We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway in the mountains!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Resort at Glade Springs
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I spent a long weekend in April at Glade Springs Resort in West Virginia and we were wowed by the place. The address is Daniels, West Virginia, but it is just off I-64 at Beckley. This is a complete resort property with more than 4000 acres total. There is an Inn where we stayed, as well as Suites and other accommodations on site. Our room was a King room with a very nice bed in a large room. There was a couch and a large arm chair besides a desk and chair, a coffee table and a bureau with drawers and a tv. The room came with a microwave and mini-fridge which was available for your own drinks or groceries if you chose. Breakfast was included in our room rate and breakfast in the Rotunda at the Inn was a buffet each day featuring typical breakfast buffet of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, stewed apples, fruit, very limited cold cereals, breads, juice, milk and coffee. You could also make your own waffles. The bath in our room was jetted, but the room had been advertised with an "in-room Jacuzzi," which we had taken to mean a hot tub. They should change the ad to say a jetted tub.
On the property there are three (3) eighteen hole golf courses and although we didn't play that weekend, the courses looked great. They also have a driving range and a putting green and a fully equipped pro shop. In April greens fees for golf are $70.00 per round but they go up to $130.00 per round from May through October. But these are really nice courses and there were a great many people here just for the golf.
There are also hiking trails, three of them and we did hike one afternoon. Very nice walks through the woods and behind some of the residential areas of the development here. Here in the mountains there was not much foliage or even blooms in the trees yet, but it was still very nice to walk through the woods.
There is also an equestrian center and we met a group on a trail ride. The horses seemed well cared for and although we did not ride ourselves, it is something we would certainly consider when we come back.
There is also an outdoor pool and tennis courts, although the weather in April was too cool for this. But you don't have to worry because there is an indoor leisure center with a large heated pool, included three lap pools for those who are serious about swimming. The rest of the pool is shallow, max depth of three feet, so there is no diving. But it was very nice. In that area there is also a very large whirlpool tub which was great. And in both the men's and women's locker rooms there are saunas and steam rooms.
At the leisure center there is also a ten lane bowling alley, an indoor tennis court, a movie theatre and a spa. Everything is immaculate and the pool, whirlpool, sauna and steam room were complimentary with our room.
On the grounds there is also a lake with canoes and paddle boats. Not far away is a larger lake where you can rent motor boats or launch your own. On the property at Glade Springs there is also an archery range and a skeet shooting range. They also have laser tag and paint ball and something called geo-caching where you go on a treasure hunt. And there is a nearby coal mine museum which seemed very interesting although we did not take the tour.
Everything at Glade Springs is immaculate. The grounds are beautiful, the landscaping is perfect and everything is kept very, very clean. The buildings were perfect and we were in quite a few of the buildings on the grounds. The roads are well maintained and there are asphalt sidewalks around a great part of the grounds that could also be bike paths because there are bikes to rent as well.
I noticed that someone else noted that the place was a bit "pricey" but I did not find that to be the case. For our three nights our room with breakfast and taxes was $645.00. That's $215.00 per night and when you have the availability of all the extras that you have here, you can't beat it. We did not get a package so if we had played golf, or ridden horses or rented a bike, there would have been an extra charge. But still when you go to a place this nice, you should expect to pay for it. Our room was much more than just a motel room and we would expect to pay more for it than at a Holiday Inn.
There are four restaurants on property. The Rotunda serves only breakfast. The Small Talk Café is open for breakfast, lunch and supper and has a wide ranch of sandwiches and great desserts. The Bunkers Sports Bar has much more than you might expect from a Sports Bar. You can get a burger or Pizza. But you can also get a great steak or pasta or ribs. And finally the Glades Grill is a Four Star Italian Restaurant which I will review in much more detail under a restaurant review. But for here suffice it to say that it was incredible.
Service at all the restaurants was good, although at the breakfast buffet you don't really get service. You get everything for yourself and the "server" simply brings your check. No one offered to refill coffee or get us juice. But at all the other restaurants service was great and the people went out of their way to make you feel welcome. The same was true at the Inn and at the Leisure Center. They are just very nice people who seem to delight in making you right at home.
Visit Glade Springs. You won't regret it, whether you go to relax or play golf. It is truly a remarkable place which we will remember and return to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank prabedky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

985 - 991 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We visited Glade Springs in early March. The beds were horrible. My husband's back ached for days after our stay. We did get a great deal-two lift tickets at Winterplace for each night of our stay and free breakfast each morning. The restaurants at the resort are very overpriced. We did enjoy the indoor pool and the basketball court at the leisure center.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wattyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Took my family on spring break. Executive suites room was dirty, old and the heating/AC so noisy we didn't sleep well. Shudder to think how it was before renovation. It snowed all the days we were there so we spent most of our time in the leisure center which is ok with a pool, gym, volleyball and arcade. No laser tag or any of the other activities advertised. So I decided we wanted to check out a day early. They said they'd have to charge us the full price. I showed them that my email said travel insurance included but Rebecca who sent me the email in writing denied that insurance was included. If you deny a written email that is not just lying but an insult. On top of that this so called travel insurance only covers sickness and has a bunch of rip off exceptions. When I stood my ground I was told the manager Deana would call the next day which she didn't. Obviously, they don't give a rat's [--] for customers. When I showed up next morning I was offered $100 off ($188 was our daily charge for this pathetic place). I had decided to stay anyway. We did get to move to a room at the inn which was fine. The restaurants in the resort are just ok. The glade grill is a rip off with average food and exorbitant prices. Overall, this place sucked after spending almost $1000 on our 3 night stay. There are many other lower cost and vastly better resorts in WV. I am definitely not returning and I don't recommend you try this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dustoff_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here this past September. The resort itself is nice, but they said they had 4 restaurants on the premise- and they only had the one at the golf course that was open when we were there- breakfast costs $12 per person-which I think should be included in the cost of the room. There wasn't alot to do there...we walked around and fed the deer. They said they had a movie theatre -but I think it was more like a big TV- it was in the recreation room- which you have to drive to-so we didn't go there- and they were playing 1 movie- which was Garfield 2. The bed was very hard, and we could not sleep at all. The rooms were really clean and decorated really nice. Our smoked detector went off when we turned the heat up- so we turned it back off. It definately needed to be cleaned off on the balcony/porch areas. We were glad to get away for a night...we drove 6 1/2 hours to get there. I liked the lay out of the different buildings that are named after trees. The landscaping was very nice. I think if they just worked at it a little more...it has alot more potiential to it, and alot of the things that were not so great -could be easily fixed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BriarRose9968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The staff was incredible had a small issue with wifi and it was fixed immediately. We had lunch and dinner on the property and both were delicious. Stayed in a villa and the cleanliness was supurb.i would recommend this to anyone. I also wish to thank the manger Mr. Mcarthur who made helped make this one of the best trip's we have ever had and to let him and the company know how appreciated it was.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M75van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I came with my boyfriend for a snowboard trip, and have never been to the area we werent sure what to expect. The resort was beautiful and we stayed in the executive suites. The king sized bed was so comfy and we really enjoyed having a common area outside of the bedroom, so we didnt have to sit on the bed to eat our take out food! The shuttle service was fabulous with very friendly drivers! We would call the front desk and what felt like a second later the shuttle was outside our door. Overall, we loved our stay. and after receiving lift tickets for Winterplace each night of our stay we saw great value as well! would definitely come again!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jaclyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My organization works with students in a low income area. We wanted to give the students an opportunity to experience snow tubing. However, the students didnt raise enough money to take the trip this year and were planning to attend Glade Springs in 2014. I cancelled the trip a month before scheduled and we were still charged for the entire weekend. What a disappointment to take the little money the students raised for such a deserving trip.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank caranita r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daniels
9.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Beckley
Hampton Inn Beckley
#2 of 14 in Beckley
558 reviews
9.2 mi away
Courtyard Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
#5 of 14 in Beckley
290 reviews
23.1 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Glade Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Glade Springs

Address: 255 Resort Dr, Daniels, WV 25832-9046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Daniels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Price Range: $115 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort at Glade Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort at Glade Springs is a full service destination resort offering travelers a memorable mountain escape where they can enjoy a variety of accommodations, meeting facilities, outdoor adventures and recreational options while decompressing and being themselves. Its’ ideal Southern West Virginia setting provides the total package of outdoor mountain fun, world class golf, skiing, equestrian, tennis and spa services that offers great value and surpasses expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Resort at Glade Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Glade Springs Hotel Daniels
Hotel At Glade Springs
At Glade Springs Daniels
Glade Springs Resort West Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing