We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Offbeat and Out of the Ordinary”

Black Sheep Burrito & Brews @ The Brewery
Ranked #3 of 275 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Serving one-of-kind fusion Burritos, Tacos, and Tortas with a routing selection of craft beers brewed in-house by Charleston Brewing Co. along with signature Margaritas and MoJitos. Saturday and Sunday Brunch is served from 11am to 3pm along with a limited burrito and taco list to choose from. Normal business hours are Sunday through Thurs 11am to 10pm and Friday & Saturday until Midnight.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Offbeat and Out of the Ordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

I love the atmosphere at Black Sheep. The beer from Charleston Brewing Company is delicious and unique. Especially the Raj. Be sure to ask your server for a recommendation based on your personal tastes. Servers are typically relaxed, personable and prompt. The menu can accommodate a wide-range of tastes. The only drawback is parking. It can be difficult to find street parking in this part of town. Though, there is a municipal garage nearby.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mtnsugarmagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    117
    46
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Fish Tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

All I've had at Black Sheep are the fish tacos...it's so yummy! I've ordered a Thai Shrimp Taco and the Salmon Taco...order it with the corn tortilla. Can't go wrong.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peacefuladventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have visited two times in the last month and couldn't be more impressed with the variety of food, it's preparation, presentation and overall taste. There is something for everyone here from the "normal" to the outrageous. Staff is friendly and fast. The beer selection is excellent as well.

I will be returning on a regular basis.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gramps25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Food EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We've frequented this restaurant many times since it opened in Charleston. It has one of the best menus Charleston has to offer. It's become a staple restaurant in our family and we eat here all the time.

Atmosphere: this place used to be a crappy pub, but now has a fun vibe. You can view the brewery where the beer is made in both the bar and the lower part of the restaurant. It's dim, and not too loud. They recently got a small patio which is great.

Beer: SO GOOD. The Raj is the most popular that's always there. My favorite is the Wobbly.

Food: Apps- The nachos are HUGE and so good. All the salsas are good, and the guacamole is incredible. Salads are huge, and the variety of soups are good for lunch. There are so many good burritos, the best being the Baa'd A** and Bulgogi. There are multiple tacos we'd recommend: thai shrimp, trout, duck, and portobello. BRUNCH: the brunch menu is 10x better than the regular menu. They offer honey-nut cheerio crusted chicken with both the chicken and waffle dish and the biscuits and gravy dish. They have all you can drink bloody marys and mimosas for $8.

Service: As regulars, we've gotten to know quite a few of the servers and they're all friendly.

Overall: This is our favorite restaurant in Charleston and we highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlestonFoodie304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

The Shrimp Thai Taco's were amazing!! I couldn't get enough of the salsa either. This place is a must to try. I cannot wait to go back to this place.

Helpful?
Thank amyhass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sheep Burrito & Brews @ The Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Black Sheep Burrito & Brews @ The Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing