We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Mountain Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
Martinsburg, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Mountain Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent two days hiking trails going to scenic overlooks, and viewing the famous Blackwater Falls. The fall colors were awesome but the falls and overlooks would be good anytime of the year. There are many areas to stop as you walk and enjoy the scenery. When the weather is right the sunrise and sunsets are unbelievable.
This is a good place for a getaway from the stress of the city. Lots of places to explore nearby for arts and crafts as well as the scenery. this is also a family friendly location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    61
    39
    7
    3
See reviews for
52
71
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
196 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This would make a great place for a group outing. We have been here a couple of times and enjoyed both stays. Room is comfortable. Plenty of places to roam around. We actually saw a bear and deer on the premises. Check the wildlife sighting clipboard at the front desk. Lots of pictures were taken this trip. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub but they have covered the jets so the hot tub is just that, a hot tub. Exercise room is nice too. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsazimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

From the day we checked in everyone was great. The view was beautiful. The waitresses at their restaurant were sooo friendly. Most of the food was good and the coffee was great:) only problem we had was we got a room with two double beds, thank god there were two cause they were more like super singles, we each slept in separate beds:) So be sure to get the queen size unless you like to sleep alone. The small towns nearby were full of things to look at, a few places to eat and people were really friendly. Yes we would definitely go back. Blackwater Falls was beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jnee49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, MD
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have been visiting Blackwater since I was a kid. Location does not get any better. Yes, the lodge is dated and has limited amenities. If you want an upscale hotel, find a big city. The cabins are great; quiet, secluded and comfortably rustic. Davis is interesting, Thomas is funky, hip and fun. Great old WV boomtowns. Dine in town, lodge restaurant food is ordinary, mostly frozen entrees due to low volume. Great outdoor recreation and fantastic escape from static of daily life.

Room Tip: In lodge, canyon side is a must. Any cabin is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The lodge is tucked away in the woods with an overlook of the canyon / Blackwater river. Amazing view! It was my first time staying at a State Park and Lodge, and I would do it again. The price for a weekend was more than affordable. Though the lodge is a little stuck in the 70's, it had great appeal. The staff was incredibily nice, and dinning area was clean. We never had a bad meal and it was well priced. By the way, I highly recommend getting their offered "box lunch". It was a lot of food for the price, and after hiking 6 miles it was just perfect. Their gift shop is cute and offers a great selection.

Regarding the rooms, it is a typical hotel room. The only noticable upgrade is the flat screen. Other than that, all you really need is a comfortable bed and running water. It was just enouch for us and we had no problem with air/comfort or anything else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reeni01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orwell, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We went to Blackwater Falls State Park on the spur of the moment. We stopped at the lodge to get a map of the state park to hike. It just so happened they had rooms available. The rooms could use some updating, but they were clean and comfy! Everyone was suer nice. The breakfast buffet was very good! We will go back for sure! The only true complaint would be the fact that the hot tub jets did not work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamsbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Clean, Clean, Clean...We booked at the last minute for Labor Day Weekend only a couple of rooms were available, so I selected the King Suite with the balcony on the Canyon Side. Turns out it is the only room like that. It was more money so I was hesitant because I couldn't find any pics, but because of the balcony I went for it. It is on the west side of the building on the Canyon Side. Other reviews mention the view being overgrown with Pine Trees and such....very true. But the King Suite has the best view. Got to watch the sunsets from the Balcony while enjoying some adult beverages. (You have to bring your own). The suite is two rooms, good size, one bedroom with a living room. Small Frig provided. Could have used a microwave. 2 flat screen TV's one in each room. The windows actually opened with screens in them, we did not need AC the breeze was wonderful and fresh. Pics provided. Staff was very friendly. Labor Day, check out day, right about wake up time The main hot water line burst above the hallway on the second floor where all the rooms are. So water had to be turned off. The staff offered Cabins for taking showers if needed. We just happen to get up early and had already taken care of that and was eating breakfast in the Restrauant when that happened. The staffs response to the situation could not have been better. They made the best of the situation. Kudos to the staff. The restrauant....we were there 4 times, 2 breakfast and 2 dinners, 2 of the 4 times were very good. 2 were bad, Holiday weekend, wait staff was worn out. :) If you get the Hot Fudge Sundae in a waffle bowl, be prepared it is for two people. The look on my face when they brought it out had everyone laughing, it was embarrasiing that I was going to eat it all by myself. The location is very remote so not a lot of traffic even on the Holiday weekend. Its a get back to nature kind of place. You will know you have gotten away (far away) from the hustle of city life. Very relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davis
6.1 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
22.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
22.8 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#1 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#2 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
5.0 mi away
Windwood Fly-in Resort
4.9 mi away
Canaan Village Inn
Canaan Village Inn
#1 of 6 in Davis
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge

Property: Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
Address: Blackwater Falls State Park, Davis, WV 26260
Location: United States > West Virginia > Davis
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwater Falls State Park Hotel Davis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing