We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charleston's Best Lodging Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brass Pineapple Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Charleston B&B and Inns
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charleston's Best Lodging Gem”
Reviewed March 1, 2009

This is the place to stay for a wonderful comfortable stay. Great value for your money and food to make you absolutely delighted to wake up in the morning. The hospitality abounds and takes you back to a kinder gentler time. I can't wait to get back in two weeks. I will stay no where else when in West Virginia. The decor is beautiful and they go out of their way to make you feel at home. This is definetly the place teo stay when visitng Charleston adn the surrounding area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaymesmommy2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    12
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
45
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg, WV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We arrived on a cold, snowy, January day for an early Valentine's getaway. We warmed up quickly as we were greeted and then enjoyed afternoon tea (homemade cookies were delicious!). The room we stayed in was charming. The relaxing, quiet, atmosphere and off street parking were a bonus.

Breakfast, which consisted of frittatas, fresh fruit and whole wheat toast was very tasty. The owner and staff were so nice and helpful, that we felt like they were old friends. I would highly recommend a stay a the Brass Pineapple to anyone.

  • Liked — Quiet and Relaxing
  • Disliked — Small Bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wvmountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We stopped in Charleston, WV looking to relax and unwind. We had lined up the Brass Pineapple to do just that and it delivered. The owner and staff are very well organized and know the area. The house is beautiful and near the capital. Our room was not large but easily fit all of our luggage. The bathroom was small but was not a problem. We could have reserved a larger room. Breakfast was excellent . The bed was very comfy. All in all, a great place to stay and recharge.

  • Liked — Beautiful home and excellent breakfast.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank heywhynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2008

I had to interview some state officials in Charleston and needed a place to stay at the federal government rate. The main business hotel is currently under renovation as of this writing (June 2008) and Brass Pineapple appeared to be the best option.

The staff is great and they go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome. More importantly for the business traveler, they are also very organized. They asked me what time I wanted breakfast in the morning and also my food preferences and had it ready at 7:30 sharp. They allowed me to use their iron since my suit got wrinkled in my suitcase and they even packed me a to-go breakfast on my last day because I had to catch an early morning flight.

The room itself was comfortable and decorated in a very "girly" Victorian style. My room had an old-fashioned high bed (modern mattress though) and a claw-foot tub. It was very nice to come back after 8 hours of tedious interviews and soak in a bubble bath. They offer afternoon tea as well with all kinds of homemade treats.

The neighborhood is pretty historic and appears to be the artsy part of Charleston. I had dinner both nights at the Bluegrass Kitchen, which is approximately 2 blocks away on Washington Street.

  • Liked — Wonderful Staff, Claw-foot tub
  • Disliked — The morning coffee was a little weak, they don't have internet access
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sakoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We have stayed at the Brass Pineapple four times since February 2008. Each visit has been a wonderful experience. We have stayed in three of the rooms, and each has a unique character to them. The people who manage the B&B are lovely. They provide excellent service and the food is superb. They are also very helpful in making recommendations for entertainment in the area.

We have booked the Brass Pineapple for at least four additional stays this year. I would not trade my experience at the Brass Pineapple for a hotel room.

  • Liked — The quiet peaceful environment and food.
  • Disliked — Cannot think of anything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 4drjack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

This was the only B&B we found in this area and stayed here in Nov. Once a grand home, the place looks like it needs some TLC. Water damage on ceilings in main living/dining areas; no shampoo, lotion in baths; cheap tp and tissue; uncomfortable bed pushed up next to wall so you had to climb over your spouse to get out of bed;small rooms. The location is next to some apartments and other older homes in downtown near the capitol, The inn keeper (not the owner) was quite nice and prepared a delicious breakfast for us. We paid too much for this B&B.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Scarlet46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2005

Met some girlfriends for a girl's night at the B&B. Were immediately welcomed - very cozy place, very homey, very comfortable. Was like a big dollhouse! The location was excellent - near downtown, but on a very quiet street. They had goodies set out for us, and we felt free to sit in the sitting room after we went out for dinner and just chatted. The beds were comfy, and just overall, was a great experience. My girlfriends are going back next year - and might even go back before that with some more friends!!! ENJOY!

Helpful?
1 Thank sonshinex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#8 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Pineapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Pineapple Inn

Property: Brass Pineapple Inn
Address: 1611 Virginia St E, Charleston, WV 25311-2113
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brass Pineapple Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brass Pineapple Inn-Historic Stately Accommodations with Modern Amenities. Rooms have 12 foot ceilings, beautiful lighting, sturdy wood beds, private bathrooms. Breakfast Included with Room Rate. Meals and Room Service Available. Award winning accommodations. Guests include Good Morning America, Arts & Entertainment Television, PBS, Mountain Stage, Delloitte & Touche, MeadWestvaco, Bayer, Toyota, Producers from Oprah Winfrey Network. Conveniently located only 3 blocks from I-77/I-64, 3 Miles from Yeager Airport, 1/2 Block from State Capitol Complex, 1 Mile from Downtown, 3/4 Mile from Clay Center, 1.5 Miles from Civic Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brass Pineapple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Pineapple Bed And Breakfast
Brass Pineapple Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing