We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunbar
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We did a last minute trip to visit friends and did not want to have to pay a high price to rest our head. So Super 8 seemed like the place to be. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the room. Lobby leaves a lot to be desired but rooms were a surprise. Clean and comfortable. I saw review taht they were talking about fridge and microwave but I did not get one. But it was nice to be located with a grocery store and family dollar right in parking lot. There is also a McDonald's and Wendy in walking distance. Free Breakfast was kind of a joke. Oh and bring your own pillows. The pillows they provided were a joke. Two pillows only and they were flat.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the second or third floor. Parking lot is a little busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiggsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased to hear your stay was satisfactory. It depends upon which room you booked, whether or not it has a fridge. The queen rooms and a select few of the double bed room do not have a fridge or microwave.

I've passed along the feedback about the pillows to our executive managers. The pillows are a Super 8 standard and supposed to hold their form better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 466 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed recently at this Super 8 on our way to Florida. We were very impressed with the cleanliness and great overall customer service that was provided here. Our only expectation was a clean, quiet environment to rest without any extras and this was just the place. The location was safe and convient. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NurseMarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. We work hard to make sure each visit is Simply Super!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were on our way to a Ruritan Convention and this was a very convenient stop. Restaurants close by and we felt safe in the area. The room was clean and spacious. Thanks for a good quiet nights rest right off the interstate.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank CAROLE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank JESSE C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
5.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston
12.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane
9.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, WV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
597 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area

Address: 911 Dunbar Ave, Dunbar, WV 25064-3126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Dunbar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dunbar
Price Range: $65 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our newly renovated Super 8 Dunbar / Charleston Area hotel, conveniently located off Interstate 64 near Mardi Gras Casino & Resort. Our completely non-smoking hotel in Dunbar offers easy access to Charleston-area attractions as well as amenities like free parking for your truck, bus or RV. Sleep well on brand new bedding and pillow-top mattresses in your newly renovated guest room, and start your day off right with free SuperStart continental breakfast. Check on local events or catch up on work with free Wi-Fi, available throughout our pet-friendly Dunbar hotel. We offer guest laundry facilities for your convenience, as well as handicapped-accessible rooms. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Hotel Dunbar
Super Eight Dunbar
Dunbar Super Eight
Dunbar Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing