We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great prices but meat overcooked”
Review of El Gran Sabor

El Gran Sabor
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Elkins
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Venezuelan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great prices but meat overcooked”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The ambience is fantastic, but I expected so much more out of this local favorite. I ordered meet 'medium' and it was very well done. Order 'medium rare' or even 'rare' if you'd like a juicier cook to your steak. The food was unique and the prices were fantastic. $2.50 for a margarita!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveLER3919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    38
    14
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Venzuelan food”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Interesting that the only restaurant where I've had Venezuelan food is in the charming, small town of Elkins, WV. Rob, a musician and his wife, Derdlim, who own the restaurant were around chatting to the guests and providing a warm, personal touch. We ordered the food as a group, intent on sharing and trying the different dishes and had a variety Cachapa (sweet corn bread, rice & meat), Hueveos (rice with eggs & chorizo), Arepa, Tostones (fried plantains), yuca, etc. The food was delicious and I would definitely recommend this place for a great meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramdas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Since we were going to travel through Elkins on our way to Virginia, I had checked on Trip Advisor for a place to eat. We enjoy ethnic cuisine so it was a pleasant surprise to discover this place. I am pleased to say that our expectations were met. My wife had the blackened tilapia tacos and I had the shrimp filled quesadillas. Both were very good. The side dishes (rice, black beans and yuca) had an interesting flavor. All around great place to eat!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great food. First time had Venezuelan food here and it was a great experience! I had extended family over from overseas and they loved it as well!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Have never had Venezuelan food before, and didn't expect to have it in Elkins, WV. Neat atmosphere, service was very good, and the food was great. Value was even better. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Gran Sabor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing