We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in Elkins”
Review of Hampton Inn Elkins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Elkins
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Elkins”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had stayed here a few years ago when the hotel was new and I was impressed at the time. Nothing has changed, the hotel still looks brand new, very clean with excellently furnished rooms. Staff courteous and professional and good breakfast offerings. I visit Elkins regularly and use it as my base to visit the scenic railroad at Cass. Over the years I have used a number of places to stay overnight and have found this to be the best hotel for my purposes

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    138
    31
    15
    4
See reviews for
218
148
30
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Would not accept cash at check in. The room was charged to my credit card even though I made it clear I wanted to pay cash. The next morning check out was a lengthy procedure because I had to wait while a shift change was taking place. Then they had to credit my credit card and then accept the cash. If they had accepted cash the night before all of this could have been avoided, and I would have been on my way 20 minutes sooner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I had a great stay in Elkins, WV. The staff stated that the hotel was five years old but it looked as though it was brand new. This Hampton Inn exceeded my expectations. The pool was immaculate and the breakfast was exceptional. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbard, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

In the mountains head north home from Florida... Decent hotel but a little pricey for the area... Off interstate , food places near... Clean, friendly innkeepers..breakfast free, decent choices with plenty of juices and coffee

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpy507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were happy to finally arrive at the Hampton Inn in Elkins, because we had driven along the Blue Ridge Parkway and then came up some major highway, but made the mistake of taking a 'shortcut' on Route 250 NW ... not realizing it was a forever winding mountain road (96 miles) to Elkins... great scenery but no accommodation on the way, although we had a nice dinner at a diner in Monteray ... where the Sherriff advised us to drive another 2 hours to get to Elkins; as he knew of the Hampton Inn there. We had a lovely trip ... It's beautiful country ... but we missed out on our last chance to have waffles for breakfast (Waffle Iron out of work) !!! Still we had a very good experience lodging at the Hampton Inn in Elkins ... Thanks to all the staff members involved ... everybody was very kind ... not like at the Best Western at Waltersburg, where the B'fast supervisor practically yanked the toast from our bite ... about 2 seconds after 9:00 a.m. We are to senior ladies travelling and like the B'fast buffet to be open till at least 10 a.m. If tourist happen to go that way, the Hampton Inn in Elkins is a great place to stay !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Christa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Good facility. Room was a nice change of pace from other hotels I've stayed in. Large, comfortable and very quiet! Hotel staff was very welcoming and helpful. Checking in and out was efficient and easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jlam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, OH, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton because it is in the area we were visiting, and I am very happy we did! The hotel appears to be fairly new. The beds and bedding are extremely comfortable, soft, and clean. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkins
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
2.6 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
22.1 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
24.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
#2 of 7 in Buckhannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
21.9 mi away
Bicentennial Inn, Home of 88 Restaurant and Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Elkins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Elkins

Property: Hampton Inn Elkins
Address: 480 Plantation Dr, Elkins, WV 26241-8402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Elkins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Elkins is comfortably located in the heart of West Virginia, overlooking the Tygart River Valley. Minutes away from beautiful scenic mountain views, shopping, dining and more, and within five miles of large local corporations, the Hampton Inn Elkins is perfect for both pleasure and business travel. As the day winds down, enjoy complimentary internet access and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. In the morning, enjoy a free hot breakfast complete with waffles, hearty oatmeal and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Elkins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Elkins Hotel Elkins
Elkins Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing