We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Elkins”
Review of Hampton Inn Elkins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Elkins
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Certificate of Excellence
West Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Elkins”
Reviewed March 18, 2011

I spent two nights at the Hampton Inn in Elkins. The continental breakfast was excellent, with lots of options. I really appreciated the microwave and mini-fridge in the hotel room. The pool and hot tub area was very nice and well-maintained.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    140
    33
    18
    4
See reviews for
221
150
30
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntigntown
Level Contributor
154 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2010

This is a new Hampton and is as nice as any I have stayed in from Maryland to California. In fact it is one of the best I have stayed in. While there I had the pleasure of eating at the unique Schnitzel Haus Tyrol in Dailey which is a few miles south of the motel. I have never had better German food here in the states. It is as good as any place in Germany that I have eaten. The place is spotless and the service is top rate. You will feel more like a guest than a customer. The owner JR is there all the time so it is very well run. He makes sure that your every request is taken care of. This is a unique one of a kind experience. You will never forget your dining experience there

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry-retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We've stayed at many Hampton Inns, but never one this noisy. We stayed two nights and each night we couldn't get to sleep until 12:30 a.m. because of the noise. We could hear people walking/stomping on the floor above and doors banging on our floor. The noise started up again at 6:00 a.m. This hotel definitely needs some sound proofing! Also, the hotel is located on a hill and not within walking distance of anything. On the plus side, the hotel was clean, neat, and the breakfasts good. This is not the place to stay if you need a good and long night's rest.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovingthemountains2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Ohio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Stayed there one night. When I arrived I was blown away by the location. It sits up on the mountain side and the view is breath taking. It is a newer hotel so it is still very clean. It has a tiny pool and a small work out area. I had asked for a quiet room as I knew I would be driving long hours. I got put next to the elevator. The walls must be made of paper mache, as the room next to me blared the tv until midnight and then talked loudly for the next half hour. Finally, quiet at 12:30 I was awakened at 5:40 and never got back to due to the loud bell on the elevator which was coming and going constantly. When I told the staff of my displeasure with my stay I was met by Ms Customer NO service, who I swear was a bobble head doll. When I told her how bad my stay was (since she never asked how my stay was) all she did was giggle and bob her head and said she would tell someone (yeah, right) So if you don't mind losing sleep, it is a beautiful location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel4CEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed in Elkins at the end of a long journey to West Virginia. We were welcomed with the usual Hampton friendliness (and cookies!) and spent a very comfortable night here. Good value, too.
Downtown Elkins appeared to be closed by 7pm, but there are plenty of the usual mall options (including Applebees, which we used) close by.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Pricy for my budget, but a Very Nice hotel. Great breakfast (hot food), quiet room. Hotel was booked full but never felt crowded. Front desk staff very friendly and always greeted us. Be sure to get a room on the west side so you have a good view of the valley. Not much room to park a pick-up and trailer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meridian_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Hotel was clean and well maintained. Rooms were nice and comfortable. Breakfast was average for Hampton Inn. We always stay at Hampton Inn's when traveling and this was what you expect. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billiejean0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkins
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
2.6 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
274 reviews
22.1 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
24.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
#2 of 7 in Buckhannon
288 reviews
21.9 mi away
Bicentennial Inn, Home of 88 Restaurant and Lounge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Elkins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Elkins

Property: Hampton Inn Elkins
Address: 480 Plantation Dr, Elkins, WV 26241-8402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Elkins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Elkins is comfortably located in the heart of West Virginia, overlooking the Tygart River Valley. Minutes away from beautiful scenic mountain views, shopping, dining and more, and within five miles of large local corporations, the Hampton Inn Elkins is perfect for both pleasure and business travel. As the day winds down, enjoy complimentary internet access and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. In the morning, enjoy a free hot breakfast complete with waffles, hearty oatmeal and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Elkins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Elkins Hotel Elkins
Elkins Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing