We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Charleston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Charleston to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Racer Drive, Cross Lanes, WV 25313   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cross Lanes
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

After a long haul all day from Northern Illinois en route to North Carolina, we decided to pull off the Highway and get a room at the Comfort Inn after seeing an Indoor pool advertisement on a road side billboard. As I went to check us in the clerk asked if I had any sort of discount to apply to the room rate AAA, military, etc. When I responded no, she gave us a 10% discount for no reason at all. This was very welcoming to me. The room was very clean and roomy. The Wi-Fi was quick. The pool area was breathtaking for a roadside hotel, with plants, a jacuzzi, and even a Sauna. In the morning, I was very impressed with the hot breakfast buffet as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area, and also plan to return on my next trip!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferdusing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We have stayed at this Comfort Inn Many, many times over the last 6 years. The Tri State Racing track is right down the street with Casino Gambling. Love the Breakfast that is Free at the Comfort Inn!! We try to meet friends once a year from NC, Oh, and KY at this Comfort Inn.. Each renting a room and each just as nice as the other ones.. Roomy, clean, and comfortable. The computers in the front of the motel are used each time we go and enough so there is never a line to use... We are planning on another stay at the end of the month...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnestgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago vicinity
Level Contributor
215 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

This is a "just off the interstate" hotel located midpoint on the homeward leg of our Carolina vacation. It was the second time we've stayed here and my remarks are mostly the same as my review from last year.

The hotel is pet-friendly in an area with surprisingly few pet-friendly options. This motel is pricier that other "just off the interstate" motels, but this property does have several amenities those other properties lack, namely a nice indoor pool. We planned for an early check in on this trip so that we could relax around the pool. Unfortunately, 200 other guests had the exact same plan.

The motel staff at check in and check out were friendly. My wait to check in took excessively long, though that wasn't the fault of the clerk. It was sooo long, and caused by circumstances that actually made the ordeal downright funny in retrospect. The poor clerk had to first check in a group of seniors. They fussed over everything, the room rate, having to use stairs to get to their rooms, how they were going to pay. Then, after being checked in, one woman changed her mind about wanting to stay there and so the whole group decided to go someplace else, thus necessitating refunds for all of their rooms. And the next person in line was a Chinese gentlemen with a limited command of English. And, naturally, motel clerks in West Virginia typically don't have any better command of Mandarin. It was the sort of situation Groucho Marx could have made into a movie classic.

The motel is within a short driving distance of a lot of businesses and restaurants (mostly fast food), but nothing that you could easily walk to. We skipped the comp breakfast buffet because it was too crowded.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigTool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

My boyfriend and I have stayed at this particular motel no fewer than 20 times. My first time was when our daughter was a month old. We love that everyone knows her name and has been able to watch her grow. She is nowc 20 months old and I cannot wait for our next trip! The rates are a little pricey, but I have never had a problem with anything else and I know great service, because I have worked in the hospitality industry for 20 yrs! So it surprises me to read such negative reviews on the comfort Inn at Cross Lanes, WV.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We have stayed in 3 Choice hotels this year and this one is the least of the 3. That being said, The hotel is not that bad and I might actually stay here again. Like most people WV is half way home from everywhere and we stayed here for one last dip in the pool before the vacation was over.

The indoor pool is by far the nicest I have seen in a long time. The tropical theme and waterfall feature are pretty cool for a hotel in this class. The hot tub is tucked back in some palme trees and they have a 2 person sauna in the pool area as well. It was rainy so we did not check out the outdoor pool area.

They have a bar onsite with a limited snacking menu of things that can be heated in the industrial toaster over. There is a bar scene at the Lazy Dog Saloon and makes for great people watching as you have a few beers and unwind from your drive. The bartender was actually very good and made some obscure mixed drinks off the top of her head.

The rooms are only so-so, and there is definitely a smoke-smell in the halls, though not in the rooms. Compared to other Choice Hotels we have stayed in the rooms were only average. Slightly cramped, but updated and clean. The hotel staff was very accommodating and did their best to meet our needs.

For the money this is an average value. Rooms in the Charleston area are in the $100 range because they know they are half way to everywhere. Cross lanes is evidently near a casino wo they keep the rates jacked up too. I was not dispelased with my stay, but I was not wowed either.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnWV, Owner at Comfort Inn Charleston, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
How can we help?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, West Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

My wife and I wanted to take a little mini-vacation to hang at the pool and do some gambling. I checked out all the local motels and decided on Comfort Inn for two nights. All the motels in the area were pricey at around $100/night. I could find no deals on the internet, probably because they appear to be full quite often. Nevertheless, when reserving the room I was given a senior discount. That was cool. I did notice that not all rooms have refridges or microwaves and requested one when making the reservation. The attendant advised calling the morning of arrival to check as that is when the rooms are assigned. I called twice and received a call back as they were very busy, but we got the refridge. They said they hope to have all rooms with refridges soon but they are only in 80% of the rooms. There were three free high speed computers for use...great. Local and USA Today papers were free to read. A small bar (with a pool table!) provided limited appetizers and reasonable prices. It was adjacent to the outdoor pool and they would bring food to you at poolside. There was also an indoor pool and exercise equipment available which we didn't use. The rooms were fine and clean. The shower head worked well. There was a free shuttle on call to and from the casino. Breakfast was good although we missed it once and arrived late the second time. Coffee was available all day. The Housekeeping staff were very friendly and they did their job well. The pool was perfect and allowed for sunbathing, drinking, eating and socializing with friends...as well as a cooling dip when getting too hot.
All in all, this was just what we wanted. And they delivered. We will do it again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We were heading back home from our trip to the Carolina Coast and needed a place to stay for the night. We waited until the last minute, and assumed we could get a hotel in Charleston proper at a Marriot. For some crazy reason almost every hotel was booked from 20 miles south east to 10 miles west! We saw the road sign and quickly called from the highway and got a room. I was quite skeptical after having a "luxury" vacation, but this hotel was super clean! and the front desk clerk was super friendly and welcoming as we came in at 9pm with a 2 and 4 year old ready for bed!
The only thing you need to make sure(if you're a non-smoker) is get a NON-smoking room. We got one, but had to walk through the "smoking" area and it was thick!!
All in all, I wanted to make sure to share this review because it really did exceed my expectations!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelilngwithfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cross Lanes
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
9.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
6.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Charleston

Address: 102 Racer Drive, Cross Lanes, WV 25313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cross Lanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cross Lanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Mardi Gras Casino in Cross Lanes, WV near Charleston, WV, we offer a 100% non-smoking hotel with a shopping center, theater, dining and attractions. We have 137 rooms, a Large Tropical Indoor Pool with Waterfall, Spa, Sauna, an Outdoor Pool, plus Fitness Center, Business Center with three computers with High-Speed Internet, and don't forget the Lazy Dog Saloon just off our large lobby with fireplace. FREE BREAKFAST Featuring: fresh scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, flavored waffles, sausage gravy and biscuits, an assortment of donuts, bagels, pastries, cereal, yogurt, fruit, and juices. We also offer some unique services and features you may not find at every hotel, such as: Fully stocked Sundry Room, Guest Laundry, Picnic Area with grill ,Coffee Bar in Lobby - fresh coffee with cookies (24 hours). From the moment you arrive at Comfort Inn we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you and fulfill even the unexpressed wishes and needs of our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Charleston Wv Hotel Cross Lanes
Comfort Inn Cross Lanes
Cross Lanes Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing