We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Christmas Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Glade Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Resort at Glade Springs
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Cana, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Christmas Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Had a wonderful experience. The staff was very helpful with everything we needed. The restaurants were very good. We loved the bowling and the swimming. Very nice sauna, steam room and changing/shower rooms. Also great fitness room. Loved it all. Very clean and classy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    340
    121
    62
    41
See reviews for
443
308
24
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We've stayed here twice now - once in 2010, and again in 2011. We use this as a half-way stop on our way to visit family in northwest PA, which would normally be a very long and tiring one day trip for us. Resort is off the beaten path, but since we like to golf, we have found their 2 nights with a round of golf package just the ticket for us. Of course, the longer the stay the more of a deal you can get, but that is usually all the time we can allow. The stay is comfortable, with varied (and OK) dining possibilities, including a very nice breakfast buffet, which is usually included. This is a year around resort, and offer a variety of activities depending on the season. They fail to mention "deer watching" - and there are deer everywhere! One even accidentally joined us on the golf course one morning. We used their nice little bowling facility one afternoon, but were there mainly for the golf. The courses are very nice. We have golfed on 2, the Cobb course, which is the resort course and laid out throughout the residential area, and Stonehaven, which we enjoyed very much, and which had some drop-dead gorgeous views. I should also add we are fairly good "recreational golfers" (no handicaps) and not rating the courses here, but know for a fact the courses are challenging, especially their 3rd course, Woodhaven. We referred friends from here in SC and they had a equally pleasant experience. All 4 of us are now planning on getting together and going again sometime, and for a longer stay.

Room Tip: The Executive Suites are not luxurious, but are comfortable,and for what it's worth, we could on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 110travelduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

My family stayed at the resort for Thanksgiving and we all truly had a terrific time. Could not ask for better accomodations or service. The kids had a wonderful time at the leisure center and the great weather allowed us to venture out and explore the grounds of the resort. Hope to return soon. Thanks

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I met up with 3 friends at The Resort at Glade Springs this weekend. We shared a Queen Double at the Inn. The room was big enough for us to spread out and play board games late into the night. We all appreciated the extra sink outside the bathroom when it came time to get ready to go out or go to bed. The included breakfast was ample with something for everyone including make your own waffles. We ate a good breakfast at 10 and didn't need a formal lunch. The Leisure Center is very nice. It houses Spa Orange as well as a 10 lane bowling alley, indoor pool, steam room, sauna, whirlpool, tennis court and movie room. We really enjoyed our trail ride leaving from the Equestrian center. The Resort has a shuttle that will take you where ever you want to go on property including the restaurants. We had a great dinner at Bunker's Bar & Grill which was better than what we could have gotten in town at Applebee's or Outback Steakhouse, but still reasonably priced. The only thing we could have used in the room was an exhaust fan in the bathroom. Otherwise, a very enjoyable visit on a quiet weekend in November.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the first floor. It was a quiet weekend so I don't think there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinson2236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

My husband and I decided to return to Glade Springs to celebrate our sixth wedding anniversary. We were married at the resort in 2005. We booked the trip through a Living Social voucher and went the first weekend in November.

I'm going to start with the cons, since there are really only a couple. According to the resort website, breakfast is normally served buffet style in the Rotunda. When we checked in, we were told the Rotunda was closed and breakfast would be in the Small Talk Cafe. It was, in a word, horrible. Very limited options, all arriving on plastic plates, accompanied by plastic silverware. It was a totally forgettable experience, most of which ended up in the trash can. I asked a shuttle driver why the Rotunda was closed and he seemed to imply that it was due to the lack of guests staying at the resort.

We stayed in the executive suites. I've seen some reviews where people have said they are not "upscale" enough for a resort. We had stayed there before and knew what to expect. We tend to not spend a ton of time in our rooms when travelling but will agree that they could use some updating (i.e., grout cleaning in the bathroom and some new fixtures). But the king-size bed and flat panel tvs made up for it.

The pros: While it was the end of the season and the leaves where down, my husband said the Cobb Golf Course was in very good shape. I also booked two appointments at the spa. Gwen at the front desk was very welcoming and Nicole did a good job on my mani/pedi. I received a massage from Keith, which was also very good.

But the best experience we had was with the restaurants. On Friday, we decided to have a casual dinner at Bunkers. We had the pleasure of meeting Carmine Carrozza, the new food and beverage specialist, who was kind enough to comp us when he heard it was our anniversary. Dinner was very good; there were a lot of options on the menu and our server, Adrienne, was very attentive. James also put the finishing touches on dessert by serving our brownie sundae with shots of Godiva white chocolate liqueur.

After dinner, Carmine told us that they are planning to transform the resort's other restaurant, Glade's Grill, into an Italian restaurant. He offered us the chance to sample a custom four-course menu on Saturday; we jumped at the chance. It was amazing! After a caprese salad, Chef Dustin served us mini ravioli on a bed of bolognese sauce that was out of this world! My entree was veal saltimbocca on a bed of fettucine, while my husband had veal osso bucco with risotto. Dessert featured mini cannolis with zeppole, all drizzled with chocolate, accompanied by cappuccino. Our thanks to Carmine, Chef Dustin, Adrienne (who was our server on Saturday as well), and James. They went above and beyond and made our anniversary perfect!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcd630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Beautiful scenery
Pleasant, helpful employees
Nice, comfortable, spacious suites
Excellent food
Ample,Convenient parking
Welcome atmosphere
Nice stay where the deer & antelope play

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline_s_jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The Executive suite exceeded my expectations. The breakfast was very good. The fall scenery was amazing, especially on the Stonehaven course! The staff was very helpful and personable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daniels
9.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
9.2 mi away
Courtyard Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
#2 of 14 in Beckley
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Beckley
Hampton Inn Beckley
#4 of 14 in Beckley
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Beaver-Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Glade Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Glade Springs

Property: The Resort at Glade Springs
Address: 255 Resort Dr, Daniels, WV 25832-9046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Daniels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daniels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Resort at Glade Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort at Glade Springs is a full service destination resort offering travelers a memorable mountain escape where they can enjoy a variety of accommodations, meeting facilities, outdoor adventures and recreational options while decompressing and being themselves. Its’ ideal Southern West Virginia setting provides the total package of outdoor mountain fun, world class golf, skiing, equestrian, tennis and spa services that offers great value and surpasses expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Resort at Glade Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Glade Springs Hotel Daniels
Hotel At Glade Springs
At Glade Springs Daniels
Glade Springs Resort West Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing