We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort for family in West Virginia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Resort at Glade Springs
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good resort for family in West Virginia”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Glade Spring resort has everything for everyone. We had a room in one of the Executive Suite which is in one of the smaller buildings away from the main building where breakfasts are served. We were on the second floor and had to lugged our bags up the stairs. The room was clean but the outside steps and patio needed some sweeping. Our bed was very comfortable. The sofabed was not. It's wide enough for one person and not two. The recreation facility is adequate but not great.

The best part of our stay was breakfast. It included in the room rate when we were there. It had a wide selection of choices for fruits, pastries, hot items, etc. The staff was very nice and helpful. We had dinner at both of the restaurants there. Food was nothing to be excited about but it was convenient not to have to drive 20 minutes for dinner at a long day.

We also took advantage of the horseback trail riding. Not cheap but for our family's first time experience, it was worth it. Kids really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank familytravel04_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear familytravel04_2012,
We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your visit! It is great to see that our staff was friendly and helpful and that your kids enjoyed the horseback riding. Thank you for sharing this feedback as well as mentioning the patio and sofa bed; we will look at this immediately. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    378
    133
    67
    46
See reviews for
500
331
25
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The resort is such a relaxed place. My room in the Executive Suites was very nice with great beds. All of the staff including the cleaning staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The service was very good. The grounds were well maintained.

Room Tip: The Executive Suites are spacious and private. The beds were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Ruth J,
Thank you for visiting our resort and for the nice review! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff members were extremely friendly and helpful. We hope that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

First of all, I absolutely love Southern WV as my family has been there for more than 200 years. Great scenery and time literally stands still especially if you leave your smartphone at home. The staff here is very helpful and have "Southern Charm" for sure. I would suggest that another staff person be added to the upstairs outside bar by the gold clubhouse. One person was trying to handle both the inside and outside orders at the same time. Also, it would be nice to dish the plastic outside table with real metal or wood tables. Doesn't seem to fit in with the upscale nature of the course.

The breakfast was absolutely top-notch and I've been to most points in the world for business. Mini chocolate muffins were the best! Might be nice if they did fresh squeezed orange juice like you get in Mexico.

Executive Suites were nice and had been recently remodeled but didn't understand the bedroom door swinging inwards. Might be nice to reverse things.

The fitness center is fully equipped with free weights and Cybex like equipment. I'm a gym nut and they also had a steam room and sauna! Great for relaxing. You can tell it was built a good 25+ years ago but a good remodel will help at some point.

Also, I want to thank Michelle in reservations as my mother was in the ICU at the hospital and we weren't sure if we would make it. Mom got better but it was nice to deal with her since she was willing to move our dates around. Thanks again Michelle!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hello Joel F,
Thank you for the valuable feedback about your visit. We are always making improvements to our resort and I will certainly share your suggestions with our team. I am happy to see that our breakfast was top notch and that Michelle was helpful to you. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We went for a girls' weekend, and the manor houses were perfect! Tons of space, well-appointed (except no pitcher - we mixed our drinks in the coffee pot - lol), beautiful. An elevator would have been helpful, or at very least, accompaniment by a bellman for luggage. Grounds were beautiful, breakfast buffet was good, but nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FineDineLovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear FineDineLovr,
Thank you for visiting our resort and the great rating! We are pleased to see that our Manor House was perfect for your girls' weekend but we are sorry to see there was no pitcher in your kitchen. In place of bellmen, we have staff on hand who can assist with luggage so the next time you're here just call the Front Desk and they will send someone to assist. We appreciate you sharing the feedback and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Front desk help is useless. No help carrying luggage in. There are no bellman/porters. Do not tell you that there is no restaurant in the main hotel. Do not tell you about taking a shuttle to get around the huge property. Do not tell you how to get the shuttle bus.
Bunker's restaurant on the property, served us undercooked chicken. I was expecting a relaxing vacation at a resort. This is the worse resort I have ever visited. I do not plan to return, due to lousy staff.

Room Tip: There is no room service! You must drive or take a shuttle to get to the spa or anywhere else on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Vicky h,
Thank you for sharing feedback about your recent visit. I am very sorry to see that you received poor service; it is not normal that we hear this about our staff. I am eager to get these issues resolved right away. Can you please give me a call here at the hotel at your earliest convenience? I would really appreciate the chance to prevent these mistakes in the future. You are correct that we do not have bell or room service and I am sorry this was not relayed to you before your arrival. We normally have staff on standby should someone need assistance with their luggage, however. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were traveling from Toronto to Orlando and this place is the best location to stay after the first day of driving. I saw the good reviews before, but I was very surprised with this Resort. The place is amazing...You drive 5 minutes in a private road with lakes and forest. We could easily stay longer there. I am a basketball addicted and was very happy to find that they have a full indoor court :-) Nice food, nice rooms, nice location, nice service. Good job guys!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTravellerBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear JTravellerBR,
Thank you for sharing your review with the travel community! We are very pleased that you chose our resort in your travels to Orlando. We are also happy to see that you enjoyed our resort and basketball court. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

the bed was so hard that my wife curled up on the sofa and I tried to sleep. My back hurt so bad that good golf was not in the mix the next day. If you don't like rock hard beds, you might want to try the Hampton Inn about 15 minutes away.
Having said all this, the fact that you are minutes away from 3 fine golf courses, maybe a hard bed isn't so bad........
your choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Golferjames_13,
We are very sorry to see that you nor your wife had a good night's rest. Please know we have already addressed the issue to the concerned department for attention to this matter and improvement. I appreciate you taking my call earlier today and discussing this further with me. We value your patronage and look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the nearest future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daniels
9.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Beckley
Hampton Inn Beckley
#2 of 14 in Beckley
533 reviews
9.2 mi away
Courtyard Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
#5 of 14 in Beckley
282 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Beaver-Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Glade Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Glade Springs

Property: The Resort at Glade Springs
Address: 255 Resort Dr, Daniels, WV 25832-9046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Daniels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort at Glade Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort at Glade Springs is a full service destination resort offering travelers a memorable mountain escape where they can enjoy a variety of accommodations, meeting facilities, outdoor adventures and recreational options while decompressing and being themselves. Its’ ideal Southern West Virginia setting provides the total package of outdoor mountain fun, world class golf, skiing, equestrian, tennis and spa services that offers great value and surpasses expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Resort at Glade Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Glade Springs Hotel Daniels
Hotel At Glade Springs
At Glade Springs Daniels
Glade Springs Resort West Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing