We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dish Cafe

The Dish Cafe
1466 Ritter Drive, Daniels, WV 25832
+1 304-763-2366
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Daniels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Dish Cafe is an eclectic culinary delight bringing unique flavor combinations and fresh ingredients to your table. We're committed to regionally grown fruits and vegetables, grass fed beef, and hormone free pork and poultry. We avoid artificial sweeteners, food dyes and genetically modified ingredients wherever possible. Our concept was created by a group of partners who wanted to offer healthy food choices to a community that's quickly discovering the health benefits of natural and whole ingredients.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Nice food and they had live music on. This was a bit of a surprise for such a small town. Unfortunately we were all too tired to stay to the end.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    16
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You wouldn't expect this quality restaurant in a strip mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Another fantastic meal ~

The Ancho Chili Seared Mahi Mahi with Mango Salsa and Red Pepper Coulis served with cherry pepper slaw and grilled asparagus.

The Mahi-mahi was perfectly prepared and the Mango Salsa and Red pepper Coulis perfectly complimented the fish ~ the cheery pepper slaw was unique ~ just the right amount of slaw and the dressing ~ I always like grilled asparagus, and this didn't let me down. The peanut butter pie was a great way to finish the dinner.

If you get near Beckley WV you have to stop here

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cowellboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional food and service in a friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The Dish Cafe in Daniels, WV has quickly become my go-to restaurant whenever I am in the Beckley vicinity. I have been there probably a half-dozen times in the past several months and I am struck by how consistent this business is: everything is always immaculately clean, the food is always fresh and flavorful, and the staff is friendly and prompt. After just a couple of visits several of the staff knew my family and I on sight and greeted us like old friends.

They will generally host live music on Saturday nights and are careful to select talented groups that reflect the family-friendly atmosphere, including both local acts and nationally-known ones. My family and I have seen some really excellent musicians perform there.

After all of those may visits I have yet to have a bad experience - it's also really cool that the management is always present and are just as friendly as the wait staff.

If you're anywhere near Beckley get to The Dish Cafe - the quality of food and service is simply outstanding!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food & People at The Dish!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a awesome place to go for lunch, dinner, appetizers & drinks!! Every meal is great , on the weekend live music. All around a total enjoyable time. We go there with our kids and also just the 2 of us. No matter what size the party, you will have a great time & meal at The Dish!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniels, West Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a popular cafe with locals. Health conscious folks find the menu very appealing. Service is great. It might not be the place for a family with young fussy eaters.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dish Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Dish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing