We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not so great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Glade Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Resort at Glade Springs
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not so great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Bad food. Came out of kitchen cold every time and all fried. Nothing light and fresh to choose from. Ok rooms. Bed comforter and robes were dirty. "Leisure center" is old and tired and a mile from the rooms. The pools both need upgrades. Ok to bring small children to. Not much else for everyone else to enjoy. Did not have time to try the spa. Went fishing instead. Did not golf. Buffet Breakfast was terrible. Overall not upscale at all but otherwise ok is best we can say.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smokeyrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Smokeyrama,
Thank you for visiting us and sharing the valuable feedback. We are sorry to see that we failed to provide you with outstanding food service. We have a large variety of menu options among our four restaurants from entrées and hot or cold sandwiches, to burgers and fresh made salads. We are making several updates to our Leisure Center in the upcoming months; to start, this month we are refinishing our indoor basketball court. Our Leisure Center is indeed about one mile from the rooms and our shuttle drivers are eager to take guests to and from this area or anywhere else on the property. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you better on a future visit and that you will have the opportunity to experience our updates. Thank you again for staying with us; we hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    340
    121
    62
    41
See reviews for
444
308
24
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Our overall experience was very good. The property is beautiful especially if you're a golfer. It is great if you want to get away for a refreshment rest and relaxation even if you're not a golfer. The prices in the restaurant for a little high but that can be expected at this type of location. The staff is very responsive if you point out a problem or an issue with your room or your experience. A positive about the rooms at least in the executive suites is that you have room darkening curtains and excellent feature. The property in the rooms are very clean and the quality of the food is very good especially at bunkers the bar and Grill. One employee Chris Patterson stands out in particular. He is very customer oriented very responsive and just great with customer relations. He went out of his way to provide additional information and ideas whether it be local churches or attractions to see.

Room Tip: If you're staying at the executive suites prepare to walk a good distance if your room faces awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Larry B,
Thank you for the kind review! We are quite pleased to see that our staff was responsive to your needs and that you found good quality in our food. It is always nice to see when our staff go above and beyond for our guests; we will certainly share these accolades with Chris! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I was here for a work conference, and while our conference room was one of the smaller ones, we still were able to get out and move around during our breaks or other activities. I stayed in the executive suites which were nice (a little dated) and had plenty of space for one or two people, for sure. The breakfast was good with a nice variety of foods. All the staff were very helpful and courteous. We ate dinner at the Glade Grill one evening and the chef and waitstaff were wonderful! There are paved walking paths and I walked from my suite to the restaurants to the lodges with no issue.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Sarah G,
We are happy that you stayed with us during the conference and that you found our resort to be very nice. It is great to see that all of our staff, including our chef and wait staff were helpful and wonderful! We will certainly share these accolades with them. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Nice time had by all in our group. Everyone we had contact with was friendly. Food was pricy but still good. It was obvious that The Resort At Glade Springe is not in the best financial shape. There weren't very many other guests as we think prime time is during ski season. I am happy to report that the outdoor pool was operational.

Room Tip: Wifi was a little on the slow side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Thomas H H,
Thank you for sharing the feedback about your recent visit. It is pleasing to see that your group had a nice time and that our staff members were all friendly. We are working on many updates throughout the resort and we hope that will be evident on your next visit. We actually experience peak periods in each of the four seasons; the summer season being mid-June through early August. We appreciate you visiting us from Charlotte and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Was pleasantly surprised when I booked an express deal on Priceline and it turned out to be at this resort! We were put in a one bedroom executive suite in the Sugar Maple building. Breakfast was offered but we did not have time to partake. The grounds were gorgeous. Took our son to the recreation center, it was a nice set up with an indoor gym for shooting some baskets. The stables had beautiful horses. The pool looked very nice and updated. A wedding was going on at the one golf course area, it just looked beautiful! All in all this would be a nice three or four day stay. You can purchase a bracelet for the kids for $30/day where they can do so much. We only had one night so not much time to enjoy all they offered. I will say it was a little off the highway and a little difficult to find, but nice once there. Also, we ordered the room service pizza...wouldn't do that again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wannagoeverywhere40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear wannagoeverywhere40,
Thank you for sharing your experience and review with the travel community! We are delighted to see that that you were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed our resort. We are five miles from I-64 or eight miles from I-77 but worth driving just a few extra minutes for having access to our plethora of activities and amenities. We hope that you will visit us again and can stay longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our family recently stayed in the Chestnut Hill Lodges for a family reunion. As a large group we were excited to find a accommodations for our size group. The pool was closed, the other activities the kids were interested in were either too far to walk to, or completely off property. There are no paths for walking or biking. I was almost hit by a speeding maintenance vehicle while on my morning run. The carpet in our unit was dark green, stained and frayed and in some places crunchy underfoot. The resort charges extra for housekeeping but there is no washer or dryer in the unit. We were charged an "activities fee" even though we used no activities. We had to call to get toilet paper, garbage bags and towels.
We were disgusted when we found a pack of cigarettes at the foot of my 9 year old sons bed after we checked in!
The final straw for me was the day I got out of the shower in the downstairs bedroom and there were maintenance workers at the door. They arrived unannounced at the back downstairs door, not at our request, and were smoking. They did put out the cigarette when I told them that my mother was allergic. They proceeded to work on the downstairs air conditioner (didn't seem to be broken) so we left the unit. When we returned it was broken.
We come to WVA every year and love the area but will not be back to Resort at Glade Springs

Room Tip: No washer or dryer in Chestnut Hill house we stayed in - kids needed extra clothes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ncwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Ncwilson,
We are very distraught by your recent experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not having succeeded at making your stay a positive memory. Understandably our pool being closed due to a fire in our pump house did not help getting your stay off on the right foot. Indeed we offer many onsite and offsite activities. Being a 4,000 acre resort, some of these activities require transportation, but most are centrally located within the resort and our shuttles are available to get you around the property. Especially our Leisure Center has a Spa, bowling, indoor pool, fitness, basketball, tennis, arcade, cinema; all under one roof. We also have three well maintained hiking trails. There is no excuse for speeding vehicles and we always remind our staff to drive slowly, it is inexcusable that you were scared by this while on your run.

The carpets in our lodges are slated for replacement next year, we do our best to maintain them until then. We also will be installing washers and dryers next year. We share your feeling that these items need addressed. Clearly our housekeeping fell short by not cleaning your room properly prior to arrival and overlooking a pack of cigarettes. Please know that our housekeeping does work hard to not overlook such items.

It is absolutely a violation for staff to be at your unit’s door without properly advising you first. We also do not allow our staff to smoke on the job and we have learned the person smoking outside your door was with an outsourced HVAC service company and we will address this with them so it does not happen again.

Thank you for letting us know about your experience. It is rare that our guests are expressing no desire to return, especially considering our high ratio of repeat guests. Of course we would like to restore our image with you and we invite you to return and stay with us again for a much better experience. Please contact me directly at 304-763-0816 to discuss a future visit. I look forward to hearing from you soon. DeAnna Delp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I chose this location because it was close to the area where the wedding I was in town for was. I arrived quite late but was greeted by the folks at the front desk in a great way. It was raining from the time I got into the Charleston Airport and all during the evening, the property lost power about 0700 the next morning but all the people that I spoke with did all possible to make me happy in a situation that they had no control over. When I got back from the wedding Saturday afternoon, the power was back and things were back to normal. I left the next morning after a fantastic breakfast served by very nice people. I wish I would have had more time to enjoy my stay. The grounds are very well kept and it's easy to find your way around. If I ever get back to the area I will certainly stay here.

Room Tip: I stayed in a suite but every place looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Michael C,
Thank you for the nice review and for choosing our hotel! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our resort despite the rain and short power outage. We do hope to see you again the next time you are in southern West Virginia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daniels
9.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
9.2 mi away
Courtyard Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
#2 of 14 in Beckley
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Beckley
Hampton Inn Beckley
#3 of 14 in Beckley
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Beaver-Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Glade Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Glade Springs

Property: The Resort at Glade Springs
Address: 255 Resort Dr, Daniels, WV 25832-9046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Daniels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort at Glade Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort at Glade Springs is a full service destination resort offering travelers a memorable mountain escape where they can enjoy a variety of accommodations, meeting facilities, outdoor adventures and recreational options while decompressing and being themselves. Its’ ideal Southern West Virginia setting provides the total package of outdoor mountain fun, world class golf, skiing, equestrian, tennis and spa services that offers great value and surpasses expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Resort at Glade Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Glade Springs Hotel Daniels
Hotel At Glade Springs
At Glade Springs Daniels
Glade Springs Resort West Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing