We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel--Recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Elkins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Elkins
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
239 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel--Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We arrived during the Forest Festival Week. Speedy check in. We had a nice room on the 3rd floor. One king bed-- good channel selection on TV--Hampton Inn is one of our favorite chains to stay with. This met our expectations with the comfortable bed with the huge comforter-- we could control the room temperature quite easily-- free wireless and lots of outlets to plug all our rechargable electronics--breakfast buffet was excellent and varied each day-- we were there Sunday through Friday checkout. Our request for a solution to a small problem was handled almost instantly with a friendly "handy man". Love those white chocolate macadamia nut cookies. Fruit, Cookies, coffee available 24 hours.

Room Tip: Mid hall would be the best-- we were in 318-- good view-- very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBoop1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    135
    30
    14
    4
See reviews for
210
148
30
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed two nights at this location during a recent motorcycle trip. The hotel is new, so everything is in good shape. The location is removed from everything. It looks like eventually, development in the surrounding area will catch up. To its credit, the hotel does offer a shuttle van if you have a destination and don't want to drive or ride. As far as the hotel goes, it is a good Hampton Inn with all that implies. Breakfast is hit or miss. If you get there when the college athletic team from out of town is monopolizing the lunch room, you might as well forget breakfast. If you get there at a lucky moment, there is reasonable seating, but you still have to fight your way around the breakfast counter to get something. Why hotels don't invest in a commercial toaster is a mystery to me. The entire breakfast crowd has to take turns using one pathetic toaster. Despite the free breakfast, I usually find it more pleasant and appetizing to go out for breakfast. Anyway, I don't go to hotels for their breakfast, so I can forgive this shortcoming. Downtown Elkins is a couple of miles away and has a modest selection of restaurants, But everything in town seems a bit worn around the edges. The dinning scene in that area is on the level of Applebees.
Anyway, if you have reasons to spend the night in Elkins the Hampton is a good place to lay your head. I also appreciate their courtesy in allowing me to park my motorcycle in the front of the hotel, under cover.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wurtzi1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed here overnight on September 1. The hotel is very clean, and the room was immaculate. Would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_In_Fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Last stay was August 17th, when my wife and I were in town to visit friends. Overall,very good experience. Helpful and quick check in. Nice selection of breakfast foods. Only gripe is paper thin walls between rooms with, apparently, no sound proofing. Around 3 AM, person in next room was having a phone conversation and most of it was distrubingly audible.

The Holiday Inn Express and this hotel are the best in the area, with The Hampton being my favorite. Vey clean and confortable beds.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob46890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

What more can I say that hasn't already been said about this Hampton Inn? The hotel is wonderful and is exactly what you'd expect from a Hampton. Breakfast was also a delight and I enjoyed having the option between a quick bagel and milk or a waffle, eggs, and bacon in the morning. The property is also in a good location that's near a shopping center and downtown Elkins, but it's also only an hour drive from Seneca Rocks and other gorgeous attractions in the West Virginia hills, which makes it a great headquarters for a West Virginia staycation. On this particular trip, I stayed at the Hampton on business but plan on visiting Seneca and Spruce Knob this fall and will be returning to this hotel for a personal stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarapricex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
307 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Lovely new hotel. Location is a bit odd in that it's set well back from the main road. It would be a good walk to anything else. Large bathroom. Nice size room. Very comfy bed. Good assortment of breakfast foods.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LastMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I love the consistency of Hampton Inns. I was greeted as a Hilton Honors member by a cheerful front desk person. I was offered some fresh baked cookies at check in.

The room was as advertised. Clean room with micro and fridge. Flat screen and a comfy bed. Bathroom was spotless.

The hotel sat high on a hill with a view of the mountains around town. Nice pool and spa. Breakfast was hot and tasty but no oatmeal.

Good place to stay if visiting the Cass Scenic RR or the Durbin and Greenbriar RR right downtown.

It's my second stay here and I would choose it again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choochoo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkins
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
2.6 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
22.0 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
21.9 mi away
Bicentennial Inn, Home of 88 Restaurant and Lounge
24.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
#2 of 7 in Buckhannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Elkins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Elkins

Property: Hampton Inn Elkins
Address: 480 Plantation Dr, Elkins, WV 26241-8402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Elkins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Elkins is comfortably located in the heart of West Virginia, overlooking the Tygart River Valley. Minutes away from beautiful scenic mountain views, shopping, dining and more, and within five miles of large local corporations, the Hampton Inn Elkins is perfect for both pleasure and business travel. As the day winds down, enjoy complimentary internet access and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. In the morning, enjoy a free hot breakfast complete with waffles, hearty oatmeal and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Elkins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Elkins Hotel Elkins
Elkins Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing