We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snow Tubing Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Resort at Glade Springs
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in one of the Executive Suits at the Glade Springs Resort during our snow tubing trip at Winterplace (about 10 min. away) in December 2013. Check- in was fast and smooth. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The cleanliness of the room was excellent. Great breakfast buffet included in the stay. The leisure center provided many activities, which we thoroughly enjoyed. They allowed us to continue to use the leisure center for the rest of the day after we checked out. Highly recommend! Great Price, Clean, & Enjoyable!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank E-beth_L2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Front Office Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear E-beth_L2014,
Thank you for staying with us and for the recommendation! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Leisure Center, your Executive Suite and that our staff was friendly and helpful. We look forward to seeing you back with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
There are newer reviews for The Resort at Glade Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

913 - 919 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have been to Winterplace ski resort many times so I highly recommend the skiing/snow tubing. The Glade Springs Resort was great. It's probably the nicest place to stay in the near area. The staff is extremely friendly and nice. My hubby didn't ski but called the resort and left a message. They returned the call and said his room was ready early if he liked. The breakfast is awesome for "free" breakfast standards. They have a shuttle every couple of hours from the skiing area so that is convenient. The only negative I have about the resort is that it is so spread out. We stayed in the executive suites and had to call for a shuttle to get to other areas on the resort (spa, pool, breakfast, etc.) but besides that it is first class. The storm came through the night we stayed and the sidewalks were cleaned by the crew by 7 am, ready for us to go to breakfast! It's not close to Beckley which has a host of shops and restaurants but if you're looking to get away, it's perfect! Again, very high rating for the staff and amenities.

Room Tip: Executive suites were plenty for a family of four with the children sleeping in their own space to g...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee-Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Front Office Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Lee-Ann M,
Thank you for sharing your review with the traveling community! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you highly rate our staff and amenities. As you mentioned, we are a campus style resort but our shuttles will take you anywhere on the property that you need to go. We appreciate you staying with us on this trip to Winterplace and look forward to see you on your next one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Brought three sons (7,9,12) for a getaway and to snow tube. First visit to this resort. Loved the amenities but could never get an appt in the spa even though we began calling on the day we arrived. The pillows are too soft and the mattress too hard but that was to be expected. We asked for more pillows and housekeeping was very helpful. Food was good, not great. really liked Bunkers though. Nice location and quick trip to Winterplace. We stayed out late one night at Leisure Center and arrived t our room around midnight on Friday. We started playing cards (Uno) with our sons and played late into the night (2am). the guest next door complained that we were excessively loud (we weren't...we are cognizant of our noise level as a larger family). the walls are incredibly thin so be aware if you have children! Instead of calling our room to request that we keep the noise down (again, we were not excessively loud but thin walls and picky guiests = complaint), they sent two (yes, 2) security guards with bad attitudes who were rude and knocked very loudly on our door. When they saw that we were a family (no alcohol obviously) playing cards and, if they paid any attention as they arrived at our room, they could've surmised that we were simply having fun on a Friday night in a RESORT on holiday. However, they chose to have a 'military' attitude and be rude and loud to us. We checked out the next morning and forfeited our last night). Glade has nice amenities and location but needs some work on attitudes and courtesy. We cannot recommend Glade because of this experience that could've certainly been handled with much more tact and consideration. Our parlor room was not inexpensive and we spent quite a bit of money on extras, most likely, more than most guests. But, we left with a very bad impression of Glade. I'll update if Glade replies to my letter of complaint. In the meantime, we will visit other upscale resorts instead.

Room Tip: Thin walls (moreso than most) and security personnel with bad attitudes ruined this stay for our fa...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2bemullins5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Front Office Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear 2bemullins5,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing feedback about your recent visit. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed our amenities and that housekeeping was helpful to you. We are sorry to hear about your experience with security. We want to make all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable and I hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you back. As I mentioned when we spoke, we are happy to make an adjustment to your bill. We look forward to hearing from you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Brought my wife and kids up to ski. I thought it was very nice for the $ as well as all the amenities offered. We used the indoor pool and hot tub, movie theater, arcade and bowling with the kids. The breakfast at the rotunda was great! The staff is very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our visit and hope to return in late spring to explore the other activities in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mcnairjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Front Office Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Mcnairjoe,
Thank you for visiting with us over Christmas and sharing your review! We are thrilled to know that you and your family enjoyed many of our amenities and that our staff was friendly and helpful to you. We have even more amenities available in late spring; we hope to see you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Took my son to Winterplace for Christmas and since I wasn't familiar with the area I decide to go with what was suggested. The hotel was minutes away from the ski place and the area was very safe and clean. Reminds me of being on a military base..all local amenities are right there, bowling alley, movies, restaurants.
Probably the only thing I might say that could be improved was the internet...so slow..but then I wasn't there to surf internet..I was there to take my kid skiing..
Breakfast buffet was good and the both waitresses were so helpful making sure we were taken care off.

Room Tip: When you get a room check the pillows out..all of them are soft..very soft no support for sitting up...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merdrago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Front Office Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Merdrago,
Thank you for the great review! It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the conveniences that we offer. You're right, we're only minutes to Winterplace and we'll even shuttle you there! I am sorry to hear about the slow internet service; this was resolved the following day. We appreciate you staying with us and hope that we will see you again next ski season or sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I had a 4 day golf trip this past October and found the resort to be top notch in all aspects. The golf courses were excellent, scenic, challenging and perfectly manicured. We are both avid golfers so when we go on a golf trip, we expect quality and were not disappointed.

The members who shared their courses with us were so friendly and allowed us to play through many times so that we could get our 2 rounds a day in. The staff were very friendly and the Pro shop went above and beyond for us.

The restaurants were reasonably priced and the food was excellent. The servings were HUGE and tasted amazing. It was also a very friendly fun atmosphere with a mix of locals and guests mingling and chatting.

We have told many of our friends about this resort and think there will be some visitors that stay there based on our comments. I'm sure they will find the experience just as good as we did. We will be back for sure and cannot wait.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Front Office Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Maggie1414,
Thank you for the fantastic review! We are delighted that you enjoyed our great golf courses, excellent food and camaraderie with our members. We appreciate your recommendations and do hope that we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We made reservations at Glade Springs to break up a 10 hour journey. It snowed that evening and it was absolutely breathtaking . We ate at the lovely restaurant where they sat us at the window. The winter wonderland was such a great backdrop to an absolutely heavenly dinner. While it's not the Biltmore Glade Springs sure affords you an idyllic stay. We had our little Bichon so was assigned a room ( a bit dated) at the executive suites next to the woods; perfect!
We will be staying again on our return trip from Ohio to NC.

Room Tip: Executive Suites, comfortable for dog an a couple.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna D, Front Office Manager at The Resort at Glade Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Dee C,
Thank you for choosing The Resort at Glade Springs as your stopover. We are delighted that you were here and that you enjoyed our resort and restaurant. We look forward to your return visit and wish you safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daniels
9.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Beckley
Hampton Inn Beckley
#2 of 14 in Beckley
543 reviews
9.2 mi away
Courtyard Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
#5 of 14 in Beckley
285 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Beaver-Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Glade Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Glade Springs

Address: 255 Resort Dr, Daniels, WV 25832-9046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Daniels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Price Range: $151 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort at Glade Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort at Glade Springs is a full service destination resort offering travelers a memorable mountain escape where they can enjoy a variety of accommodations, meeting facilities, outdoor adventures and recreational options while decompressing and being themselves. Its’ ideal Southern West Virginia setting provides the total package of outdoor mountain fun, world class golf, skiing, equestrian, tennis and spa services that offers great value and surpasses expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Resort at Glade Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Glade Springs Hotel Daniels
Hotel At Glade Springs
At Glade Springs Daniels
Glade Springs Resort West Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing