talk to the manager and ask questions about this extremely disappointing situation, she became defensive and rude. Be very wary of this place. Can't tell you anything about the room as we didn't get to see it. She wouldn't even let us see into ANY of the rooms, just to get a feel for how nice it would have been.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Service
4  Thank wvtravelinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed in the "Yellow" room overnight while visiting my son who is a student at Davis & Elkins. It is right on the campus so we didn't have to travel far. The only thing we wondered about was the bathtub. We are not used to a tub (vs shower) but we figured it out without much problem. The room was quiet, temperature was about right and we enjoyed the complementary breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

The Graceland Estates has lots of history...but you need to ask about it. You are aloud to tour unaccompanied through both mansions. The first one being the Inn that you may stay at in the restored rooms, the second is being used for admission offices for the Elkins Davis College which is on campus. There are many floors and many old historic items to check out. They also have a hotel next door that is very spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet (basic hotel style).

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kjambb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

It was a neat one-time experience to stay midst all the history that is Graceland Inn and to enjoy the beautiful home,surrounding scenery,etc. Service was pleasant,friendly but not top notch. For some reason, 2 to 4 copies of receipts had to be signed for registration,drinks,meals,etc. Travelers should be aware that rooms are in a very old building and while cozy and quaint, are certainly not plush or luxury. (definitely not worth the prices listed on the Inn's website) There was an odd musty odor throughout the entire inn. The air conditioning/ventilation system worked poorly and rooms were warm and stuffy. Rooms we stayed in or viewed needed work, i.e. woodwork needs sanded down and refinished and wallpaper needs replaced. It is nice to be able to say we stayed here but we won't be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrodieBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We found this place with our GPS, just looking for somewhere to sleep and shower. What we found was a very old piece of history. The Inn was built in the early 1800's and almost was torn down in the 1990's, but was restored instead. It is absoutly beautiful on the inside. We did not stay in the main building, but the lady at the desk allowed us to brouse around. The building we stayed in was clean comfortable and safe. Continental breakfast was one of the better ones I have had. I would recommend this place to anyone, weather just somewhere to sleep or to enjoy a little local history.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maryliz1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

We have stayed at the Graceland Inn for three years now each January for a local dance weekend. The Inn is beautiful, the architecture is wonderfully restored and each room has a unique feature, some with big soaking bathtubs, some with antique furniture, some with incredible views. Our stay there was interrupted by a frozen sprinkler system so our groups were relocated to the adjacent Convention Center. Much to our dismay the Convention Center has a problem supplying hot water to many of the rooms, particulary those of the third floor. With further inquiry it seems that this a recurring problem that has not been addressed. The Inn itself is a wonderful place to stay and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The Convention Center however should be left to those who don't mind a lukewarm sponge bath.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lngjrny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elkins hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#2 of 8 in Elkins
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#1 of 8 in Elkins
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Elkins
Super 8 Elkins
#4 of 8 in Elkins
345 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iron Road Inn
Iron Road Inn
#5 of 8 in Elkins
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graceland Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graceland Inn & Conference Center

Address: 100 Campus Dr, Davis & Elkins College, Elkins, WV 26241-3971
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Elkins
Price Range: $75 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new management of Graceland invites you to come and see how we've changed, and want you to know that we look forward to accommodating all of our guests and their unique lodging and dining needs. Graceland Inn, the former summer residence of West Virginia's first Democratic US Senator, Henry Gassaway Davis, is on the National Historic Landmarks Register. In 1996 the restoration of Graceland Inn was complete and opened to the public as an Historic Country Inn with a full-service restaurant. The main purpose for restoring the mansion and developing an Inn, Restaurant, and Conference Center was to create a dynamic learning lab for Davis & Elkins Hospitality and Tourism students. All rooms in Graceland Inn are furnished with antiques or Victorian reproductions. Each room has a private bath, individual climate controls, a television, and complimentary wireless internet access. Large rooms have marble lined bathrooms, and one room is equipped for handicap access. An elevator is available. The facility is completely smoke free. We also offer complimentary continental breakfast for all guests. Graceland also features a Conference Center with more traditional style hotel rooms with modern amenities and conferencing facilities. We also offer meeting and banquet space at our sister mansion, Halliehurst. The restaurant is located on the first floor of Graceland. We have four elegant dining areas, and each room's decor has its own character. In the summer months you can dine on our Veranda that overlooks the beautiful town of Elkins. The Graceland Restaurant is open to the public for lunch Wednesday-Friday from 11:00am to 2:00pm (Tuesday lunches in the summer), dinner Tuesday-Saturday from 5:30pm to 9:00pm and for Sunday Brunch 11:00am to 2:00pm. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Graceland Hotel Elkins
Graceland Inn And Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing