We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Getaway Weekend”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I have been to the Mountaineer on several trips and my overall experience has been excellent. This trip I did enjoy the hotel entertainment, and dining at the Gatsby. This trip the buffet was good not excellent like in the past visits. I was suppose to have a non-smoking room, however, the room had a heavy smoke order. This property is a Casino also, so, I would like to suggest that they expand their non-smoking space for their non-smoking slot and gaming players as the property in the main casino is so smokey that after about 15 minutes your eyes are burning and your clothes are smoke filled.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jussy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    63
    30
    14
    7
See reviews for
25
82
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NORTH RIDGEVILLE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Spent a few days here in February with the hubby!
Have to say, I read the reveiws here and was a little hesitant to go.
But we had a free hotel offer and some free slot play, so we decided to give it a try!
We had a great experience, there has definately been some huge improvements since we last visited almost a year ago.
The hotel; we stayed in a non smoking room and found it to be clean, well kept, no odors or anything negative people had previously stated on this reveiw site.
The food: most of our meals were at The Gatsby - definite improvements here! The food was good, reasonably priced, service was great, we got our food right away, and they added some great new items to their menu.
The casino - sorry, I have to say this to all the people who lose big money, we had a blast! We loved all the new macines, altough some were hard to get on. I won over $2,000.00 in our three day stay. Yes, part of it is luck, but another BIG PART IS DISCIPLINE!!! I don't know how many times I've bene at a casino and see people winning big time, then they get greedy, continue to play and end up losing at least half, if not all of their winnings!
BIG TIP: Learn how to cash out when you're up! You can always go to another macine! Some parts of the casino were smoky, but hey, it's a casino! If people really hate smoke that much they should go to a non smoking casino. Mountaineer did make a rather large room up front all non smoking, deifnitely more machines in their than the previous non smoking room.

Room Tip: Ask for Non smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank getawaygirl1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed overnight on 2.26.2012. Room was a greener so can't complain. And the room was very clean and quiet. The couch in the room looked like it has seen better days but overall the room was good. The heated pool was nice but the air temp in the pool area was too cold.
Stay away from the buffet it is horrible. Theyyu may have remodeled it but it is the same dried out tasteless food that has been there in years gone by. Luckily I took a survey and it was free so I couldn't complain. The great Gatsby was ok for breakfast but they were out pf sausage by 8Am how?? Waiting for my bank statement to finalize but feel they added tips without my authorization at both places. I signed for charges of 15.89 & 32.72 and left a cash tip. But the pending charges at the bank show 20.66 &36.04. Waiting for it to finalize. So watch your bank statement.
The slots were as tight as ever . They better wise up especially with Ohio getting slots soon. I will stay with playing at the rivers and meadows from now on. Unless the freebies are hard to pass on....

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave4404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Hotel was average, clean enough, but the entire complex is very smokey and filled with an older crowd.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Stayed here last Sunday for my son's birthday. We checked in at 5pm, one hour later than check in time. They had just finished cleaning our room, they were cleaning the room next door. The floor was not even vacuumed, the bathroom floor was not cleaned, the tub was dirty, there was a dirty washcloth on the shower, and the sink stopper was broken. The door leading outside was duct taped shut! The mattresses were so old and soft that if I got too close to the edge I fell out of bed. Not good, I am handicapped. No bottom sheets, only top sheets tucked in partly, because they were too small to tuck in all the way. I can say the food is always good here. Ate at the Gatsby dining room and the meal was very good and room service for breakfast the next morning never disappoints. I had a voucher for a free room, otherwise I would have complained!!

Room Tip: Lodge side is closer to casino. In summer some lodge side room have doors leading outside by pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willard, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The rooms in the newer part are very nice. The old part (Called the lodge) is very dated, worn.
Service was good. The sports bar had excellent food and great prices! The other main restaurant was just so so, although we only ate breakfast there. The friends we were with said the oatmeal was excellent. Service was terrible as we had a rude waitress.
Casino was on the smaller size and machines very tight. It is also very very smoky. Non smoking gambling room is very small. Pool looked nice although we didn't use it. Nothing else like entertainment in bars so gambling is it for this place. Nothing near it either. Ok to see and go there once, but think I would pass if asked to go again.

Room Tip: Do not get in what they call the lodge. It is a old hotel. Just say you want in the new part!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunlover5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The hotel room itself could use better attention to detail- or maybe a better vacuum n dusting. Service was outstanding. When we couldn't figure out the ice machine they brought Ice to our room. The dealers and workers in the casino were very welcoming and patient for us new comers! Overall nice trip- even though we weren't big winners! :)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cas221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newell
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 2 in East Liverpool
47 reviews
14.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Weirton
Holiday Inn Weirton
#1 of 4 in Weirton
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Steubenville
19.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beaver Falls
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Steubenville Oh
Hampton Inn Steubenville Oh
#3 of 4 in Steubenville
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort

Property: Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort
Address: 1420 Mountaineer Circle, New Cumberland, Chester, WV 26047 (Formerly The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale, five-story tower adds 258 rooms, including 20 suites, to Mountaineer's 101-room wing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing