We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Charleston to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Racer Drive, Cross Lanes, WV 25313   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cross Lanes
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Came into hotel on the 14th November after an drive from Myrtle Beach. Wife and I were tired and hungry. They have a small bar with food inside their lobby. Nothing fancy but all around good food. The room was clean and on the fisrt floor as requested. The next morning we discovered that our car would not start ( dead battery) We had a good breakfeast and was going to call our road service to get a jump. The morening desk clerk ( I believe Cody) heard of our dilemma and volunteered to use his auto and cables to get our vehicle running which he did. Beyond the call of duty.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanleygolucki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing how we were able to make your visit with us special. I am proud of the staff we hire to make each and every stay for our guests a remarkable experience. Please come back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Huddleston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our room was in the new section and it was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The pool was beautiful. All attendants were very pleasant and accommodating. Breakfast was one of the best buffets with hot eggs and bacon. Curtis worked at the desk and was extremely helpful. We'll be happy to go back again.

Room Tip: Our room was 214 and was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
It is such a joy to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of our hotel and staff. We have been very busy renovating our property to the Choice Hotels "Truly Yours" package for Comfort Inns. We are delighted you appreciated the aviance of our new rooms, the courtesy of our staff and our great breakfast of variety. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
298 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really trying and it shows. The parts that have been updated, like the lobby and the breakfast area are really nice. The pool area is great. Breakfast was nice with hot items and Sandi the attendant was super friendly and kept things looking nice. On check-in, we discovered a room deoderizer in our room since a previous tenant had smoked and we asked to be moved which we were promptly. However old is old, and the rooms are old. Our toilet ran every 15 minutes throughout the night which kept us up, and the air conditioner made a dripping sound like a faucet. Otherwise everything was clean.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your acknowlegement of the qualities you like about our hotel. Our renovations have been very successful thus far. I am glad you found our original room clean. I will have to say the items in your room are not indicative of anyother rooms. And I apologize for your inconvenience. We look forward to your return in one of our new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place is a "must stay" if you're in the area! Friendly staff, clean room, beautiful pool area, great view, neat small bar, and one of the best breakfast buffets I've had in quite some time. And if you're into gambling, there's one less than a mile away! Enjoy!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are proud to be one of the best kept hotes in the West Virginia Mountains. It was very nice of you to ackowledge our service and amenities as a tribute to our Great State.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterville, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The employees were very welcoming and friendly. The pool was clean and sunny with nice ambiance. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. The only thing was the bathroom fan was very noisy and it came on when the light was on. Not a big thing to complain about. We did get one of the remodeled rooms and it was clean and nice. The elevator should be working in one week, but that wasn't a big deal either since there are only two floors.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the remodeled rooms. The hotel is in the middle of a total makeover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future. The new rooms are spectaculary chic, glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is an older hotel, that is no frills. If you really need a low cost hotel and can get this for a good price, then it is very acceptable. It is not much for comfort, but it has all of the basics, and nothing is horrible about it. It is just ok. I wouldn't stay here for a long time, but a night or two will be just fine. Check out the casino nearby, because it really is nice. The breakfast here was really good also, so definitely take advantage of that. This hotel needs a lot of updating, to take it to the next level, but then the prices would be higher, and it wouldn't attract the same crowd, which appears to be mostly a blue-collar laborer type. Overall, I would give this hotel a two star rating out of 5, so use that as your expectation guide.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pharmarep1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Your comments are welcomed. Our public areas renovations are finished I can't wait til you see the new rooms. Come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intl falls, mn
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The two desk personnel, Cory and Moni, were vere helpful, accommodating, and friendly. We appreciated their gracious help. The rooms are very nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and quiet. The indoor and outdoor pool along with the workout room are very pleasant places to be. The attached bar and grill offers very reasonable drinks ($3 for a microbrew) and decent sandwiches. The setting offers a nice view of the hills, and the location, off the crazy I64 is convenient. A quite tasty full breakfast buffet was a nice touch. $79 seemed expensive, but you won't get a nicer place for that price. In fact, without a coupon this Comfort Inn is over $100.

The only negative was the spotty internet service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroln G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, General Manager at Comfort Inn Charleston, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your remarks! You seemed to have taken full advantage of all of our amenties and we are happy your experience was one to brag about. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cross Lanes
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
9.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
6.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Charleston

Address: 102 Racer Drive, Cross Lanes, WV 25313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cross Lanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cross Lanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Mardi Gras Casino in Cross Lanes, WV near Charleston, WV, we offer a 100% non-smoking hotel with a shopping center, theater, dining and attractions. We have 137 rooms, a Large Tropical Indoor Pool with Waterfall, Spa, Sauna, an Outdoor Pool, plus Fitness Center, Business Center with three computers with High-Speed Internet, and don't forget the Lazy Dog Saloon just off our large lobby with fireplace. FREE BREAKFAST Featuring: fresh scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, flavored waffles, sausage gravy and biscuits, an assortment of donuts, bagels, pastries, cereal, yogurt, fruit, and juices. We also offer some unique services and features you may not find at every hotel, such as: Fully stocked Sundry Room, Guest Laundry, Picnic Area with grill ,Coffee Bar in Lobby - fresh coffee with cookies (24 hours). From the moment you arrive at Comfort Inn we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you and fulfill even the unexpressed wishes and needs of our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Charleston Wv Hotel Cross Lanes
Comfort Inn Cross Lanes
Cross Lanes Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing