We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food! Step back in time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wonder Bar Steakhouse

The Wonder Bar Steakhouse
Ranked #3 of 72 Restaurants in Clarksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food! Step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here a couple times, both times were great! The first our reservation was 15 mins late and the manager offered us a free glad of wine. The steaks are great and may be the only place to cook them properly in the area. The crab cake was fantastic. The homemade wine is great too. Our service was good. It is expensive but worth it! They are currently remodeling and I hear there is new management but everything was a great as our previous visit! I can't wait for their expansion!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WVU2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W, Owner at The Wonder Bar Steakhouse, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We can't wait for our expansion to be completed either and we're happy to hear you've enjoyed your recent visits to The Wonder Bar Steakhouse!! Lots more great things to come at this historic icon in Clarksburg, WV!

All the best,
Daniel Watts
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    23
    9
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Intimate upstairs table, great steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Husband and I went here tonight after being on the road for several days. The intimate setting upstairs in this forties-style bar was perfect! Steak was tender, service was friendly and helpful, and the music ranged from Frank Sinatra to Glen Miller. A nice evening for these out-of-towners.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luvztravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
170 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Thanks to Trip Advisor we found this great local treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We're it not for Trip Advisor we would have missed the excellent steaks, sides and locals of this hidden gem as we were driving through West Virginia. The steaks melt in your mouth and the wedge salad takes you back to the restaurant's founding in 1946. The friendly patrons and staff made us feel welcome and since ours was the only out of state car in the packed parking lot, that was really something. We ate at a table in the bar where the fixed a perfect Granny Smith Apple tini!
Treated our kids well as well. Do not pass this one by but do go to maps to find out how to get there. It is hidden off the main road.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Freddiemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife, daughter and I all woke this morning talking about much we enjoyed our dinner at the Wonder Bar last night, so a review spreading the word on this West Virginian gem seemed like the least I could do.
We went with another couple and their daughter to treat ourselves to a good steak, we were not disappointed . Our appetizers of filet tips in hot bleu cheese, crispy calamari, cheese roll italiano with homemade pasta sauce and the roasted red pepper dip with seasoned toast were delicious and all I would have again.
My wife and daughter both had the filet as an entree and I decided to go with the New York Strip. All three were cooked perfectly to our liking and were absolutely wonderful, as were the sides. I also feel the need to mention the wedge salad with bleu cheese dressing and bacon......amazing!!
The desserts were amazing also and our daughter was only disappointed that she couldn’t finish her sundae........which, I gladly did.
The staff at the wonder bar were so friendly and really made you feel welcome and at home. They really helped make the experience one to remember along with the excellent food and wine (great selection!!!).
Thank you Wonder Bar........you’re our new favourite place!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank damianbrandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W, Owner at The Wonder Bar Steakhouse, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for the great comments regarding our staff. They are the very BEST OF THE BEST in my opinion!! We are thrilled to know you enjoyed the evening and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Your daughter was the hit of the evening!!


All the Best,
Danny Watts
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
396 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Excellent as Always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Any time we are in Clarksburg we try to go to the Wonder Bar for cocktails or dinner. In my opinion, it is the best place to eat in town. Definitely the best steaks and lobster. This trip we didn't have time for dinner, but stopped in for cocktails. Nick always takes excellent care of us. We always order the Tips in Blue appetizer - so yummy. I was friends with the former owner and had the pleasure of meeting the new owner this visit. He is very nice and seems to be keeping the restaurant as it has been for years, only making subtle changes. I look forward to going the next time we're in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pletzkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W, Owner at The Wonder Bar Steakhouse, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
It was a pleasure meeting you as well and looking forward to seeing you again. Hope your travels were safe and thank you again for stopping in.

Best regards,
Danny Watts
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wonder Bar Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Wonder Bar Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing