We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Resort at Glade Springs
Nearby Hotels
Sleep Inn Beaver-Beckley(Beaver)(Great Value!)
$67
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Beckley)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Beckley(Beckley)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,468)
Filter reviews
1,468 results
Traveler rating
823
389
137
70
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
823
389
137
70
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbowling alleyexecutive suitegolf tripgreat golfmanor housesports bargolf courses areindoor poollaser tagescape roombasketball courtrec centerskiing at winterplacethe main hotelhorseback ridingin great shapeshuttle service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,040 - 1,045 of 1,468 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at Glade Springs. With a family of Chestnut Hill was a bit too small for the economy unit, so perhaps next time we will book at the end. When we walked in the resort, it gave the impression of luxury, and the two free lift tickets plus the nice up scale breakfast for five ppl was definitely an extradinary deal. We ate dinner at small talk cafe and the chicken garden salad was superb along with a cozy fire going while we ate. I saw a glimpse of the leisure center pool, it was Huge, it reminded me of YMCA. Most other participating hotels with Winterplace only gives you one ticket. Glade Springs gives you two, so when you do the math..really, it is a no brainer, make sure you know the fine print details, Glade Springs is the best deal near Winterplace.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank Missyheart2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were planning on driving up to WinterPlace to ski for the afternoon/evening and then heading home the same night, however Mother Nature had different plans and we ended up being stuck in the snow on I-77 for hours, arriving at WinterPlace at closing time. Initially, we thought this resort was too expensive, however after realizing all of the other hotels in the area were full, we called the Resort at Glade Spring and they had a room in one of the Manor Houses available for $213.00 The room was very modern, spacious, and incredibly clean. (440 sq ft?).
2 complimentary adult lift tickets to Winterplace were included in the deal (approx. $ 90 total value) as well as a very nice buffet breakfast the following morning.
We got there too late in the evening to use any of the leisure facilities (pool, bowling, etc), however we did go to Bunkers Sports Bar (one of 4 restaurants on site) for a drink and wings (it was open until 11:30 p.m.). We had a very pleasant experience there as well! Several reviews mentioned the distance from one place to another within the resort - this is true, but if driving your own vehicle no more than 2 miles is too much for you - the resort has a complimentary shuttle to and from anywhere on site AND to and from Winterplace.
All employees we encountered were nothing less than helpful and exceptionally friendly. We will absolutely be back - we'll stay here for future ski trips and plan to come back in the spring to play some golf and try out the spa!

Room Tip: We were very pleased with our room in Manor House 3 - I'd request to stay there again!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurabp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Husband and two children, ages 5 and 8, opted to stay in the executive suites from Dec. 27-29 for a quick getaway. We went with the exec. suites b/c of the good pre-paid deal offered despite some of the lackluster reviews on tripadvisor. I can unequivocally state that our suite was absolutely great and suited our needs. Everything had been renovated recently, the room squeaky clean and the location, just great. King bed was super comfy, bathroom was nice, clean and large, and living area spacious. The mattress on the sofa-bed was definitely in no condition for anyone over 80 pounds; our kids, however, had no complaints. The overall building was charming, though could use a fresh coat of paint. We were no more than a few steps from the main inn and didn't mind the quick (less than 3 minutes) brisk walk to breakfast in the mornings. Food was good and service was great at the breakfast buffet.
We tried to visit the glades grill on our first night, but were rudely snubbed and turned away as we did not have reservations. We found it rather odd that we would need reservations for 5:30 in the evening and perhaps even more odd that the restaurant was COMPLETELY EMPTY. I thought for a second the hostess was trying to be funny, so I just stood there and stared at her with a grin on my face. When I brought up the obvious dearth of patrons, the hostess arrogantly dismissed me and said I should go elsewhere. Total turn off and no way to treat any customer. The Small Talk Cafe, on the other hand, was quite cozy and welcoming. Food was OK. With the exception of the hostess at the grill who needs to find another profession, we had a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Executive suites are the way to go if traveling with small children or just as a couple. Do not try to squeeze four adults.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crzadct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We really enjoyed the leisure center - steam room, indoor pool, hot tub are all very nice and relaxing after a day on the slopes. There is an extra charge for the laser tag and bowling but it appeared that many kids took advantage of these facilities. There were a large number of youth church groups at the resort when we where there. The Bunker Sports bar has a limited choice of vegetarian meals and I would not recommed the quesedia as it is not made the way that I am accoustomed to - no pico de gallo, no cheese, no beans on the shrimp quesedia and the shrimp was of the VERY petite variety.
The breakfast buffet was very nice and included fresh fruit, a waffle station, eggs, sausage, gravey, bacon, biscuits and the other typical continental breakfast type items.
The only downside was the 10 mile drive from the resort to the slopes at Winterplace.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadintraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at this resort over New Years, to ski and then, as a nice perk, go to the New Years Eve party, and have an option for the kids to have fun too. We booked last minute and were told we got one of the last rooms. Interestingly the price we got by calling the resort was about $100 less than on the website, for 2 nights and the party. When we arrived, the entrance is a guard gate, and the kids were impressed how nice it looked in the snow with the Christmas lights. The guard had our name and gave us a dashboard pass to drive through without stopping after that. It is a large resort, with homes too. We checked in very easily at the Inn, with very pleasant workers. We stayed in the Chestnut Hill Lodges, slightly dated, dark green carpet, flower bedspreads, and yellow bordered wallpaper in the bathroom. But clean and in good condition. 2 queen beds. Small kitchenette with working small fridge, microwave, sink. The TV remote didn't work, and we called and maintenance came out quickly. The Lodges are about a half mile or less from the Inn, where breakfast is. We drove, and it took about a minute. There was also a shuttle but we didn't bother. I thought breakfast was great (and it was included). I don't get all these reviews saying how bad it was. Buffet stations with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, grits, biscuits and gravy. Yogurt and fresh cut fruit. Just Ok looking muffins (but i didnt eat them). Make your own waffles. Coffee, hot chocolate, tea. Cereal, milk. Anything that was out was replaced quickly with pleasant smiling help. We took the shuttle to Winterplace and it was a little school bus, but perfectly fine, runs every 2 hours down, on even numbered hours, and back on odd numbered hours. The New Years Eve Party was really nice. A great band, very good finger food, huge shrimp, desserts, lovely decorations. Open bar from 9-10 pm. They even had a photo booth, which was different, and fun. Also a huge screen of New York's celebration. The kids had fun with the kids party (they are 8 and 10) with laser tag (which they loved), pizza, gingerbread houses, etc. and they watched the ball drop in New York too. They weren't ready to leave when we went to pick them up! (We did have to drive to get them, at the Glade Club, which was maybe a half mile away.)

A few things that were not great: 1. When we got to our room, about 7 pm after check in, there were several white trash bags and a pack and play piled up on our front porch that we had to walk by to get in our room. I've never seen that before. It made us wonder what we were walking into. Seemed dirty.
2. The Leisure Center, which has lots of things to do, like the indoor pool, bowling, arcade, laser tag, is the furthest thing that we went to, on site. It was a bit of a drive. The bowling looked like fun with nice lighting, better than your average bowling. We went to the pool and hot tub. The hot tub was dirty looking, with yellow water. Also we had to go back up to the check in to ask for towels. The woman's locker room was also a big disappointment. The used towels were more than overflowing from the basket. The sauna and steam room didn't work at all and even the only blow dryer didn't work. This was our first night there, so with this experience and the trash bags, we were very hesitant about what we were getting into. Luckily the rest of the trip was much better.
3. Our maid must have made our bed very quickly because the sheets and blanket were hanging out from under the bedspread. Also with the dark green carpet every speck of anything shows and it was all still there when we got back that afternoon. Don't they at least have a carpet roller to pick things up, even if they don't use a vacuum?

Room Tip: If you want to be in one place and just walk down for breakfast, stay at the Inn.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nhlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews