We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place Even for the Non-Adventurous”

NROCKS Outdoor Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: NROCKS Outdoor Adventures, formerly known as the Nelson Rocks Outdoor Center, is a privately-owned adventure destination that encompasses 145 mountainous acres, including the two Tuscarora Quartzite fins of Nelson Rocks. Located in the beautiful North Fork Valley of Pendleton County, West Virginia, NROCKS is home to a Via Ferrata, The North Fork Valley Canopy Tour, and incredible guided rock climbing trips. Come visit and experience an adventure of a lifetime!
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place Even for the Non-Adventurous”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My visit to Nelson Rocks was a result of a wedding in the area. I needed a room close to the event. There are 8 rooms available. All are on the second floor with a spacious porch area with rockers and other chairs. It was great to sit on the porch and enjoy the great views and wonderful breeze.

The room was spotless. There was a queen bed as well as a set of bunk beds. There was a modern bath with all the needed supplies. Be aware that there is no TV or phone. There is however free wi-fi.

I talked with some other guests who were there for the climbing and zip line experience. They said they had a great time. There are also hiking trails on site.

Snacks are available in the lobby.

If you are looking for a beautiful place to get away from it all or a place to have a bit of an adventure, Nelson Rocks is for you. If you are looking to be in the lap of luxury surrounded by technology, go somewhere else.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    11
    1
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
almost heaven
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Limestone fins are a hidden gem in WV”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Via Ferrata is a little known adventure that challenges the natural fear of heights. Experienced guides train you to be safe and monitor your progress during the 4 hour climb. This is a must do WV experience!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank aquadocdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Adrenaline rushes!!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Do not attempt this if you are out of shape, afraid of heights, can't get dirty, whine or need a five star place to stay. If you are in to adventure, physical and emotional challenges, gorgeous scenery, can sleep in a remote mountainside cabin and cook your own food over a fire pit or grill then you do not want to miss this! If you are not too exhausted after the via Ferrata or zip line then go to the lake at Spruce Knob lake down the road for a swim.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karmaisfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC Metro Area
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“West Virginia's Eiger Mountain - well, almost”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

They say that Via Ferrata is Italian for "Iron Road" - Nelson Rocks' Via Ferrata means AWESOME in every language! My daughter and I spent about 4 hours clipping and climbing this weekend and had a BLAST. We've never done any climbing beyond trying to scale the climbing wall once or twice at vacation resorts but one of the beauties of the Via Ferrata is that no experience is necessary. They fit you up with all the gear you need and teach you how to use it in about 10 minutes. Moderately uncomfortable at heights - aren't we all? My palms sweat just looking at the pictures that we took! At times my legs were shaking but I wasn't sure whether it was from fatigue or fear (or both)! Check out the pictures on the Nelsonrocks.org website and TRUST ME, those are the real deal - no camera angles used to make it look scary. The views from the tops of the fin are amazing - the fall colors were in full bloom this past weekend! This is a GREAT activity to do as a family, with some friends, or as an office team building event. Make sure you have a little backpack with some water in it and whatever you do don't leave your camera behind! Josh and Tony served as our small group's guides and did an amazing job at keeping us safe, making it fun, and ensuring that we all got through it. The only down side to Nelson Rocks is that there really is nothing nearby - restaurants, stores, hotels, etc. On second thought, though, that's also one of the things that makes it so great. We drove 3 hours to get there, spent 4+ hours climbing, then went to Canaan Valley resort to spend the night. This is not something you do when you're "in the area" ... make a plan and do it - you won't be sorry! Oh, who can do it? Anyone who puts their mind to it - I'm nearly 60 and spend 12 hours a day sitting behind a desk.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank sliptak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience, super views. Truly a magical place.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Wonderful guided adventure. The Via Ferrata is super cool and the views are unmatched. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable. I would recommend the Via Ferrata to anyone. Second best attraction in WV behind the fall Gauley whitewater season. The Via Ferrata requires a 5 mile hike up and down steep terrain and lots of stamina to complete the climb but is so worth the effort. Views were unmatched. The tour passes a very rare American Chestnut tree over 150' up the cliff. The zip lines were OK. The Nelson Rock Preserve also offers camping, lodging and day use passes for their land ($5). Wear layered quick dry clothing, sturdy shoes and sun glasses. Via Ferrata tour will be rescheduled or refunded without penalty if the weather is bad. Truly a magical place. Close to Seneca Rocks. Good eats, lodging and micro brews available in and around Davis, WV. Via Ferrata tour runs year round! They have a great website if you have questions or want more info. Friendly staff even on the phone! Bring lots of water! Via Ferrata tour will take 4-5 hours with a big group.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank greenluck007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NROCKS Outdoor Adventures also viewed

 

Been to NROCKS Outdoor Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing