We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great decision!”
Review of Hampton Inn Elkins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Elkins
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Found this to be a great choice for us! Staff was helpful, when we arrived early the desk clerk apologized took our phone number and called as soon as room was ready, even though we were early. The hotel also has a shuttle that will take you anywhere in town, nice extra if you don't want to drive. Rooms were clean and updated. Beds were very comfortable which I don't usually find. I felt very comfortable in this room!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khelgert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Elkins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 558 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

They are doing everything right at this Hampton Inn -- except they don't get a newspaper, free or otherwise. Its larger than most Hampton Inns that I have visited, with a large breakfast and reception area, a business center, indoor pool with hot tub. The hotel is in top shape without stains, dirt or any other objectionable stuff. The internet speed varied when I was there -- one evening it was so slow as to be useless but the next morning it was running ok. I asked for a quiet room and was given one, away from the elevators and on the top floor. Since the hotel is isolated on the top of a hill, you really have to drive to everything, but its a quick trip to the Bob Evans at the bottom of the hill. Before I booked the room, I compared the rate to the Holiday Inn Express nearby and the Hampton was $30 less expensive. It seemed like a better value.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator which has a loud ding sound whenever the elevator car arrives.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aDCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and gave us a nice welcome. The hotel was very clean and well taken care of. The room was nicely decorated and well set up. Its nice to see a hotel think outside the box when it comes to room layout. The breakfast was very good. It has eggs, waffles, buscuits and gravy, sausage, pastries, yogurt, and cereal. All day long coffee and cookies are available in the lobby. The view from the hotel is amazing!! We lucked out and had a top floor room on the mountain side. We got to see a wonderful sunset!! The rooms seemed fairly quiet but you do get the hallway noise. (I would guess that the rooms by the elevator would be awful-the elevator "Bing" was very loud) We would stay here again with out a second thought!

Room Tip: stay away from the elevators
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyTrips98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Everything about this hotel was superb. Breakfasts were excellent, the rooms were clean and well maintained, and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. I would recommend booking in advance, because this hotel is such a great value that it fills quickly.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harmonysailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn during our long-weekend drive through West Virginia. It was a wonderful rest after hiking around mountain tops and rocks! The room is very clean and well-appointed. WiFi works without a hitch. (I'm in fact writing this review using their WiFi) Most of all, I was impressed by the service at breakfast. I don't think I've ever experienced such friendly and efficient service at a serve-yourself hotel breakfast set up. The woman working in the breakfast area was cheerful and helpful. She was even going around the tables and handing out mints. The coffee ran out, but she very quickly replaced it. The breakfast was good, and the bacon was definitely above par. And the robust coffee was delicious. I would recommend staying here!

Room Tip: I believe that rooms with even numbers have a great view. We were in a odd number and looked onto wo...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night so that we could ride the New Tagart Flyer train the next day. The room was very nice, the beds comfortable and the free breakfast was good. Just a little pricey, but would highly recomend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gpigmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

In town for a wedding. Great views of surrounding area hotel. Location sits high and just out of town. Convenient to stores downtown restaurants college etc. Breakfast was very good. Food items not over cooked and fresh. Bed was comfortable.
Fridge in room. Comfortable desk chair to work as needed. Tv and simple bath toiletries. Water pressure good. Did not hear any other guests. Only issue was when the air conditioning went on in the room it was quite noisy. Over all very good stay. Recommend this location.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank crloganphila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkins
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
2.5 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
283 reviews
22.1 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
24.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
#2 of 7 in Buckhannon
308 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iron Road Inn
Iron Road Inn
#5 of 8 in Elkins
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Elkins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Elkins

Address: 480 Plantation Dr, Elkins, WV 26241-8402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range: $93 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Elkins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Elkins is comfortably located in the heart of West Virginia, overlooking the Tygart River Valley. Minutes away from beautiful scenic mountain views, shopping, dining and more, and within five miles of large local corporations, the Hampton Inn Elkins is perfect for both pleasure and business travel. As the day winds down, enjoy complimentary internet access and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. In the morning, enjoy a free hot breakfast complete with waffles, hearty oatmeal and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Elkins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Elkins Hotel Elkins
Elkins Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing