We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place needs a total overhaul!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canaan Valley Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Canaan Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Davis
Certificate of Excellence
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This place needs a total overhaul!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

First of all, I need to express my gratitude that this place could take us when the power outages in West Virginia the week of July 4, 2012, meant we had to scramble to relocate a family reunion of 27 people. We rented two four-bedroom cottages and some rooms in the lodge. The setting was truly lovely and there was plenty to do for all ages.

HOWEVER--the public areas of the lodge seem totally neglected. The indoor swimming pool had cracked and dirty tile and beatup furniture, the dingy cinderblock bathrooms had peeling paint, I was afraid to use the weight benches in the fitness room as they looked as if they had never been cleaned. The miniature golf was really shabby--good that it was free! The rental equipment for tennis was just a joke--four old rackets and some used balls! That's a shame, as they had four lighted courts, but the surfaces were in poor condition. The golf course was one bright spot--beautiful course and great rental equipment. Just one petty but telling example of neglect--in the lodge public bathrooms, they had elongated toilets but fitted them with the smaller, plastic toilet lids. Talk about cheaping out!

The cottages were in fairly good shape compared to the lodge, but seemed expensive per night compared to other state parks we have been in. The cottages slept 12 people, but only sat 6 at the table in the kitchen, so we had to rent a table and chairs from the lodge.

The restaurant, front desk and bar staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin 21 and it was in fairly good shape compared to the lodge rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosticd, General Manager at Canaan Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We will look into your suggestions and concerns immediately.

The team at Canaan Valley Resort try very hard to deliver the best experience possible. Your suggestions will assist us in do just that.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    185
    95
    43
    24
See reviews for
227
206
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
526 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed in the Beaver lodge. I would say the room was in dire need of renovating, but I think the best thing would be to knock down the entire building and start over.

The carpet on my floor was very dirty; the bedspread coloration made it also appear grungy. There was no refrigerator or microwave. I could hear every time someone walked up the steps, as my room was on the corner. There is no elevator. There are also many steps down from the parking lot. This was a hassle with a suitcase with rolling wheels.

My view was of the parking lot, but my window had water stains between the panes so it always looked foggy outside. The walkway beside my window did nothing to promote a sense of privacy. My Verizon phone did not work unless I walked all the way to the main lodge. My A/C unit made intermittant noises that woke me up several times.

The pool was always filled with screaming children during my 3 day stay.

On the positive side, my shower worked well.

I saw the metal structures of the planned new buildings, but never saw any construction workers working on them during my stay. I would not count on these being completed any time soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Outdoorpartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosticd, General Manager at Canaan Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

The renovations are well underway and the projected Fall 2013 completion date is well in sight. We hope that you will return to enjoy the new facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

My family and I, dog and all, just returned from a weekend in the mountains of West Virginia at Canaan Velley Resort. We stayed in a two bedroom cabin. The fact that there was no TV, phone service or air conditioning made me a little bit apprehensive going into it, but I will have to say for the price of the cabin it was quite nice. My only complaint on the accomidations were the HORRIFIC beds. Trust me at one point I thought about sleeping on the floor. They were just horrible, in fact our guests bed was lopsided and our firend said that she had to hang on for dear life just to stay aboard it. The bed linens were pretty embarrasing too, but other than that we had no complaints. The indoor pool and game room was a hit with my five year old and us adults just enjoyed the peace and quiet. One thing we did observe that we felt was less than ideal was the antiquated playground. It looked like something you would have to get a tetnus shot after playing on, so we just kept driving. There is a lot of construction under way and the plans for the new hotel type rooms look pretty promising. Will we return? Yes probably, but it will be with air mattresses in tow.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1YoungMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosticd, General Manager at Canaan Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and enjoyed having you with us. We will look into the mattress issue and work to replace them for your next visit.

The cabins are rustic and believe it or not we leave the phone and tv out on purpose. These are designed to promote family time and to help escape the city noise. It is good to see you found some accomodating activities in the lodge.

For your next visit, make sure to head down to the campground and let the kids play around on the play ground there. We will look into any concerns with the playground near the cabins.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed the weekend of 5/4/12. My boyfriend and I needed a weekend away. I got an amazing deal with breakfast included for around 80 bucks a night. We loved the hiking trails and indoor pool at the resort. We tried to play miniature golf, but the course was terrible. I would not recommend paying the two dollars per person to even play. My boyfriend got an emergency call that he had to be at work on Sunday early. We talked to the front desk lady, Amy. She gladly refunded us for Saturday night. We were extremely grateful!! We loved the hospitality of everyone working at the resort. Yes, the resort is kinda outdated, but their employees make the place well worth your time. We will stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeachAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosticd, General Manager at Canaan Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our great employees do a wonderful job trying to take care of all of our guests needs. It is good to see that they are noticed and appreciated.

Also, plans for renovating the putt-putt is in the works.

We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We got a deal through Travelzoo for two nights at the lodge and ski passes for two days. We live just outside of DC and this took us about 4 hours to get to. It was very hard to find especially in the windy and snowy conditions we drove in from (and forget about reception on your phone to get GPS). The "resort" was multiple motel-style buildings. So the hot tub and restaurant and other relaxing things to do inside the main part of the resort required a 5 minute walk. This doesn't sound bad except that the high all weekend was 15. So imagine you're trying to go to the pool! Plus, you had to walk down a long set of stairs and then upstairs if your room was on the 2nd floor. Also unpleasant when it's that cold and you're in ski boots! The room was "rustic." It had what we needed and was warm so that worked. It wasn't particularly nice or unnice (had the strangest soap with a hole in the middle). The restaurant was decent, but overpriced (captive audience!) The ski slope was small. There just weren't a lot of trails and particularly few were open when we went (MLK weekend) as it had snowed so little. Given that Wisp is only 3 hours and much nicer and that there are three slopes only an hour and a half away that are probably similar, I can't see going back.

Room Tip: A building as close to the main hotel as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rtoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosticd, General Manager at Canaan Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us and are pleased to let everyone know that Canaan Valley State Park is currently under renovations. We are building new lodge rooms that will be attached to the Main lodge area. We are also renovating the ski area with new snow making, magic carpets, and trails.

We hope that you will reconsider and visit when they are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Decided to stay here over a weekend just to get away. Reserved room online with a queen bed for 79 buck, pretty cheap, soon found out Why.

Immediately after i started reading reviews about poor experiences, the lack of food or a refrigerator. I decided to call and inquire about fridge and one of the young guys who answered said they have a minifridge yo rent for $12 @ night. When i asked about microwave the kid asked what kind of room i reserved and when confirmed we would have one.

Ended up getting put in the Otter lodge or something in one of the bottom level rooms. Room is smaller than a child's bedroom with crappy tv, no wireless(only in "main" lodge). Smoke alarm was hangng out of ceiling. When we took shower in morning the massaging shower head covered the bathroom floor in water. Fun fun!

Went to dinner that was a buffet only. Food was okay but they had ham, two kinds of pasta, and some chicken. Desserts were sitting out for awhile as icing had dissolved into cake itself.

None ever asked us how our stay was, but we are quite certain that we will never go back or refer anyone to this place. Backwater lodge is nothing to write home about but it beats Canaan in lodging, views, service and value.

Hopefully someone from the "resort" will read these reviews and make changes.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosticd, General Manager at Canaan Valley Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Canaan Valley Resort. It is a valuable tool in the training process.

One of our goals is to make sure everything is fresh and crisp. We will review the deserts and buffet offerings to make sure to better achieve this goal.

We will also look into your maintenance concerns/comments immediately.

I encourage you to return for a visit if not soon after the new lodges are completed in late summer 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stay was good. The current rooms are a bit outdated. Staff is great.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peacefuladventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davis
7.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
21.9 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
21.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#1 of 8 in Elkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
2.0 mi away
Canaan Village Inn
Canaan Village Inn
#1 of 7 in Davis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
6.1 mi away
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaan Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaan Valley Resort

Property: Canaan Valley Resort
Address: 230 Main Lodge Rd, Davis, WV 26260-8088
Location: United States > West Virginia > Davis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canaan Valley Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the most scenic and tranquil settings in the Mid-Atlantic, with unlimited recreation and family-focused activities, Canaan Valley Resort is a four-season mountain destination providing the perfect escape from daily life. Fifteen miles long by three miles wide, Canaan Valley is the highest mountain valley east of the Rocky Mountains, with a base elevation of 3,100 feet. Canaan Valley Resort is nestled on a plateau overlooking the valley, offering sweeping views of the surrounding peaks. Our NEW 160 guest rooms and suites are perfect for a quiet getaway. Whether you're here for work or play, we offer an amazing West Virginia vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Canaan Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaan Valley Hotel Davis
Canaan Valley Davis
Canaan Valley Resort Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing