We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always nice.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windwood Fly-in Resort

Windwood Fly-in Resort
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windwood Fly-in Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Davis B&B and Inns
Stockport, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always nice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Nice rooms. Clean. Reasonable. Folks there always friendly. Close to ski areas. Beats the larger, more expensive lodging in the area. We stay in the hotel part. Got there by accident several years back, but never stay anywhere else when in Canaan Valley. Breakfasts are very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently stayed in the lodge during a visit to the area. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The building is a little older, but kept very clean. It's a very pretty area and very quiet. I stepped out onto the deck in the pre-dawn hours and the view of the stars in the night sky was amazing.
The on site restaurant Amelia's was a nice spot. Home cooked meals and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SneakersGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We flew in in our small airplane for a one-night getaway. Cheryl, from the Windwood Fly In Resort met us at the airplane and drove us to the Hotel. The rooms are inexpensive, relatively large and clean. Yes, it is an older facility. They have a couple of older cars available for rent, and priced accordingly. We rented one and toured the local area including the Blackwater State Park. The restaurant (Amelia's) was excellent and appears to be well supported by the locals.

The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our short visit.

We were initially apprehensive because of the negative review posted on July 7. While it is probably correct, it does not apply to the resort hotel and restaurant. I believe several of the houses and cabins in the area are rented through local real estate agents, not the resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJinANP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We are staying in Little bear 1B in Windwood resort. I just want to say how bad this unit is. To me it is NON rent-able. The outside furniture is broken up and rotted. The decking is splintered and has nails sticking up though it. There is a huge hornets nest by the front door which they told us they would take care of but never did. We have been stung, stepped on nails and my wife cut open her hand on the stove handle which is also broken. There are no outside lights that work, the fridge does not get cold and has no light. The hot tub has jets that are broken and again, they said they would send someone out but didn't. The information pack said that we would have use of the arcade and weight room, but were told once we got here that we couldn't. The window in one of the room doesn't close and the rain just poured right in. There was food crusted on the table, counters and drawers. We took out the hide a bed in the couch to find that it was all busted up and unusable. This unit should have never been rented out to anyone.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_D894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Davis hotels

Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have stayed at Windwood multiple times. Its small and cozy. Clean rooms that are larger than most hotel rooms. Its nice to sit outside on the porch in the evenings. Centrally located in the valley. Hotel staff are so friendly and helpful. Food at Amelia's has always been good and reasonably priced. The homemade desserts are the best and the cinnamon rolls!! This is about the only place we stay in Canaan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pagesphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This past weekend was a disaster. We got sick on the restaurant's fried food Friday night; we had no hot water Friday night and Saturday morning and the management did not inform of this and finally offered accommodation after I complained; they took me to another part of the building for a hot shower and there were no towels or soap in this other shower; there was loss of wireless internet service on Saturday and we had work to do that was business related; very limited channels offered on the TV; the beds are uncomfortable.
Positive comments - large room, large table in the room for our laptops, restaurant right down the hall, easy access from the parking lot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

large clean rooms, great food, especially dinner, reasonably priced, great location and views, excellent staff, old rental cars available if you fly in, walking distance from the runway, the power went out in the valley one night and the view of the stars in the sky was as good as being out west in the middle of no where

Room Tip: the upper floor is quieter as the building is an older wooden structure and you can hear people abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davis
2.1 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
5.9 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
23.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
23.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#1 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canaan Village Inn
Canaan Village Inn
#1 of 7 in Davis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windwood Fly-in Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windwood Fly-in Resort

Property: Windwood Fly-in Resort
Address: Box 105 HC 70, Davis, WV 26260-9705
Location: United States > West Virginia > Davis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Windwood offers clean, spacious rooms at affordable rates. Rooms include a luxurious king-size bed or a family-friendly two-double bed room, individual heating and air conditioning units, satellite television, and a wireless high-speed internet connection. Guests at the Inn enjoy a fully-equipped game room, weight room, volleyball court and an on-site restaurant. Each room has direct access to the spacious balconies overlooking Canaan Valley including Timberline Ski Resort, Dolly Sods Wilderness Area, and the back country surrounding Blackwater Falls State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Windwood Fly-in Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windwood Fly-In Hotel Davis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing