We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“We love this place cant wait for next summer vacation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canaan Valley Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canaan Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Davis
Certificate of Excellence
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
“We love this place cant wait for next summer vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

check out there website and you can get very good deals. I love this place they have a hot tub and pool. Its a great resort for the family Indoor and out door pool.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slpjlc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    142
    80
    35
    22
See reviews for
144
164
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virgina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

Rooms are Fine nothing fancy.The facility has plenty to keep you busy,Great nature trails they are even mowed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 777Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestonsburg, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

wE VISIT THE VALLEY 5 OR 6 times a years. We have been going there for about 20 years. We go only in the winter time. We snow ski and this place can be great. Granted the lodge is pretty pitiful. It has never been updated in the rooms, the main lodge got a face lift a couple of years back. If you want a night life, this is a terrible choice. If you like good food, do what we do, go to the IGA STORE In nearby davis and load up with snacks. We do cheese and winter sausage with special crackers. The no refrigerator is a bummer. The room walls are paper thin, sleep comes only with much effort. The wake you up at 6 in the morning scrapping snow, it sounds like a tractor in the room with you. BUT IF YOU like snow, and plenty of it, this is your place. sking is great. We have been here several times and it will snow 2 or 3 ft. while we are here. Night sking is good. Be warned this may the coldest spot on the planet, or it can seem that way. Yes the room are too pricey, $150. plus during ski season. However if you like snow, this is your place. Have lunch at davis, at Sirriansi Pizza, it great. I have just this week, Oct 20, booked 6 trips for the coming ski season. If you want to ski and have a night life go to snowshoe, we tried that twice and didn't like it. Too crowded and too everything. If you have children canaan is the place for you. Yes its high, but try out west for $1500. a night. Between Canaan and Timberline ski resorts you can find good sking and very small crowds during the week. Week-ends and holidays are very crowded. during the week and have skied and not seen 40 or 50 people all day. THIS PLACE IS STRICLY WINTER TIME. post script, the lodge after all is said and done, is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billdarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

The Canaan Valley is beautiful and the location of the resort is excellent. It is also one of next to no options if you actually want to stay in the Canaan Valley and not rent a house/cabin. The price I thought was fine. I think it was $160 a night for a 2 room suite with kitchenette. The indoor pool was small but perfectly fine and the Laurel Lounge was a nice place for a drink and to watch a football game. We did not eat in the restaurant and seeing the line and wait to be seated made us glad we chose not to do so. The staff were extremely pleasant and accommodating- definitely a highlight of our stay.

Our problem was with the rooms. The first suite we had (2 full beds in one room with the adjoining room having a pull out sleeper sofa) smelled of something that was so off putting even my 3 year old immediately noticed and asked what it was. It appeared to be a combination of old cigarette smoke, mold and mildew. Really nasty. The bathtubs were covered in a coating of some kind of brown sludge. There is just no way they could have been cleaned without the cleaning person noticing, yet the towels were fresh. We called the front desk and they immediately and without any problem offered us another suite. This one smelled noticeably less bad, but still had a funky smell. The bathrooms were relatively clean, but everything is just very old, worn down, and ratty looking. None of us had a good night sleep in a room we felt was probably home to a variety of nighttime permanent residents. It was very disappointing given the great location and few options.

We will return to the Canaan Valley without question, but we will not be staying here. I do't like to write bad reviews as I feel this site and others seem to get more than their fair share posted, but people should know what they are getting with these rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VAtraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosticd, Manager at Canaan Valley Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Thank you for staying with us last month and enjoying beautiful Canaan Valley. We apologize for your experience at The Resort. We understand that even though the rooms are 30 years old we must do the very best we can to make sure they are clean and fresh. Your comments are great tools when training our staff and developing our Quality Assurance programs.

Thank you and we urge you to return and give us a chance to turn your experience around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

The Canaan Valley remains one of our favorite destinations, and the Canaan Valley Resort truly does has a lot to offer... however the lodge rooms have long since outlived their life expectancy. The only thing that has changed since our last stay/review is the price. Up of course. Still the same drabby old rooms. They probably have a decent exercise room somewhere, but you will not need it. You will get plenty of it hiking from the parking lot to your room. Have fun if raining! With the condition of the rooms and the poorly designed layout, the best bet would be to shut down a full year, bulldoze all of the lodge rooms and build new with better adjacent parking. For the dollar, this place has totally lost it's appeal. It is a shame too, because the resort itself has a lot to offer. I just can't see paying $100+/night for rooms you would find in a $30/night motel.

I doubt I will be back unless they change. If they aren't going to change, then they need to half the nightly rate to match the poor drabby condition of the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosticd, General Manager at Canaan Valley Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Thank you for staying with us during your last visit to Canaan Valley. We wanted to update you on a few things happening at the resort. We understand that the rooms are 30 years old and need special attention to keep clean and fresh. We have created Quality Assurance measures and programs in an attempt to do so. Your comments assist us in doing that and we appreciate it. We have committed to keeping our rate structure consistent and in doing that have not changed the base rate for the last couple of years and try to run as many specials as possible to give the guests staying here a great value.

I urge you to check out our web site for one of our specials. We are looking forward to having the chance to turn your experience and opinion around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

i contacted the 800 number on canaan valley resorts website.
directly under their number it states "Ask your reservations agent about rooms with special scenic views when calling".
i did just that and was told that the views were not any different between the different pricing options.
I then proceeded to reserve 2 rooms one lower priced 2 double bed room for my wife my two children and myself and one single king bed on the higher pricing level for my parents under their name.
When we arrived the reservations were flipped my parents had our room and we had theirs.
3 employees later and about an hour we finally signed off on the correct rooms and were told that all the billing would be switched.
When we left the next day nothing had been change on the reservations just our signatures.
i paid the higher rate and told my parents not to worry about it.
i would rather pay the extra 50 a night than deal with canaan's lackluster employees for another hour.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbrogden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosticd, General Manager at Canaan Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2010
We thank you for staying with us and aplogize for the inconvenience that you experienced. We constantly train our staff and will be using your review as a tool to make sure others do not run into the same problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

We figured we were getting a great deal on a room at a ski resort hotel. We were sadly mistaken. The room was very cramped, they had no options that didn't include two beds. The carpet was filthy and the bottom of the tub was lumpy. The rooms have beautiful large windows, however you never get to use them, because people are constantly walking by and looking right into your room. The beautiful scenery is wasted by constantly having to have the curtains closed. The best part of our stay was that while standing outside our room on the upper level two deers nonchalantly strolled right in front of the building, mere feet away.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princess2854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosticd, General Manager at Canaan Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2010
Thank you for your overall review of Canaan Resort State Park. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the wonderful staff and F/B. The area is absolutely beautiful so I hope that you can enjoy more of it next time you are in Tucker County.

A couple of month ago we started a Quality Assurance program that would ensure that our dated rooms would still pass the clean, warm inviting test for our guest. We continue to work on these efforts but assure any guest that wish to come to Canaan a very pleasant stay.

There is no date as of now to when the remodel will start but we plan on having rooms available through out the process. Please keep a look out on our Facebook page as there will be updates once it begins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davis
22.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#1 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
21.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
21.9 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Iron Road Inn
Iron Road Inn
#5 of 8 in Elkins
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
6.1 mi away
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
2.0 mi away
Canaan Village Inn
Canaan Village Inn
#1 of 6 in Davis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaan Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaan Valley Resort

Property: Canaan Valley Resort
Address: 230 Main Lodge Road, Davis, WV 26260
Location: United States > West Virginia > Davis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canaan Valley Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the most scenic and tranquil settings in the Mid-Atlantic, with unlimited recreation and family-focused activities, Canaan Valley Resort is a four-season mountain destination providing the perfect escape from daily life. Fifteen miles long by three miles wide, Canaan Valley is the highest mountain valley east of the Rocky Mountains, with a base elevation of 3,100 feet. Canaan Valley Resort is nestled on a plateau overlooking the valley, offering sweeping views of the surrounding peaks. Our NEW 160 guest rooms and suites are perfect for a quiet getaway. Whether you're here for work or play, we offer an amazing West Virginia vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Canaan Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaan Valley Hotel Davis
Canaan Valley Davis
Canaan Valley Resort Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing