We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above and beyond!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cross Lanes
Sykesville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Above and beyond!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel we were checked in to a room without a refrigerator. The hotel is under renovation which explained why the room did not have one. Our check in person, George, asked if we could use a container with ice to accommodate our needs. We said yes. George proceeded to have one of the staff fill a container with ice for us. To our astonishment, he had provided his own cooler and had the staff member fill it with ice! He was so polite and willing to do whatever it took to make our stay wonderful. We met the hotel manager upon check out and she too was very pleasant and happy to hear of our experience. She said that she maintains high quality personnel and she strives for excellence. She has attained that excellence. We would highly recommend this hotel. The Rhodes of Maryland

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, VP of Sales & Marketing at Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Jim,

Thank you so much for your feedback and including the name of the staff member which made your stay so memorable! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    56
    53
    17
    13
See reviews for
96
81
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
408 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Excellent staff who made our stay there very comfortable. Relaxing pool and wonderful facility to exercise. Clean and comfortable rooms. The casino and dog track very close to the hotel, Close to shopping and dining. They made us feel as though we were part of their family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dafacct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, VP of Sales & Marketing at Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with everyone. We are so pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable and we love that you felt like family!

Please be sure to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon,Il
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed there in late August even looking at some bad reviews. The front desk people were most pleasant. The room was clean and more than adequate. The pool area looked great although we did not use it. Breakfast was as good as any motel and better than most. The front desk helped us get the shuttle to the casino and gave us directions on how to return to the motel.
We liked the facility so well that we returned to celebrate our 50th anniversary on 9-01. The only reason it wasn't a 5 was that the ice maker wasn't working near our room. We will stay there again if we get even close!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the remodeled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, VP of Sales & Marketing at Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dave,
Thank you for your recent stay at our Comfort Inn. It is wonderful to hear that you had a pleasant experience and plan to return! We do take every review very seriously and always do our very best to work on any issues. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

rooms were very clean and comfortable. noise from the hallway was extremely loud. breakfast was good, hot and cold items. indoor and outdoor pools looked inviting, but did not use. staff very friendly. shuttle to casino. shopping and restaurants close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, VP of Sales & Marketing at Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is an OUTSTANDING hotel in so many aspects! The most outstanding aspect being the Management & Staff, everyone and I do mean everyone, was so friendly and helpful making our nearly two week stay comfortable and memorable. Everyday began with a wonderful & tasty Breakfast Buffet overseen by a staff member who kept everthing refilled, hot & appetizing and served up with smiles and warmth. The pools and lounge (with awesome food & beverage specials) were fun & delightful. The friendly housekeeping staff was never intrusive yet you seen their presence in every clean detail! The maintenace staff was busy with the many updates and improvements to the hotel were ambassidors of "Showing Pride" in the overall improvements they were making. There was a lot of renovation going on during our stay, yet it was never a nuisance or obstructive to enjoying our stay, we've had the opportunity to go back twice since our first visit and see the completion of several of the updates and the word is WOW! On our return visit we were greeted and remembered by the staff like we were family, how refreshing! Our compliments to the General Manager. This hotel & her exceptional staff put the word "Comfort" in the Inn!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, VP of Sales & Marketing at Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hello Melanie,

It is so wonderful to hear that you had such an amazing experience while visiting us! We have been trying very hard to make major improvements to all aspects of our hotel and it is very rewarding to hear those are not going unnoticed. We value your feedback and appreciate your business tremendously. Please be sure to stay with us again and ‘Like’ us on Facebook for specials!

Thank you again for staying with us. =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were vacationing in our RV when we experienced engine problems about 35 miles north of Charleston, WV. We were towed to a Ford dealer in the city and were forced to find a pet-friendly hotel on short notice while our RV was repaired. We were so fortunate to find the Comfort Inn at Cross Lanes, about 10 miles from the Ford dealer. It was an oasis where we felt cared for and comfortable while we waited for our RV repairs and had to make decisions about what to do in the meantime.

We showed up at the hotel just after the 3pm check-in time with a dog, luggage, all the food from our RV refrigerator, and a lot of stress and anxiety. Curtis immediately welcomed us and checked us in quickly and easily. Later in the evening we asked if we could extend the stay for another night, and there was no problem whatsoever. Curtis made sure to explain the hours for the two pools, the complimentary breakfast, and the lounge. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed: two double beds, a large dresser, desk, and (very important under the circumstances), a dorm-size refrigerator which held all our food, and a microwave oven. Everything was clean and there was plenty of room. The hotel has free (and fast!) wifi in all the rooms, which was really critical for us. Our pet-friendly room was right near one of the outside doors, so we could go in and out quickly without bothering anyone else.

On the first morning, I used the exercise room. When I had trouble using one of the machines, I asked an employee who was cleaning in the area for help. When she couldn’t help me, she immediately went to get help from another employee who got it started for me. I’m sorry I didn’t notice her name, but later she recognized me in the hall and asked if I’d enjoyed my workout. Everyone I saw or spoke to on staff was friendly and welcoming.

After I exercised, I used the pool. I can’t emphasize how beautiful the pool is—it reminded me of the pool on a cruise ship, with comfortable furniture, mosaics, and a waterfall. The hot tub is also great, and there is another pool outside as well. The tables in the area of both pools were great places to sit with the laptop and catch up on email and make plans for the rest of our vacation. The breakfast area is large and comfortable, and nearby in the lobby are some comfortable couches—there was plenty of room in the hotel for us to hang out and it was a great place to be “stuck” for a few days.

For meals, we had all our own food from the RV, and outside was a gazebo with chairs, a picnic table, and even a grill. We were able to cook and eat our own dinner without having to go out to a restaurant. This is great for lunch too if you have a pet, because obviously you can’t leave the animal in the car while you go to a restaurant during the day. If I would make one small change, I would have liked a table in our room as well. I see from the website photos that some rooms do have a table, and maybe there was no room with all the other furniture and refrigerator which we did have in our pet-friendly room. A table in the room would have helped in our particular case, but the picnic table outside helped make up for it, and most people are probably not looking for a place to eat dinner in their room!

Later on the second evening, I had a problem with my room key, and found Kayla at the front desk. She was lovely, polite, helpful, and answered a few questions for me. She and Curtis, who was on duty again as well, got me straightened out with the key and they both made sure I had everything I needed. They also made sure that I knew that there was fresh coffee available at the complimentary coffee bar (which includes cookies too. And there is a popcorn machine as well.)

After two days, we were told our RV repairs would stretch through the weekend, so we decided to leave the hotel and go visit relatives until Monday. But we were so comfortable at the hotel that we stayed an extra night just to relax a little more and recover from the stress of the breakdown. If we hadn’t had family to go to, I would have been perfectly happy to stay here. We are fans of Comfort Inn, mostly because they are pet-friendly and the breakfasts are very good. But this location was exceptional and I can reassure you that you will be well taken care of. The facilities were clean, comfortable, and well-maintained. We slept well, there was lots of hot water—the basics were all there, and so many extras which meant a lot to us in this circumstance. I see they are expanding their lobby area, and it looks like it will be even nicer in the future, but it is really great right now as it is. As I said, we felt really lucky that we found it during our emergency.

Room Tip: If you don't need a pet-friendly room and don't mind the stairs, you might prefer the 2nd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, VP of Sales & Marketing at Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hello Deborah,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. It is wonderful to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our Comfort Inn. As a dog lover myself, it makes me very happy to hear we were able to accommodate your beloved pet.

Please stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Having stayed in multiple motels on this trip this was our favorite. The front desk was very helpful in changing one of the rooms to 2 queens from 2 doubles, especially since it was booked thru Expedia. My son loved the pool and the breakfast selection was the most extensive of all our stops.

Room Tip: Ask for the 2 queen rooms, they have all been recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghmagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, VP of Sales & Marketing at Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. It is wonderful to hear you had a positive experience at our hotel. Please be sure to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cross Lanes
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
6.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston

Property: Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston
Address: 102 Racer Dr, Cross Lanes, WV 25313-1472 (Formerly Comfort Inn Charleston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cross Lanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cross Lanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Mardi Gras Casino in Cross Lanes, WV near Charleston, WV, we offer a 100% non-smoking hotel with a shopping center, theater, dining and attractions. We have 136 rooms, a Large Tropical Indoor Pool with Waterfall, Spa, Sauna, an Outdoor Pool, plus Fitness Center, Business Center with three computers with High-Speed Internet, and don't forget the Garden Grille our full service restaurant just off our large lobby with fireplace. Breakfast buffet available. We also offer some unique services and features you may not find at every hotel, such as: Fully stocked Sundry Room, Guest Laundry, and a Picnic Area with grill . From the moment you arrive at Wyndham Garden, we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you and fulfill even the unexpressed wishes and needs of our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Cross Lanes Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Charleston Wv Hotel Cross Lanes
Comfort Inn Cross Lanes
Cross Lanes Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing