We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
NROCK Rocks!

NROCK has to be one of the best places for fun. The area is quite and secluded. Team members go out... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Traveler55540691107
via mobile
Super Awesome!!

One of the most awesome adventures I have ever been on. The views are amazing, the climbing is fun... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
ericac3398
via mobile
Read all 223 reviews
  
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
206
11
1
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
206
11
1
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock climbing canopy tour climbing experience fear of heights zip line west virginia nelson rocks bucket list comfort zone an amazing experience running shoes upper body strength rock face hand holds life changing guide garrett helped everyone
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 223 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Via Ferrata is a little known adventure that challenges the natural fear of heights. Experienced guides train you to be safe and monitor your progress during the 4 hour climb. This is a must do WV experience!

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank aquadocdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Do not attempt this if you are out of shape, afraid of heights, can't get dirty, whine or need a five star place to stay. If you are in to adventure, physical and emotional challenges, gorgeous scenery, can sleep in a remote mountainside cabin and cook your own food over a fire pit or grill then you do not want to miss this! If you are not too exhausted after the via Ferrata or zip line then go to the lake at Spruce Knob lake down the road for a swim.

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank Karmaisfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

They say that Via Ferrata is Italian for "Iron Road" - Nelson Rocks' Via Ferrata means AWESOME in every language! My daughter and I spent about 4 hours clipping and climbing this weekend and had a BLAST. We've never done any climbing beyond trying to scale the climbing wall once or twice at vacation resorts but one of the beauties of the Via Ferrata is that no experience is necessary. They fit you up with all the gear you need and teach you how to use it in about 10 minutes. Moderately uncomfortable at heights - aren't we all? My palms sweat just looking at the pictures that we took! At times my legs were shaking but I wasn't sure whether it was from fatigue or fear (or both)! Check out the pictures on the Nelsonrocks.org website and TRUST ME, those are the real deal - no camera angles used to make it look scary. The views from the tops of the fin are amazing - the fall colors were in full bloom this past weekend! This is a GREAT activity to do as a family, with some friends, or as an office team building event. Make sure you have a little backpack with some water in it and whatever you do don't leave your camera behind! Josh and Tony served as our small group's guides and did an amazing job at keeping us safe, making it fun, and ensuring that we all got through it. The only down side to Nelson Rocks is that there really is nothing nearby - restaurants, stores, hotels, etc. On second thought, though, that's also one of the things that makes it so great. We drove 3 hours to get there, spent 4+ hours climbing, then went to Canaan Valley resort to spend the night. This is not something you do when you're "in the area" ... make a plan and do it - you won't be sorry! Oh, who can do it? Anyone who puts their mind to it - I'm nearly 60 and spend 12 hours a day sitting behind a desk.

Date of experience: October 2013
9  Thank sliptak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Wonderful guided adventure. The Via Ferrata is super cool and the views are unmatched. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable. I would recommend the Via Ferrata to anyone. Second best attraction in WV behind the fall Gauley whitewater season. The Via Ferrata requires a 5 mile hike up and down steep terrain and lots of stamina to complete the climb but is so worth the effort. Views were unmatched. The tour passes a very rare American Chestnut tree over 150' up the cliff. The zip lines were OK. The Nelson Rock Preserve also offers camping, lodging and day use passes for their land ($5). Wear layered quick dry clothing, sturdy shoes and sun glasses. Via Ferrata tour will be rescheduled or refunded without penalty if the weather is bad. Truly a magical place. Close to Seneca Rocks. Good eats, lodging and micro brews available in and around Davis, WV. Via Ferrata tour runs year round! They have a great website if you have questions or want more info. Friendly staff even on the phone! Bring lots of water! Via Ferrata tour will take 4-5 hours with a big group.

Date of experience: October 2013
3  Thank greenluck007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

a great overall experince to start my whirlwind tour of west Virginia. .. the guides are awesome, thanks matt and cody.
the office staff was very helpful, and I enjoyed the cabins
I would suggest this to anyone who seeks adventure.

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank crossroads2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews