We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Room #210!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cross Lanes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Avoid Room #210 at all costs. The room placement is directly above the automatic front doors and the sound of the doors opening and closing is extremely loud and irritating. This hotel has an on site popular lounge that is open until the wee hours of the morning. With the casino next door, this lounge is very active and the door below room #210 is the entrance to the lounge as well as the hotel. To be able to sleep at all, we had to dig around in our suitcases to find earplugs. We could still hear it but it was tolerable.

Once we realized what the problem was, we had already unpacked and settled in for the night and were just too tired to request another room. The woman at the front desk upon arrival didn't seem to be in the mood to hear from us anyway.

The next morning, we met the Hotel Manager and she was quite apologetic for our problems. She promised resolution satisfactory to us however, we have yet to receive our compensation or any contact from her after 5 weeks.

The hotel is undergoing major renovations and was overall very nice. Room was small but clean and well maintained. It just shouldn't be a guest room!!

Room Tip: AVOID ROOM #210 at all costs!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, VP of Sales & Marketing at Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Hello Jean,

Thank you for the feedback. We take the issues you’ve mentioned very seriously; all items have been noted and are being, or have been, dealt with! I sincerely apologize for the noise you experienced, that is very helpful information though and we are working on fixing the problem.

Additionally, I spoke with both the Owner of the hotel and the GM, Cindy Bagwell, regarding the compensation for your inconveniences. They would be happy to take care of this for you if you’d like to contact them directly (as we do not appear to have a working number for you).
Their emails are: Cindy@wv-hotel.com and Greg@wv-hotel.com

Please let me know if there is anything else we can do to insure you that your business and satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 319 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Florida and because they allow pets. Since we were traveling with our dog, we stayed in a "pet room". Usually these rooms are smelly but this hotel was spotless. The room was very clean and one wouldn't know that it usually had pets in it.

The hotel is older and shows a bit of its age. For example, in the morning we could hear the people on the second floor getting up early and moving around. But basically we were quite pleased with the room.

The breakfast was really good, although not so good for us. Besides the typical fare (cereals, bagels, etc) there were waffles, scrambeled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravey.

The staff was very friendly and outgoing.

Room Tip: The second floor may be quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willie3181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, VP of Sales & Marketing at Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with everyone. We greatly appreciate your business and your feedback!
We are very pleased to know we were able to accommodate you and your pet! Please be sure to stay with us again soon! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

On the way home from our son's house in VA Beach, we usually stop in Covington, WVA. However, we decided to drive a little further. We were pleasantly surprised to stop at the Comfort Inn which not only has a bar on site, but other restaurants very nearby. We requested a first floor room (no elevator) and were accomodated with no problem. They only have double beds (in addition of King rooms), but there was just the 2 of us so it was no problem. After going to dinner at Friday's across the road, we went to the bar on site at the Comfort Inn. LYNN the barmaid was super! The 'hot' breakfast was fine. Will definately stop again on our trip from Michigan to Virginia. Thanks! My only suggestion is that cigarette recepticals should be placed each door.

Room Tip: No smoking allowed. It's ok. Good location. American owned and operated.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, VP of Sales & Marketing at Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hello Nancy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with everyone. We greatly appreciate your business and your feedback!

We do have Queen Rooms, I apologize if none were available during your stay but we are glad your accommodations were still to your liking. I will also be sure to let Lynn know she did a good job and I am sure she will appreciate the acknowledgement of her efforts.

We will also take your suggestion on the receptacles! Thank you for that wonderful idea.

Please be sure to visit us again soon! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

If February we had my youngest sons Birthday at the pool and we reserved a room as well. The staff (Curtis) was outstanding and very helpful. The place looks great!!!! As the upgrades and remodeling continues, I continue to be impressed with the amount of effort and dollars that are being spent on the project! Real Palms, Great Atmosphere! Trip two was recently for Valetines Day festivities for me, My Wife as well as some of our friends! Again the Staff was extremly helpful, the rooms were layed out very nice and not overly pricey! We spent some time in the Lazy Dog Salloon and had a great time watching sport on the TV. Overall Great Experieance and I would reccomend this place.

Room Tip: stay close to the pool end of the hotel
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, VP of Sales & Marketing at Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Hi Chris!

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience with everyone. It is great to hear you have noticed our many renovations and enjoyed your recent stay. Please be sure to stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

During my 2 night stay I found the staff to be professional, friendly, helpful, problem solvers, interested, diligent, and certainly rank at the top of the list of my staff friendly hotels.
I found the HOTEL LACKING. The beds were UNcomfortable. The sink water pressure was very LOW & did not drain well. The shower never did heat up although it was 1:00am. The soda machines were labeled out of order and empty - probably because they wanted you to order from the front desk. The furnishings were clean but dated. The hallways were dark and somewhat confusing. The parking was overcrowded with commercial vehicles. The first night there I only saw men in the hallways and no women or families.

I found myself uncomfortable with the configuration of the hotel building itself - it was extremely long with the front desk at one extreme end. Consequently, when I was relegated to the other extreme end of the hotel, I was a tad spooked. The parking lot was not well lit and it was situated on a hill on a curve so that it was very isolated. Combined with the steep hill down to the interstate and the abundance of commercial vehicles - it was not favorable to me. I don't know why they would - knowing I was traveling alone - put me at so far a distance from the front desk. A little bit of thinking could have diverted that. Thanks to the staff - but the hotel itself would score a D.

Room Tip: Ask to be close to the end where the front desk is located. Ask for a renovated room. If noise sensi...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel4Bizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, VP of Sales & Marketing at Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, both the positive and constructive information provided is extremely useful to us and future guests. We are thrilled that you stayed with us and found our staff to exceed expectations; allow me to take a moment to also address some of your other points and concerns…
1. The water pressure/heating & drain issue are certainly not acceptable and will be addressed immediately by our head of maintenance!
2. Soda Machines – we actually just installed new machines which most likely were labeled ‘Out of Order’ because they had not yet been stocked when you arrived – My sincerest apologies for the confusion.
3. Furnishings – Noted and are in the process of being completely replaced. All lobby & lounge area furnishings should actually be replaced within the next week! =)
4. Hallways being dark has not been mentioned but is certainly a reasonable issue to address and will be reviewed promptly.
5. As for commercial vehicles we are very proud to have some of our best and most frequent guests from local utility companies in the area to service the community.
6. We will also discuss the importance of special considerations for guests traveling alone with our front desk staff – thank you for pointing that opportunity out to us!
Thank you again for visiting us and please considering giving us another shot in the future. You may call me or the GM directly with any other thoughts or for information on future reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our stay was excellent. The room was very clean, warm upon arrival (great since it was snowing outside) ;0) The housekeeping staff were all very professional, friendly and very helpful. Curtis Sullivan working the front desk upon check in was so very friendly and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was wonderful, even checking on us in the pool area to see if we needed anything before his shift ended for the evening. We are in town at least once a month and we always stayed downtown Charleston, that will now change, we will be staying at Comfort Inn Cross Lanes going forward. Please pass along our thanks to Mr. Sullivan for his kindness and extra attention during our visit, it was very much appreciated and I have put you down as our new corporate stay while in town for business as well. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, VP of Sales & Marketing at Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you Sonya! We really appreciate your business and your feedback. Please be sure to stay with again soon. =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I was traveling from South Carolina, back home to Boston and decided to stop at this hotel to stay for the night, and man am i glad i did. This place is fantastic! When i arrived, it was around 9pm and i was greeted by a front desk guy named Curtis with a smile and a "Welcome to Comfort Inn!" It was a quick and easy check in and he reminded me of the free hot breakfast in the morning (which is DELICIOUS by the way) the pool location and hours (unfortunately the waterfall was off due to maintenance.) he told me about the bar, and also about the new sitting area with coffee and a beautiful fireplace to keep warm during the snow-showers. The rooms are also very nice, very long hallway, but the walk is worth it. I honestly cannot say one bad thing about this stay. The prices, breakfast, rooms, staff, everything... simply amazing. Curtis was also nice enough to hold a conversation with me about my hometown Red Sox. This place isn't just any other hotel, its a home away from home.

Room Tip: Stay in the King room if you can!!!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnorM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, VP of Sales & Marketing at Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Wow - thank you so much Conner! We are so pleased to hear your stay was so wonderful (although we do apologize for the waterfall being unavailable for use - please feel free to call us and we will make it up to you).

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers and hope to see you again very soon! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cross Lanes
0.9 mi away
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
1,039 reviews
14.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston

Address: 102 Racer Dr, Cross Lanes, WV 25313-1472 (Formerly Comfort Inn Charleston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cross Lanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cross Lanes
Price Range: $103 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Mardi Gras Casino in Cross Lanes, WV near Charleston, WV, we offer a 100% non-smoking hotel with a shopping center, theater, dining and attractions. We have 136 rooms, a Large Tropical Indoor Pool with Waterfall, Spa, Sauna, an Outdoor Pool, plus Fitness Center, Business Center with three computers with High-Speed Internet, and don't forget the Garden Grille our full service restaurant just off our large lobby with fireplace. Breakfast buffet available. We also offer some unique services and features you may not find at every hotel, such as: Fully stocked Sundry Room, Guest Laundry, and a Picnic Area with grill . From the moment you arrive at Wyndham Garden, we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you and fulfill even the unexpressed wishes and needs of our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Garden Hotel Cross Lanes Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Charleston Wv Hotel Cross Lanes
Comfort Inn Cross Lanes
Cross Lanes Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing