We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in a lodge room with a queen bed and twin: plenty of room. Very clean and beds comfortable. Good temperature control in the room. Ice and vending machines available. Nice warm indoor pool and hot tub. Beautiful location. Wonderful dinner at the lodge, very reasonably priced. Pot roast, steamed veggies and great red skin mashed potatoes. Wonderful service. Everyone was very polite and we had a wonderful weekend. We walked to the trail down to the waterfalls and it is a beautiful park. We saw lots of deers and bear tracks on one of the trails so be careful. I would definately recommend although the only negative was the walls are thin and you are able to hear every door slam so that ear plugs are needed if you are a lite sleeper.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroadagain33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 208 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in one of the new 4 bedroom cabins that were built a couple of years ago. This is not roughing it! It is fully loaded with all the comforts of home - fully equipped kitchen including a dishwasher and microwave - a gas log fireplace (which we did not need in July) - HD Satellite TV - and free WIFI.
It is nicely paneled with hardwood floors. They provide fresh towels every other day. You have use of the indoor pool at the lodge. The park is beautiful and well maintained. Very clean. The main attraction - The Blackwater Falls are beautiful. There are several trails to view the falls. There is one that is very short and handicap accessible. There is also a longer steep trail for the more adventurous visitors.
The staff at the lodge was very friendly and helpful with suggestions. This is a great get away trip so you can just relax and enjoy nature.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DeeDee003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

First off, I understand that this is a state park lodge and funds are increasingly being cut for anything at all, let alone updating the lodge rooms. The room we stayed in was on the second floor, and we chose a park view, overlooking the parking lot, rather than paying more for the canyon view. From what I could see, the trees would pretty much block a good view of the canyon, so I can't see spending the extra bucks for a canyon view.

Our room had a queen bed, which was quite comfortable, but the room lacked an easy chair. There were two desk chairs, and several tables, and they were fine. We watched the TV from the bed, which was fine. The room did have a large flat screen TV mounted on the wall, which was very nice. It got many channels, both regular and cable...didn't include MSNBC, which I would have liked.

The bathroom was small, but serviceable, and everything in the bathroom and the room was very clean...cudos to the housekeeping staff. As for all the staff, everyone was very friendly and accommodating.

My biggest problem involved security. The room had an old style key, not an updated keycard. Also, there was no deadbolt, and/or security latch. I've become used to the added security entry to rooms in hotels, and just had to hope for the best here. I guess I could have upended a chair under the door knob...

For the price, the room was decently comfortable, and the park is well worth visiting.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying more for a canyon view. Trees obscure any view in most places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Libralady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We just had our family reunion at the state park and I by far recommend the cabins!! They were fantastic and appear to be practically brand new. The sight does not do itself justice at all. The cabins are large and very well equipped. We were able to fit three families, grandma and that includes seven children all comfortably in one cabin. Absolutely the best overall deal. The price originally seems daunting but after you consider the size of the kitchen and being able to prepare all your own meals the cost balances out. Fantastic overall and the scenery is breath taking. If you are on the fence you need to go you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe cabins. Also dont miss out seeing all three falls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly912012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a great place.....wish our state parks had lodges....wonderful place to stay, great views of the canyon and then going to the Falls.......good time.....wish we could have spent more time there to enjoy everything....very nice area....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debrawmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have stayed here several times because of its location. The views are magnificent and the grounds well kept. The staff is terrific. The restaurant offers basic meals(9 selections for dinner), all come from the freezer. I had a violent reaction after the meal with all the symptoms of food poisoning. The lodge needs to update the rooms.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
6  Thank Robear46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We just returned from Blackwater Falls Lodge, a wonderful spot for a state park and a lodge. Trouble is, the building needs some serious updates, though it was comfortable and the staff was friendly. I give the lodge a "very good" rating because of the great location, the good amenities, and the existence of a restaurant that is good, but not great.

My wife and I love this WV State Park. The canyon, falls, trails, and scenery are beyond ordinary. The Lodge could use some room updates, sure. If West Virginia is like Pennsylvania and every other state, their environmental budgets are hacked down to a very low level by recent economic problems in each state. I always choose a lodging site for the location unless the choice is simply horrible. Blackwater Falls Lodge is not horrible. Another choice in the park is a 2 or 4-bedroom cabin, or campsite.

We had a couple of very good omelet breakfasts at the Lodge dining room, for a reasonable price. For interesting trails, check out the lindy Point Trail, and the Pendleton overlook. And don't forget the falls. Take the 214 steps down to the base of the falls from the Trading Post.

Room Tip: Choose a canyon-view room on the second floor on the west side of the lodge, away from the HVAV unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davis
6.1 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
2.4 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
60 reviews
22.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#2 of 8 in Elkins
585 reviews
5 mi away
Canaan Village Inn
Canaan Village Inn
#3 of 7 in Davis
87 reviews
18.9 mi away
North Fork Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge

Address: Blackwater Falls State Park, Davis, WV 26260
Location: United States > West Virginia > Davis
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Davis
Price Range: $107 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge is a mountain lodge located in historic Blackwater Falls State Park, named for the breathtaking waterfalls that plunge five stories and tumble through an eight-mile long gorge in West Virginia. Blackwater lodge, cabins and restaurant are open year-round. Each of the 54 guest rooms comes equipped with a private bath, phone and television. The lodge also features a game room, sitting room with a cozy fireplace and indoor swimming pool. Cozy cabin rentals are also available. The onsite Harr Conference Center can accommodate meetings and special events, up to 200 people. Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge is a relaxing retreat in a mountain setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwater Falls State Park Hotel Davis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing