We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“room not the greatest”

The Mountaineer Race Track & Gaming Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Chester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Entertainment mega-complex offers a variety of games and excitement including 3,200 slots, thoroughbred racing, live entertainment, sporting events, golf and full-service spa and fitness center.
youngstown,ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“room not the greatest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I love to go for the action, although I don't win, we had a free night and decided to use the offer. The rooms although in the tower which is in the newer section of the resort was dirty. Looked like snot on the sofa cushion, the bathroom was not the cleanest either. I know it was free but come on it was a weekday. Like going cause it's not all that far from home, overall we had a good time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    66
    57
    38
    44
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poland, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun, not finance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We love going to Mountaineer because it has a vibrancy that makes you happy. The casino offers good food at reasonable prices in a variety of venues. Of course we wish that we could win every time we go, but chances are...what they are.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mamasooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun for all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I like the race track so we always go when they are racing, There are slots there also but very many.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Schuffay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a winner!! Bon Vie Steakhouse is a winner!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Casino needs to change and let people win more if they are to compete. The decor is o,k. Never can find a waitress for a drink. Takes a long time if machine is not working for an employee to come.
The steakhouse is excellent - excellent!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sue941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suburban Wash, DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“hard to find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had printed directions from Googlemaps, had a Garmin Nuvi, and GPS on an Android phone. None of them got us there. We had to stop and ask for directions. Maybe that's because it's in Newell but the address on tripadvisor says Chester.

The actual casino was not bad, just darker than most casinos. I mean really dark. It seems that if there was a machine that people liked 5 years ago, this casino had tons of them. There must have been 50 - 60 of one machine in particular.

The buffet was a welcome surprise. On a Sunday afternoon, before 4:00, it was only $10 and was quite tasty.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank FergieSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mountaineer Race Track & Gaming Resort also viewed

 

Been to The Mountaineer Race Track & Gaming Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing