We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Incredible full moon adventure!

The full moon Via Ferrata was a fantastic experience! Guide Emily was the perfect balance of... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
lisakara
,
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
An experience you'll never forget!

The NRocks Via Ferrata experience was incredible. It was a little more physically demanding than... read more

Reviewed October 20, 2020
MoreMountainsPlease
Read all 304 reviews
  
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveler rating
285
13
1
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
285
13
1
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews via ferrata rock climbing canopy tour climbing experience fear of heights nelson rocks west virginia full moon zip line an amazing experience upper body strength bucket list rock face adrenaline rush great adventure suspension bridge fun experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 304 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Wonderful guided adventure. The Via Ferrata is super cool and the views are unmatched. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable. I would recommend the Via Ferrata to anyone. Second best attraction in WV behind the fall Gauley whitewater season. The Via Ferrata requires a 5 mile hike up and down steep terrain and lots of stamina to complete the climb but is so worth the effort. Views were unmatched. The tour passes a very rare American Chestnut tree over 150' up the cliff. The zip lines were OK. The Nelson Rock Preserve also offers camping, lodging and day use passes for their land ($5). Wear layered quick dry clothing, sturdy shoes and sun glasses. Via Ferrata tour will be rescheduled or refunded without penalty if the weather is bad. Truly a magical place. Close to Seneca Rocks. Good eats, lodging and micro brews available in and around Davis, WV. Via Ferrata tour runs year round! They have a great website if you have questions or want more info. Friendly staff even on the phone! Bring lots of water! Via Ferrata tour will take 4-5 hours with a big group.

Date of experience: October 2013
3  Thank Greenluck840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

a great overall experince to start my whirlwind tour of west Virginia. .. the guides are awesome, thanks matt and cody.
the office staff was very helpful, and I enjoyed the cabins
I would suggest this to anyone who seeks adventure.

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank crossroads2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I loved our trip on the via! We had an outstanding guide and a small lovely group. We had amazing weather and great views! If you have an extra $100 or so to spend, go here!

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank sjk520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

LOVE this place. We just got back from our 6th trip at Nelson Rocks. The VIA is always so much fun and our guide, Josh, was amazing. We couldn't have asked for more beautiful weather. The staff is always extremely helpful, friendly and professional. The last time we went, we were expecting to do a moonlight climb but the weather did not cooperate. The staff rescheduled the climb for the next day and gave us back the difference in price. They are always so willing to accommodate. We stayed in the cabins which have had many upgrades since we first started going in 2010. There is now a bath house with running hot water. The cabins have solar power so there is a little light. I love it there and it's such a nice weekend getaway.

Date of experience: September 2013
2  Thank screwymeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

NROC's via ferrata is one of the best outdoor adventure in the east. The location is fantastic, close to many other great hiking venues in eastern WV. We ended up staying two nights in their fairly new guest house. The rooms are spare, but very clean and adequate for short stays. Don't expect a hotel or hotel service, but everything was handled efficiently and with a smile. Pre-trip information about the via was very helpful. (Don't do this if you have a fear of heights or are not in good shape.) Our guide, Tony, was experienced, knowledgeable, and added much to the experience.

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews