We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Grand Hotel at Mountaineer Casino after attending a concert there in June. We really weren't sure what to expect since it was a casino hotel, but we were very pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. We had a smoking, king room. We are not smokers but that was all that was available. The room was really nice, and you couldn't tell that it was a smoking room, which relieved us. It was also nice that it was connected to the casino because we were able to get something to eat and play a little slots, even though it was pretty late when we arrived back after our event. Check-in and check-out was easy, everyone treated us well and we had a wonderful time. It is a little pricey, but we would go back.

Room Tip: We had to take a smoking room, but to our surprise it was fresh and didn't smell of smoke.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xraygurl1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 197 of 197 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2011

Recently travelled to the Mountaineer Casino and stayed over at The Gran Hotel at Mountaineer. The hotel is fine in that it is clean and comfortable but, there are no frills per se and I really thought it was overpriced at $200./night. That being said the bed was better than expected with nice bedding and very comfy mattress. We were in the "newer" tower area and the room had 2 Q Beds, a small refrigerator, coffee maker, wet bar, and a 27 inch tube TV. The Bathroom is nondescript and pretty typical of a "basic motel" but, once again...clean. There is an older area of the hotel which is a 2 story, "motor lodge type" with individual patios on the ground level. Within the Hotel you can find an Indoor Pool, a hair salon, and gift store. The food within the Casino area is not great by any means. Perhaps the restaurants (reasonable prices on the menu) off the hotel lobby are a bit better. One nice thing is the Starbucks located in the hotel lobby.
There are very few hotel options besides the The Grand Hotel and the Holiday Inn Express(down the road-quoted us $169.) if you visit the Mountaineer Casino. Most of the other lodging is 15-20 minutes +away from what I could see. The Casino is fun...a bit old, and yes very smoke filled. For a decent Casino weekend it works....but, it is not to be compared to Las Vegas by any stretch!!

Room Tip: Book in advance!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria_Corrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

the rooms were very nice. Spacious, well apportioned with all the ammenities. Service in the hotel was good. Loved breakfast at the Gatsby. Dinner was just O.K. Casino was nicely laid out. The worst part was the smoke in the casino. Maybe I'm used to Ohio's smoke free places, but this seemed worse than Vegas. Still a nice getaway if you like to gamble. I don't, but my wife had fun on the slots.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilipL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

I have gone to Mountaineer Casino a couple times a year and never have stayed the night. Myself and 3 high school friends decided to go for a Saturday night with our spouses. We arrived at 12:30 and greeted by the doorman that he could hold our bags. Our rooms were not ready only because we wanted the four rooms near each other. We were told to come back at 2:30 and the rooms would be ready and they were. Check in went fast. We ate and drank a couple times in the Sports bar and the food and service was good. I have been to Vegas and now will always stay at Mountaineer instead of going back and forth in one day from Cleveland. Well worth the money - we were able to have fun and have some drinks. Fun night out with friends.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SusieCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Stayed one night at the Mountaineer on 12/27. We stayed in the Grande Hotel portion of the complex, which is MUCH better than the older section. We stayed in the older part in 2008. It’s essentially a motel with tiny rooms that smell like smoke (regardless of whether or not it’s non-smoking).

Our room this time in the Grande Hotel section was much larger and smoke-free. However, the room they gave us was 2027 and was next to the coffee bar. At 6:15am, we started hearing a terrible scraping noise that went on and on…..it was the employee in the coffee bar moving the chairs around. Besides the noise, the room was unkept. It wasn’t “dirty” per se…bathroom was clean, bedding was fine. But, I could run my finger through a line of dust on the desk and the tv armoire. The ceiling also showed water damage and had a crack running from one end of the room to the next. In the Mountaineer’s defense, they waived the room charge upon checkout after I ran down a litany of issues for the front desk.

Food-wise, we only ate in the café. It was good; however, I was disappointed to see that the few vegetarian options that they offered previously were no longer available. When I ordered a meal without the meat portion, they were accommodating.

A lot of people have said that the slots are tight at this casino. I didn’t have that experience. Granted, we didn’t win any big payoffs, but we were able to play two days on $40, while accruing $20 in credits. Compared to the Rivers in Pittsburgh, this place is giving money away.

The main reason we go there is because of the table games. I agree with the person who was confused by management’s decision to leave $25 tables empty in lieu of switching to $10 or $15. Probably the busiest tables we saw were the $5 blackjack. Maybe they don’t make all that much $$$ on these, but it’s clearly what the people want and it will get them in the door.

Overall, if you’re looking for a luxurious hotel, great slot play, or high-quality entertainment, this is definitely not the place to go. But if you’re seeking a clean bed and table games, this will suffice.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank djd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Staff was excellent, Casino and hotel Average. I stayed in the new section. I liked what the hotel offered; coffee shop, restaurant, bar, indoor pool, and next to a fitness center. The room carpet could use a cleaning. Good stay overall.

3  Thank pumpkin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newell
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 2 in East Liverpool
49 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Steubenville Oh
Hampton Inn Steubenville Oh
#3 of 4 in Steubenville
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Weirton
Holiday Inn Weirton
#1 of 4 in Weirton
246 reviews
14.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Steubenville
19.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beaver Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort

Address: 1420 Mountaineer Circle, New Cumberland, Chester, WV 26047 (Formerly The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: $82 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale, five-story tower adds 258 rooms, including 20 suites, to Mountaineer's 101-room wing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing