We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High on a Hill is a lovely Hampton...”
Review of Hampton Inn Elkins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Elkins
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This Hampton Inn is really super and deserves its certificate of excellence. Firstly it is in a fabulous situation, high up on a hill overlooking the wonderful mountain scenery that surrounds Elkins, the higher the floor you are on the better the view. It is also the only property on the site and is way back from the main road and therefore extremely quiet and peaceful. Secondly, all of the staff are efficient,friendly and helpful, which is more than half way to making a successfully run hotel.
We had a standard King room, it was very spacious, clean and comfortable with a fridge, microwave, large desk and two comfortable chairs.The breakfast was excellent with many hot and cold choices, we stayed for 4 nights and there were different choices each morning, the breakfast area is well planned with plenty of seating. The swimming pool, although not large was very nice. There are plenty of eating establishments within a few minutes drive of the hotel. We hope some day to be able to return to Elkins and would definitely stay here again. If you have the opportunity to visit the American Mountain Theatre, in Elkins, do go it is a great night of entertainment and music.

Room Tip: A high floor will probably give a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stokersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 581 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

Hotel room and staff were excellent. Enjoyed the pool and whirlpool especially after a long ride on the motorcycle. Road leading to the hotel was a little rough and needed to be repaved. A large complimentary breakfast was available.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Set about 3/4 mile off, and above, the main highway, it is a fairly new and quite pleasant hotel. The staff was quite cheerful and helpful, the rooms were clean and bright and since we were on the valley side had a very nice view of the valley and mountains. We didn't avail ourselves of the breakfast as we were in a hurry to get going and the lady at the front desk provided two "go bags" with fruit muffins and breakfast bars. A nice touch. BTW, the duty manager the evening we arrived recommended a nice casual restaurant for dinner, CJ Maguires

Would stay there agin when in the Elkins area. Recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the valley side (even number rooms IIRC) as the view is quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel surpassed any expectations! Room very comfortable, bed quite comfy, everything very clean. The bathroom just had a shower but it was very large. Had a wonderful, powerful shower head. Nice heavy towels. The entire hotel, that I saw, was very clean. Coffee & tea station in the main hallway was very nice. The breakfast area was very neat and well stocked with a good variety of hot & cold foods. The breakfast bar personnel were very helpful and friendly. The ONLY CON that I can report is that the bathroom only had one switch that operated the light over the vanity, a light in the bathroom, and a huge fan over the toilet. So therefore to have the light over the vanity on you had to listen to the loud roar of the fan continually. Would be nice to have a separate switch for the vanity light. Check-in was a little confused and on Saturday we were contacted by the manager to resolve the problem. Thank you Chip for kindly and generously resolving the issue. Chip was extremely friendly and helpful. Thank you again Chip for all your assistance.
Very nice Bob Evans restaurant right across the road from the hotel. The view of the mountains was beautiful from this hotel. We also went on the New Tygart Flyer train...was a wonderful experience. Went to the 2 hr show at American Mountain Theatre.....ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!! Would DEFINITELY stay at this hotel again...was very close to the activities that we had planned. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room that looked out into the back parking lot which was uneventful. Would have been nice t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here for two nights but only paid for one . This was because the manager honoured Hampton's pledge not to charge if the guest is not satisfied. The first night we had neighbours from hell who played loud music until way past midnight . It took five phone calls and over an hour to persuade the night porter to confront the culprits and allow us to get to sleep.
Otherwise the hotel is OK - not remarkable but it delivered on most counts including a nice breakfast and comfortable beds .. I understand that it is to be refurbished - I do hope the Hilton group will break away from their dull mode and hire interior designers who choose brighter colors and decor, furniture and soft furnishings . Meanwhile could someone please - as a matter of urgency - dispose of the ghastly plastic display of tired tangled weeds, collecting dust adorning the console facing the lift

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Although it's located along a main drag, the hotel is set back from the road higher up on a hill, away from all the noise and clutter of town - Had a room for one night on the 3rd floor - nice view of mountains out the window, very clean, quiet, comfortable, restful and relaxing - breakfast included hot and cold foods and was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Cecelia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Despite some construction still in progress in the lobby during our stay, overall experience was excellent. The room was nice and bed was comfortable. We had excellent view of the mountains from the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank donalds566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkins
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
2.6 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#1 of 8 in Elkins
288 reviews
22.1 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iron Road Inn
Iron Road Inn
#5 of 8 in Elkins
41 reviews
22.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
24.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
#2 of 7 in Buckhannon
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Elkins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Elkins

Address: 480 Plantation Dr, Elkins, WV 26241-8402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range: $93 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Elkins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Elkins is comfortably located in the heart of West Virginia, overlooking the Tygart River Valley. Minutes away from beautiful scenic mountain views, shopping, dining and more, and within five miles of large local corporations, the Hampton Inn Elkins is perfect for both pleasure and business travel. As the day winds down, enjoy complimentary internet access and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. In the morning, enjoy a free hot breakfast complete with waffles, hearty oatmeal and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Elkins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Elkins Hotel Elkins
Elkins Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing