We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Lodging in Davis WV”
Review of Bright Morning Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Davis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bright Morning Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Davis B&B and Inns
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite Lodging in Davis WV”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We love to get away to Davis WV for some XC skiing at White Grass and the state parks. The Bright Morning Inn is our first choice for lodging. The rooms are comfortable, you sleep like a log and breakfasts are fantastic; our favorite is Kimmy's Special. Plus, it is a very short walk to other favorite restaurants in town. We stayed during the recent 'arctic vortex' :) and still had a great time being inside all day! Susan, the innkeeper, has a wealth of information on where to go skiing, hiking, biking, whatever.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    32
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
63
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a weekend as sort of a late Christmas gift to each other. When we arrived the innkeeper was not present, but our keys were placed in an envelope with our names on it outside the door of the inn. Our room was small, but quite nice. There aren't TVs in the rooms, only in the lobby, but there is free WiFi so you can still watch things on your tablet, computer, etc. Each guest room has it's own bathroom, so there is no lack in privacy. Breakfast is included in your stay in their restaurant in the downstairs of the inn. The first day I had eggs, home fries, bacon, and toast and it was amazing. The next day I had biscuits and gravy - also amazing.

The only complaint I had was that it was a little warm in our room the second night. It was about 25 outside, but there is no way to control the heat in your rooms, so we had to crack the window a little.

Overall this place is great, right in the middle of town, next door to two really nice lunch/dinner restaurants. It's also about 10 miles to the ski resorts and three miles from the neighboring town of Thomas.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonshaven
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were extremely late in booking a room. Bright Morning Inn had been recommended by a local. The Innkeeper was extremely helpful in getting my family and our dogs situated. We had a glorious stay. The breakfast was superior and included in the price of the rooms. The rooms were very comfortable and extremely clean. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammystelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Bright Morning Inn was a super choice while enjoying the autumn colors of Dolly Sods, Blackwater Falls, and surrounding areas. Our room was charming and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was generous and tasty. Our host, Susan, was very helpful with tips on what to see and do.

The common area is a great spot for after-dinner relaxation. It's filled with books on local history, flora, and fauna. Games and game tables are popular. There's even a toybox for the little ones. And of course, a TV to catch the weather report and football scores.

We'll be back. There's so much to see and do in this gorgeous mountain area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatRen40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level 6 Contributor
675 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My view of the pluses and minuses of the Bright Morning Inn, as compared to a mid-level hotel:

Pluses - (1) the breakfast is the biggest plus, with a good quality breakfast restaurant serving a nice breakfast at no extra charge - I got hot chocolate, blueberry-walnut-banana pancakes with maple syrup and 3 eggs for no extra charge - compared to hotel breakfasts that are usually horrible; (2) location: the two best food places in town are across the street (Hellbenders Burritos) and a building or two away (Sirianni's Cafe), and Blackwater Falls State Park is just a couple of miles away; and (3) nice glycerin soap and plenty of towels are provided. We talked to a guest who had stayed in another nearby town several years in a row, but always drove to Davis because the restaurants were better - they decided to stay here to be near the good food.

Minuses - (1) The rooms are up a fairly steep set of stairs; (2) the proprietor is not on-site and not readily available to deal with questions; (3) the heat can't be regulated in the room - I got warm during the night, but didn't want to open a window to let in the mid-20 degree cold; (4) no television in the room - although one is available in the downstairs lobby, as are board games.

Overall I give it a four, mainly because of the great breakfast and location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is not a place where you will walk in based on the outside, but is a gem. We had a nice clean room with shower and WC.
The included breakfast was very good alacarte, the blueberry pancakes was out of this world

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danishguy2620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Spent a lovely evening at Bright Morning. A charming and cozy stop on our way to southern WV. The rooms are comfortable, clean and full of individual character. And, the breakfast which is included in the stay was awesome, prepared to order from and extensive menu. Not your cold and rubbery typical "free" hotel breakfast. What a treat. And, innkeeper/owner Sue is a delight as well. Highly recommend a visit if you are anywhere near Davis.

Room Tip: Many types of rooms are available to suit about any need. Check out the web for a full selection
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beefdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davis
7.3 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
0.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
53 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Canaan Village Inn
Canaan Village Inn
#1 of 7 in Davis
81 reviews
5.9 mi away
Windwood Fly-in Resort
19.0 mi away
North Fork Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bright Morning Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Morning Inn

Property: Bright Morning Inn
Address: PO Box 576, Davis, WV 26260-0576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Davis
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic country inn in Downtown Davis was once a lumberjack boardinghouse. All rooms with private bath. Near shops, restaurants and trails. Full breakfast include. Kid and pet friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing