We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you would expect at a new property that appears to be managed well.”
Review of Hampton Inn Elkins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Elkins
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Certificate of Excellence
Vineland, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What you would expect at a new property that appears to be managed well.”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Last stay was August 17th, when my wife and I were in town to visit friends. Overall,very good experience. Helpful and quick check in. Nice selection of breakfast foods. Only gripe is paper thin walls between rooms with, apparently, no sound proofing. Around 3 AM, person in next room was having a phone conversation and most of it was distrubingly audible.

The Holiday Inn Express and this hotel are the best in the area, with The Hampton being my favorite. Vey clean and confortable beds.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob46890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    142
    33
    19
    4
See reviews for
221
153
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

What more can I say that hasn't already been said about this Hampton Inn? The hotel is wonderful and is exactly what you'd expect from a Hampton. Breakfast was also a delight and I enjoyed having the option between a quick bagel and milk or a waffle, eggs, and bacon in the morning. The property is also in a good location that's near a shopping center and downtown Elkins, but it's also only an hour drive from Seneca Rocks and other gorgeous attractions in the West Virginia hills, which makes it a great headquarters for a West Virginia staycation. On this particular trip, I stayed at the Hampton on business but plan on visiting Seneca and Spruce Knob this fall and will be returning to this hotel for a personal stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarapricex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Lovely new hotel. Location is a bit odd in that it's set well back from the main road. It would be a good walk to anything else. Large bathroom. Nice size room. Very comfy bed. Good assortment of breakfast foods.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LastMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I love the consistency of Hampton Inns. I was greeted as a Hilton Honors member by a cheerful front desk person. I was offered some fresh baked cookies at check in.

The room was as advertised. Clean room with micro and fridge. Flat screen and a comfy bed. Bathroom was spotless.

The hotel sat high on a hill with a view of the mountains around town. Nice pool and spa. Breakfast was hot and tasty but no oatmeal.

Good place to stay if visiting the Cass Scenic RR or the Durbin and Greenbriar RR right downtown.

It's my second stay here and I would choose it again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choochoo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great for overnight or long term stay.
Shutttle bus to downtown areas.
Rooms were large, very clean and beds were comfy.
The AC unit over head did blow down onto the beds and we had to keep it on low. Bathroom light switch also turned on fan which was VERY LOUD and could not be turned off until light was turned off....somewhat annoying.

Room Tip: Rooms were spacious and very clean. Beds were comfy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmt8479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My husband & I live in Elkins and we stayed at the Hampton Inn for our One Year Anniversary as a way to celebrate. We booked a room with a king sized bed & we requested a room with a view overlooking the mountains as opposed to the parking lot.

The hotel was completely full, however we were very well taken care of I wouldn't have known if it wasn't for being filled in on that! We were given a room on the very top floor towards the end of the hallway away from all the groups of people and it was fantastic. The only noise I heard early in the morning was someone knocking on one of the neighbor's door saying it was time to get up. Nothing out of the ordinary when people travel in groups to hotels and they have things scheduled to do. Been there!

The room was very large! The bathroom even bigger! I swear that shower could fit 4 people! Also, very hot water and good water pressure! Lots of counter space around the sink for beauty supplies. The fridge and microwave worked very well, as did the tv and FREE internet! We didn't try out the breakfast, so I cannot comment on that. However there were a ton of tables and chairs so its looked as though seating wouldn't be an issue.

We did check out the indoor pool. It was refreshing! It isn't a very big pool, but it goes 3ft to 5ft and we were the only two in it at the time, so really no complaints! The whirlpool was excellent! Although, if you are around 5'4" or less, it may not be that enjoyable. I noticed while i was sitting in it, that if i were any shorter, the water would be higher than my neck and with the jets on, it's not very relaxing. There are steps going into it though that you could sit on and still enjoy. Overall, a great stay! Best hotel my husband & I have ever stayed at!

Recommendations:
Breakfast: Mama's Kitchen in Beverly
Dinner: 1863 Tavern in Elkins across from the Davis Memorial Hospital (Very yummy steak dinner as well as cinnamon rolls! We spent a little over $75 for the two of us and that included a $20 bottle of champagne. Plus it was for a 4 course meal!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cudd8622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed here vacationing with my in-laws. I would definitely tell people to stay here if passing through Elkins. The staff was very courteous during our visit. The indoor pool is a little small but very clean. The only complaint I have about this hotel is the road leading to the hotel. Watch out for the potholes. When staying at this hotel, request a room overlooking the valley. The hotel is on a hill and the view is hice. The other side of the hotel overlooks a grass mound.

Room Tip: When booking a room, request a room overlooking the valley. The hotel is on a hill and the view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saturndriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkins
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
2.6 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
277 reviews
22.1 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
24.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
#2 of 7 in Buckhannon
294 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iron Road Inn
Iron Road Inn
#5 of 8 in Elkins
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Elkins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Elkins

Property: Hampton Inn Elkins
Address: 480 Plantation Dr, Elkins, WV 26241-8402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Elkins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Elkins is comfortably located in the heart of West Virginia, overlooking the Tygart River Valley. Minutes away from beautiful scenic mountain views, shopping, dining and more, and within five miles of large local corporations, the Hampton Inn Elkins is perfect for both pleasure and business travel. As the day winds down, enjoy complimentary internet access and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. In the morning, enjoy a free hot breakfast complete with waffles, hearty oatmeal and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Elkins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Elkins Hotel Elkins
Elkins Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing