We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Canaan Valley Resort(Davis)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Elkins(Elkins)(Great Value!)
$117
$98
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oakland Motel(Oakland)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
73
79
46
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
79
46
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblackwater falls state parkwest virginiahiking trailsplay gameshot tubexercise roomsledding hillbreakfast buffetparking lot viewboard gamesenjoy the scenerybeautiful parkfresh towelscross country skiingdeluxe cabinindoor pooljigsaw puzzle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 212 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The Lodge at Blackwater Falls is a throwback to earlier times. It is a lovely place which is well-maintained and very clean. The rooms are smallish, but nice. The staff is helpful and friendly. There is a restaurant on-site which we patronized twice for breakfast and it was quite good. The Falls are the big attraction, and there are also many hiking trails. The scenery is magnificent. We stayed three nights and did not want to leave when it was time to check out. The Lodge rooms do not have refrigerators, microwaves nor hairdryers, but there is a beautiful indoor pool and a well equipped and modern fitness room adjacent to the pool. The lovely, if old fashioned, guest lobby has a fireplace, comfortable seating areas and tables which we saw being used for jigsaw puzzles and people playing cards or board games. The outdoor area behind the Lodge has tables and chairs and an overlook platform for viewing the forested gorge above the Falls. The whole feel of the place is out of time and a breath of fresh air for anyone seeking a respite from the usual routine. Bring your good hiking boots, books, a deck of cards and your favorite board game and get ready for time to slow down.

Reservations are easily made on-line. Room rates are very reasonable. The only discount honored is a senior citizen rate of 10% off rooms for guests aged 60 and over and will be deducted from your bill at check-in. West Virginia's state park system is a treasure. A visit to their website shows that there are several parks with lodges and/or cabin options. We would not hesitate to try any one of them. Thank you, West Virginia!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Strive49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This is our second trip to Blackwater Falls. The cabin was once again, as clean as a whistle. Of all the trails we hiked, we only came across two families. A very quiet time of the year for visitors to the park.
The scenery was unforgettable! Such beauty!! And of course the scenery is the reason we chose to visit the park again.
We ate 2 dinners at Sirriannis (sp),in Thomas which were very good. A campy sort of place. Two breakfasts at The Flying Pig in Thomas which were very good as well. Dinner at the lodge was forgettable. Overall, we were so pleased and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sofia19771982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We just spent three days and two nights at the Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge, located near Davis, W. Va. The lodge is probably vintage 1960's or earlier and they have added a new indoor pool, exercise room, and spa as well as conference facilities but the main lobby, restaurant, and rooms are definitely dated (old fixtures, rugs, tubs, etc.). That being said, the room was comfortable and clean. The lodge sits on a beautiful bluff overlooking the gorge but could use some work also (better chairs, maybe some flowers?? The park has a lot to offer but it didn't seem that it's qualities were being presented very well, e.g. the various gorge trails, lindy point, the falls itself, no one seemed to be very interested in telling us where these things were, how to get around, places to eat (other than the lodge), all in all, somewhat disappointing for our first visit to BWSP. Restaurants are few and far between in the closeby towns of Davis and Thomas, did enjoy Sarianni's in Davis for our second night in the area.

Room Tip: most of the gorge facing rooms are obscured by large trees (cannot really see the gorge)
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Rustic lodge that could use some updating of furnishings, but staff were very pleasant and helpful. We go a last minute reservation in a room with a view -- after plans to camp a second night were changed due to heavy rain and humidity. Note the temps were 20 degrees warmer over the weekend when most of East coast was suffering under 100 degree plus temps. Property has small pool, hot tub, game room, large lounge with flat screen TV, restaurant (which we didn't try as buffet looked ordinary in favor of local place in Davis), and free internet -- which worked outside as we were enjoying wonderful mountain views in lawn chairs and listening to sounds of the water falls. There's also a small fitness center but as we were bicycling and enjoying the outdoors, no need for it on our part.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdytogo_always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The lodge is typical of those in state parks. Don't expect elegance, and the place needs a facelift but it is nice for a park locale. Trails are very convenient to the lodge, and the park is great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LiketoeatCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews